$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 23, 2014 Check-out: Oct 24, 2014

Linden Row Inn

3 stars
100 E Franklin Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
87 reviews
Lovely Gardens

I really enjoyed my stay at Linden Row Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was... See full review

  • BALM
  • Jul 26, 2014
Bike Race weekend

This hotel was a delightful surprise, with charming Victorian decor, a small interior garden,... See full review

  • Bicycle race fan
  • May 6, 2014
Downtown Richmond hotel captures 19th century charm with period decor

Linden Row Inn, which charms with a brick facade and stately columns at its entrance, guests enjoy a convenient location and historical touches in the heart of downtown Richmond. Just a stroll from the Museum of the Confederacy and the Richmond Capitol, the hotel incorporates Victorian and Empire reproductions in 70 rooms, which include lovely parlor suites outfitted with sitting areas, pocket doors and fireplaces. For visitors' convenience, the property offers a free continental breakfast and shuttle service.

Highlights
  • 70 rooms with Victorian and Empire reproductions
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free privileges to local YMCA
  • Free in-town shuttle service
Location

The four-story Linden Row Inn sits on Franklin and 1st streets in Richmond's capitol area. The Capitol building is a short walk from the property, as is the Museum of the Confederacy.

Rooms

Linden Row Inn, which boasts 70 rooms including seven suites, enhances historical touches, from crown molding to quiet sitting areas in some rooms. Tiered panels climb from floor to ceiling, while striking chandeliers enhance the elegance of the spaces, which are filled with period pieces. The rooms, however, are not without modern amenities. Every guest finds comfort in high-speed Internet access, cable TV and air conditioning. Suites play up historical flair with pocket doors, sitting areas and marble fireplaces.

Dining

Guests at Linden Row Inn start their day with a free continental breakfast. The restaurant – a beauty with exposed brick, period portraits and gold mirrors – echoes the historical feel of the hotel. A garden courtyard with space for up to 90 guests – complete with fountain – provides seclusion and tranquility.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (6.5 mi/10.5 km)
Attractions
  • Virginia Capitol Building (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.7 mi/1.2 km)
  • Edgar Allen Poe Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Children's Museum of Richmond (1.9 mi/3 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (1.9 mi/3.1 km)
  • Maymont (1.8 mi/2.8 km)
  • Hollywood Cemetery (1.3 mi/2 km)
Business
  • Free high-speed Internet access
  • Boardroom

Hotel Map

37.5434 -77.4421
Area served
Linden Row Inn is conveniently located in downtown Richmond, at the corner of 1st & Franklin Streets. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.
Nearby airports
Richmond International Airport is 10 miles away from the hotel.
Area description
Linden Row Inn is in the heart of Downtown Richmond. We are located blocks away from VCU, Greater Richmond Convention Center, State Capitol, Richmond Coliseum, and the downtown business district.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Linden Row Inn also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Linden Row Inn Rooms

Main House 2 Beds
Our Main House 2 Beds rooms feature two full-size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Parlour Suite
Elegantly decorated in period dcor, our 7 parlor suites are each one-of-a-kind. Each Suite features one king size bed and exquisitely appointed parlour areas. Named after prominent people from Richmonds past, the rooms feature antiques original to the Inn, 12' ceilings, floor to ceiling windows, gasolier lighting, sliding pocket doors, two inactive marble fireplaces, and access to the veranda. All Parlour Suites also feature recently-renovated spa-style granite bathrooms.
Main House King
Our Main House King rooms feature single king size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.
Garden Queen
The Garden Queen Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature a single queen size bed. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Garden 2 Beds
The Garden 2 Beds Rooms are located in either one of the two original carriage house buildings founded in the late 1800's. They feature two full size beds. All garden rooms are decorated in a light and airy color scheme and are cozy and intimate enclaves with recently renovated spa-style granite baths.
Main House Queen
Our Main House Queen rooms feature single queen size beds. They are located in the 7 connected row houses; these rooms feature 12' ceilings, rich jewel-toned color schemes, contemporary amenities, and access to the veranda overlooking the courtyard. All Main House rooms also feature recently-renovated full granite bathrooms.

Amenities

  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free continental breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.5 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.5 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 0.9 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 1.8 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 1.8 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 1.9 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 2 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.1 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.1 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.1 mi
  • Carytown: 2.4 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.4 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.6 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.6 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6.2 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Linden Row Inn

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dari
Bethesda, MD, USA
Feb 24, 2012

Great Hotel, great location

The location of the hotel was very important, and the room was in very good shape, with a comfortable, clean and well maintained (and stocked) bathroom. The room had a good TV and the furniture was in good shape. The size of the room was more than enough for my needs. They even had shaving cream for a dollar and free tothpaste at the front desk. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and delicious and the staff was very proffesional, and overall very positive. The hotel was very short walking distance from the beautiful downtown of Richmond.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JuJu Mama
Business
Colorado Springs, CO
Oct 8, 2014

Unique and historical, not the Ritz though.

The pros: This hotel is one of a kind and if you appreciate an unusual experience, this is a good choice. The courtyard is a beautiful example of the kind of historical Virginia ambiance that I love dearly. Bricks, tall shade trees, a fountain bubbling...it's only a shame you can still hear the city traffic and sirens in the background. It's a little surreal actually. The bed was VERY comfortable. The staff were VERY nice. The rate I got was competitive for the location and the location was perfect for my needs. Cons: The fact that on the 3rd floor, although there is an elevator, it puts you on an outdoor walk and then you have to go down a small set of stairs (like 5 steps) and then up a similar little staircase to reach your room door. It's weird, and some complain about this with small kids, strollers, or the elderly or infirm...well, just try it with a very large, heavy piece of luggage late at night and not wanting to bang your bag against the steps and bother other guests. I found myself thinking, as I gazed over the balcony rail in the sweet morning sunshine at the beauty of the courtyard...I would stay here once in a while if I lived nearby and could just use a backpack for my stuff. But if I'm flying in with big luggage, it's just a pain. The room had a slightly musty smell (maybe it's unavoidable in a place that old) and there were some cosmetic flaws such as the fabric bottom of an easy chair was blown out and dangling, there were cracks and holes and minor damage in walls, a crack in the power outlet by the door and the carpet is pretty worn...I feel that the place could benefit from a little renovation TLC but the bathroom was pretty, very good amount of counter space, and the bed was just unbelievably comfy...so it's kinda so-so on the room's quality. I did not get breakfast (slept in late) but the coffee in my room was Wolfgang Puck coffee and it was good. So when I say I'd recommend the place to a friend, I would...but it would depend on the friend, and I'd have to explain a few caveats to them first...I'd probably stay again, but I might try a different room type than the main house 3rd floor one I got this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Galaxy Diner in Carytown isn't far off and it's really cool and has delicious food. Also, while I've never eaten there my local RVA buddies swear by Mama Zu as the most authentic Italian food anywhere but Italy. I mean to check it out on a future visit sometime.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CEO cyclists
Business
Augusta
Sep 9, 2014

NASCAR and History

The weekend roar of nascar engines contrasted beautifuly with the quiet elegance of this historic facility. The staff was wonderful and when presented with a sudden change in my plans were very accomendating. Morning coffee in the courtyard was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the ocean by walking a few blocks to a traditional English pub that has been a part of the Richmond dinning experience for decades. Great food, a great atmosphere and a great time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John The M
Business
Savannah, GA
Aug 14, 2014

Nice place to stay at a good price

This is our second stay - The garden apartment was much nicer than the ground floor room we stayed in the last time. Nice and simple morning breakfast easy on and off of 95!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MeganAT
Business
DC
Aug 7, 2014

Surprising Deal!

We needed a room in downtown Richmond at the last minute, and booked a room at Linden Row. It had a ton of history, friendly staff, a good (free) breakfast, and especially good bath products. Would definitely stay again. Be careful of parking, though, as there are signs to not park from 7-9AM and it's a costly ticket!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eta phi beta
Business
USA
Aug 3, 2014

Business

Good stay..would recommend to family & friends and others

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dixieline
Business
Southern
Jul 28, 2014

Historic b&b

Beautifully hotel and area. Love the history. Staff were very helpful,and friendly. The only changes I would make are softer beds, and more diversity in the breakfast menu.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at Tarrents!! It was the best meal I had out during my trip. Do not eat at comfort, for soul food it's missing a lot of soul.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BALM
Business
Richmond, VA
Jul 26, 2014

Lovely Gardens

I really enjoyed my stay at Linden Row Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was clean, the linens were high quality, and my stay was very enjoyable. The gardens and courtyard were beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mama J's Kitchen was a short 4 block walk from the hotel. It had delicious southern cooking/soul food. The place was packed and well worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The road less travelled 1
Business
Florida
Jul 7, 2014

Good Alternative to Chain Hotels

Nice Garden, quaint. Nicely decorated. No fridge in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SC1986
Business
Charleston, SC
Jul 2, 2014

SC1986

The staff was exceptional. The inn had a great ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Linden Row Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John The M
Business
Savannah, GA
Jun 17, 2014

The Linden Inn Was A Good Value

We looked up the Linden Inn at 9:00 p.m. the night of our stay and got two beds in one nice big room in a large Historic complex in an interesting old section of Richmond, VA. The part we stayed in was a row of co-joined town houses - The common corridor in from the check in desk was covered in a kind of sour smelling carpet - We wondered why it was.t brock - But we figured it had been raining for two days - The room was clean and smelled clean and fresh with a nice bathroom - We were up and out early after a nice complimentary breakfast - My 11 year old liked making his own waffles! All in all a good stay with no surprises. We had a car full of stuff so we used the 12:00 valet parking so it was in an enclosed lot - These were impossible to find on our own in the vicinity of the Hotel. We saved over a third and like I said - No surprises. The woman who checked night couldn't have been nicer and more inviting - Always a good sign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Have Their Breakfast - Ton's of choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top