$115 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

4 stars
View map of 555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PivotalMacaroon
Business
Chesapeake
Apr 3, 2013

Great Stay

Went up for a festival on Belle Island. We were able to walk easily from here. Had a great time and the pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy GP and GM
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Apr 2, 2013

Great One Night Stay

We were in town for one night and had never stayed in the downtown Crowne Plaza Hotel. The hotel was very clean and modern and the staff professional. We liked the location, close to the river with remarkable views. Definitely will consider this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ItsMonroe
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 6, 2013

zero complaints

I went for a weekend getaway. I was a little skeptical and I almost canceled my reservation because of all of the negative reviews that I read. I decided to just give it a chance and go for it. I am glad that i did! I had a wonderful experience! Everything was just as it was online. The staff was wonderful, the bartender was very helpful and friendly. Our room was restocked each day and the breakfast was good. Our room was quit comfortable and the view was gorgeous. When we first arrived there was someone there to take our things to our room and he even hung up my jackets. There wasn't too much noise even with a prom going on. Everything is very close to the hotel and parking is by day so you can enter and exist as you wish. My only complaint is that the water takes some time to get hot but that's minor. I will definitely be coming back to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is very close. Canal street is the best

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sir Douglas
Business
Virginia each
Jul 29, 2013

Two Nights in Dixie with Southern Hospitality

From the moment I left the 100 degree heat of downtown Richmond and entered the Crowne Plaza lobby, both cool and with a welcoming iced water dispenser, I knew I was in for a much-needed treat. The corner room, 725, was clean and comfortable and had a good view of downtown Richmond. The amenities were nice and especially welcome was a Sleep Kit with aromas and lotions to help me to relax and to fall asleep. One drawback, the ice machine on the seventh floor was not working. The room service breakfast arrived on time and was delicious. The business center was always available, but I did have to ask for paper and fill the printer... a somewhat difficult jam inside. The indoor pool area looked nice but I did not have time to use it. I look forward to my next stay there next month and to relax and explore downtown Richmond's culture and history a bit more after meetings at nearby offices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The VA Museum of Fine Arts has a wonderful exhibit and some evenings (Thursdays?) they have a well-attended jazz or other music event open to the public, free, and some good food and beverages.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Culpeper, VA
Jun 1, 2010

Good Service

My girlfriend and I decided to take a weekend to just get away from the hustle and bustle of our life and couldn't have been happier. The hotel was located within walking distance of where we wanted to eat and the hotel itself was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Capital Alehouse.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond, VA
May 24, 2010

Great hotel, nice view

The hotel had a great view and the people were very nice. Only downfalls: Walls were SUPER thin, pool closes at 11, and had to pay $10 for parking. It's the nearest hotel to Brown's Island and their concert series and there are great restaurants near the hotel. I will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy Eyeheart
Business
Owensboro, Ky
May 26, 2009

Warm Hospitality, Affordable Price

I visited a family member that is sick, close by, and the hotel staff were exceptionally helpful. I visit this hotel every 6 weeks and would not change a thing. The restaurant staff are very helpful and the food is great! I would rate this hotel for the price, an awesome choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several close by restaurants that are cozy. The view of Belle Island is an all time favorite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Jun 1, 2011

Great time

Great time, convenient to restaurants, easy walking around. Didn't have the king room we booked but gave us a complimentary breakfast for the trouble. Excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequently traveller Richard
Business
Detroit
Aug 10, 2009

Good, just one issue

I was treated well while there, but when I booked the room it sounded like they had an airport shuttle. They do not do airport pickups, and it cost me $70 RT to get a cab. In town, they offered to do local shuttles, but they limited it to 2 miles, which is problematic in that they are 3 miles from key sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia Beach VA
Jan 3, 2011

New Year's stay

Very clean and nice rooms, a little problem with the staff when checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Lucky Buddha is a great place to eat and then for nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top