$98 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 4, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

4 stars
View map of 555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sir Douglas
Virginia each
Jul 29, 2013

Two Nights in Dixie with Southern Hospitality

From the moment I left the 100 degree heat of downtown Richmond and entered the Crowne Plaza lobby, both cool and with a welcoming iced water dispenser, I knew I was in for a much-needed treat. The corner room, 725, was clean and comfortable and had a good view of downtown Richmond. The amenities were nice and especially welcome was a Sleep Kit with aromas and lotions to help me to relax and to fall asleep. One drawback, the ice machine on the seventh floor was not working. The room service breakfast arrived on time and was delicious. The business center was always available, but I did have to ask for paper and fill the printer... a somewhat difficult jam inside. The indoor pool area looked nice but I did not have time to use it. I look forward to my next stay there next month and to relax and explore downtown Richmond's culture and history a bit more after meetings at nearby offices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The VA Museum of Fine Arts has a wonderful exhibit and some evenings (Thursdays?) they have a well-attended jazz or other music event open to the public, free, and some good food and beverages.

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Culpeper, VA
Jun 1, 2010

Good Service

My girlfriend and I decided to take a weekend to just get away from the hustle and bustle of our life and couldn't have been happier. The hotel was located within walking distance of where we wanted to eat and the hotel itself was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Capital Alehouse.

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Richmond, VA
May 24, 2010

Great hotel, nice view

The hotel had a great view and the people were very nice. Only downfalls: Walls were SUPER thin, pool closes at 11, and had to pay $10 for parking. It's the nearest hotel to Brown's Island and their concert series and there are great restaurants near the hotel. I will definitely come back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy Eyeheart
Single
Owensboro, Ky
May 26, 2009

Warm Hospitality, Affordable Price

I visited a family member that is sick, close by, and the hotel staff were exceptionally helpful. I visit this hotel every 6 weeks and would not change a thing. The restaurant staff are very helpful and the food is great! I would rate this hotel for the price, an awesome choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several close by restaurants that are cozy. The view of Belle Island is an all time favorite.

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Virginia
Jun 1, 2011

Great time

Great time, convenient to restaurants, easy walking around. Didn't have the king room we booked but gave us a complimentary breakfast for the trouble. Excellent service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequently traveller Richard
Single
Detroit
Aug 10, 2009

Good, just one issue

I was treated well while there, but when I booked the room it sounded like they had an airport shuttle. They do not do airport pickups, and it cost me $70 RT to get a cab. In town, they offered to do local shuttles, but they limited it to 2 miles, which is problematic in that they are 3 miles from key sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Virginia Beach VA
Jan 3, 2011

New Year's stay

Very clean and nice rooms, a little problem with the staff when checking in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Lucky Buddha is a great place to eat and then for nightlife.

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iwannagoagain
Family
Washington, DC
Nov 18, 2009

Going back next summer

I stayed at this hotel because it was the closest hotel to kanawha park. The park has concerts on Friday evenings during the summer. I like to be able to enjoy myself without worrying about driving and looking for parking spaces. Therefore, the location was perfect being one block away from the park. I can't wait to go back next summer. Plus, the staff was very friendly and they have breakfast even though it's not included but it was good for the $12.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Concerts in the park on Fridays

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Virginia
Jan 10, 2011

Crown Plaza Hotel

We found the room very comfortable and clean. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. We were disappointed that the restaurant was closed for dinner both nights we were there. There is a bar and we could eat there but preferred a restaurant. Our last morning we ate the buffet breakfast and it was outstanding. The waitress helped us get a voucher so that we ate for free. The best meal we had the entire weekend was that breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Be sure to ask if the restaurant is open for lunch and dinner not just breakfast. there is a great place to eat and get adult beverages two blocks from the hotel. Capital Ale is the name and it is on Main Street.

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Littleton,Nc
Feb 15, 2010

Great weekend

Very nice hotel, clean rooms, excellent location, friendly staff. Had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top