$80 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 20, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

4 stars
555 EAST CANAL STREET, RICHMOND, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
60 reviews
Great stay!

Room was perfect and beds were very comfortable! Hotel staff was efficient and friendly! See full review

  • NAP123
  • Jan 21, 2014
Excellent Competition

The staff was very helpful, eager to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. See full review

  • Kreamy
  • Jan 8, 2014
A perfect retreat for business and leisure travelers in Richmond

The Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond Downtown is located in the heart of the financial district, a short walk from shopping, dining, and entertainment. The hotel overlooks the newly restored Canal Walk and is centrally located to many attractions in Richmond. For dining, the Great Room and Pavilion Cafe offer two great choices. Guests can unwind in the fitness center, the indoor pool, or sauna. Business travelers can take advantage of the 13,000 square feet of meeting space, full service business center, and free wireless Internet.

Highlights

Convenient location overlooking the Canal Walk in downtown Richmond

Indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna

Complimentary area shuttle within 2 mile radius of hotel

Rooms

All 298 non-smoking guest rooms feature one king-size or two double beds, mini-fridge, cable television with in-room movies, shower, free high-speed Internet access, work space, coffeemaker, and free morning newspaper delivered to the room. The hotel also offers 29 suites.

Features

The Pavilion Café serves American cuisine. A delicious hot buffet breakfast is offered seven days a week, as well as lunch and dinner. The Great Room features a light fare menu with sandwiches, burgers, and appetizers.  

 

The hotel's location in downtown Richmond is ideal for corporate travelers, minutes from the financial district, the Virginia State Capitol, and the Richmond Convention Center. For leisure travelers, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond Downtown is within walking distance of Richmond Center Stage and Tredegar Ironworks. Spend the day rafting the Class IV rapids on the James River or explore the hands-on exhibits at the Science Museum of Virginia.

 

The fitness center features all new Nautilus treadmills, stationary bike, recumbent bike, elliptical trainer, universal weight machine and free weights. Guests also enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna, open from 5:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Complimentary area shuttle within 2.0 mile radius of hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Richmond Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Canal Walk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Virginia State Capitol (0.66 mi/1.06 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.66 mi/1.06 km)
  • VCU Siegel Center (1 mi/1.61 km)
  • Science Museum of Virginia (2 mi/3.22 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (2.5 mi/4.02 km)
  • Virginia Childrens Museum (2.5 mi/4.02 km)
  • Richmond International Raceway (5.4 mi/8.69 km)
  • Kings Dominion (24 mi/38.62 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms with 13,000 square feet of space
  • Banquet facilities for up to 500 people in one room
  • High-speed Internet available throughout the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.5381 -77.4409
Nearby airports
Richmond International Airport, (RIC), 9.80, MI; Baltimore Washington International, (BWI), 139.00, MI; Washington Dulles International Airport, (WAS), 121.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.3 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.6 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.8 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.2 mi
  • Maymont: 1.7 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.7 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.3 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.6 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.8 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.2 mi
  • Maymont: 1.7 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.7 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 2.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 2.3 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.3 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.4 mi
  • Carytown: 2.6 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.6 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.7 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.9 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.9 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.3 mi

Dining

Pavilion Cafe
The Pavilion Cafe serves All American cuisine for bkfst, lunch and dinner. A delicious hot buffet breakfast is offered 7 days a week. Family friendly, and offers wonderful views of the City on one side, and a view of the James River on the other side. I
Great Room Lounge
Visit the Great Room when you have a moment and enjoy cocktails, non alcoholic beverages Starbucks Coffee and a wonderful menu selection. It is an inviting room, with soft seating, wireless internet, large flat screen TV and a welcoming staff.
The Great Room
Relax with friends or colleagues in the cozy atmosphere of The Great Room with large screen TV, friendly staff and welcoming music via sound system. Besides fine wine, cold beer and delicious cocktails, our lounge features a light fare menu with sandwich

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (60)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Culpeper, VA
Jun 1, 2010

Good Service

My girlfriend and I decided to take a weekend to just get away from the hustle and bustle of our life and couldn't have been happier. The hotel was located within walking distance of where we wanted to eat and the hotel itself was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Capital Alehouse.

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
Poeticjustice
philly
Mar 24, 2014

Clean and comfortable

This hotel is a nicely appointed and comfortable option among the downtown hotels. A nice benefit of the king room I reserved was a microwave and a fridge that was a much appreciated extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
Steve V.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Oct 28, 2011

Folk Festival Stay

Excellent breakfast buffet. Overall experience was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast was very well done.

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
scharbonneau68
Columbia, SC
Jul 8, 2013

Expected More

Expected more from the Crowne Plaza. The bathroom was not clean, when entering I immediately saw hairs around the tub and toilet. The front desk staff did not explain parking details very well, MAINLY because they weren't sure of what the rules were themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
Travel Girl 208
Business
New York, NY
Oct 10, 2013

An Okay Night

Just a few things to note about my stay: The bed was very comfortable to sleep in but the room was not as clean as I would have liked. Looking from afar, everything seemed orderly but it was when i looked closer i saw the uncleanliness- I am not talking about wrappers under the bed..it was a little more obvious than that.... Also, TV did not work and had to get someone to look at it and the phone in the room was inaudible. Positives: the shuttle dropped and picked us up from our locations- that was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
LikaG6
Vero Beach, Florida
Dec 12, 2012

good for one night

It is a great place to stay one night. But the breakfast is not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Harrisonburg, Va
Mar 15, 2010

A"hot"stay.

Our stay was ok but not great. The hotel was in a nice location for all downtown events, bars and restaurants. The staff was very nice. We had a free shuttle to where ever we needed to go in the downtown area. This helped to save a bundle on cab and parking fees. Our shuttle driver "John" was the best. Now for the negatives. The room was hot when we arrived so we turned down the heat to the lowest point. We left for the day and came back and the room was still 79 degrees. We called the front desk and they sent someone up to reset the unit. It still didn't work. I couldn't sleep that night because it was so hot. The covers on the bed were not the cleanest. I found a hair and a stain. Luckily I had brought my own blankets so I just used those. (I always bring my own blankets for that reason). The crown Royal was not the best place I have ever stayed but it worked for us because we were only there for one night

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
Dr Jaymo
Business
michigan
Feb 9, 2011

Richmond crown plaza

The accommodations were very nice. The room was clean and well maintained. Unfortunately the Front desk staff was very unhelpful and quite rude. The shuttle service provided was excellent and the drivers were incredibly pleasant. Would rate 4-5 stars if itwasnt for the front desk staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
McLean, VA
Nov 23, 2009

Nice enough.. Very loud.

Nice, comfortable hotel with a friendly staff. However, the walls are paper thin and you might as well not have a door because you can hear every conversation, footstep, or sneeze within 4 rooms. This issue should really be addressed before the hotel continues to charge what it does. Otherwise, hotel was nice... extremely comfortable bed. [...] It is an additional $10 to park in the deck connected to the hotel when you arrive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
Visiting Family in Richmond
Bakersfield, CA
Sep 9, 2009

Polite Staff, Bad Neighborhood

Our overall experience at the hotel was good. The bed was really comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. However, I would recommend that you pay the $10/night and park in the parking garage at the hotel. My girlfriend's sister parked her car on the street, because she was informed that you can park for free on the street on weekends, and had her car broken into one of the nights we stayed there. Also, some kids tripped the fire alarm and everyone had to evacuate the building at 2:00am. This is certainly not the hotel's fault (sounds more like a parenting issue to me), but it was nonetheless an inconvenience. As far as overall comfort and price goes though, the hotel was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Park in the parking garage. $10/night is cheaper than the hassle of an insurance claim.

Back to menu Return to top