$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

4 stars
555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
76 reviews
Renewed my faith in hotels

After a couple lack luster experiences at other hotels this month I was excited to be staying at... See full review

  • Ms. Roadwarrior
  • Nov 3, 2014
Friendly front desk and nice room

Arrived at the same time as several wedding parties using the hotel, so there was a 15 minute wait... See full review

  • Elwood F
  • Sep 22, 2014
A perfect retreat for business and leisure travelers in Richmond

The Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond Downtown is located in the heart of the financial district, a short walk from shopping, dining, and entertainment. The hotel overlooks the newly restored Canal Walk and is centrally located to many attractions in Richmond. For dining, the Great Room and Pavilion Cafe offer two great choices. Guests can unwind in the fitness center, the indoor pool, or sauna. Business travelers can take advantage of the 13,000 square feet of meeting space, full service business center, and free wireless Internet.

Highlights

Convenient location overlooking the Canal Walk in downtown Richmond

Indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna

Complimentary area shuttle within 2 mile radius of hotel

Rooms

All 298 non-smoking guest rooms feature one king-size or two double beds, mini-fridge, cable television with in-room movies, shower, free high-speed Internet access, work space, coffeemaker, and free morning newspaper delivered to the room. The hotel also offers 29 suites.

Features

The Pavilion Café serves American cuisine. A delicious hot buffet breakfast is offered seven days a week, as well as lunch and dinner. The Great Room features a light fare menu with sandwiches, burgers, and appetizers.  

 

The hotel's location in downtown Richmond is ideal for corporate travelers, minutes from the financial district, the Virginia State Capitol, and the Richmond Convention Center. For leisure travelers, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond Downtown is within walking distance of Richmond Center Stage and Tredegar Ironworks. Spend the day rafting the Class IV rapids on the James River or explore the hands-on exhibits at the Science Museum of Virginia.

 

The fitness center features all new Nautilus treadmills, stationary bike, recumbent bike, elliptical trainer, universal weight machine and free weights. Guests also enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna, open from 5:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Complimentary area shuttle within 2.0 mile radius of hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Richmond Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Canal Walk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Virginia State Capitol (0.66 mi/1.06 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.66 mi/1.06 km)
  • VCU Siegel Center (1 mi/1.61 km)
  • Science Museum of Virginia (2 mi/3.22 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (2.5 mi/4.02 km)
  • Virginia Childrens Museum (2.5 mi/4.02 km)
  • Richmond International Raceway (5.4 mi/8.69 km)
  • Kings Dominion (24 mi/38.62 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms with 13,000 square feet of space
  • Banquet facilities for up to 500 people in one room
  • High-speed Internet available throughout the hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.3 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.6 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.8 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.2 mi
  • Maymont: 1.7 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.7 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.3 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.6 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.8 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.2 mi
  • Maymont: 1.7 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.7 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 2.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 2.3 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.3 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.4 mi
  • Carytown: 2.6 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.6 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.7 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.9 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.9 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.3 mi

Dining

Pavilion Cafe
The Pavilion Cafe serves All American cuisine for bkfst, lunch and dinner. A delicious hot buffet breakfast is offered 7 days a week. Family friendly, and offers wonderful views of the City on one side, and a view of the James River on the other side. I
Great Room Lounge
Visit the Great Room when you have a moment and enjoy cocktails, non alcoholic beverages Starbucks Coffee and a wonderful menu selection. It is an inviting room, with soft seating, wireless internet, large flat screen TV and a welcoming staff.
Capital Ale House
Capital Ale House is Virginias beer authority, welcoming the citizens of the Commonwealth with the best food, most knowledgeable staff and largest selection of craft and imported brews. With five locations. three in the Richmond area, one in Fredericksbu
The Great Room
Relax with friends or colleagues in the cozy atmosphere of The Great Room with large screen TV's, friendly staff and welcoming music via sound system. Besides fine wine, cold beer and delicious cocktails, our lounge features a light fare menu with sandwi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (76)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 76
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Namaste8
Business
Alabama
Oct 6, 2014

Good stay in Richmond

Crowne Plaza has helpful & professional staff. My room was clean, & comfortable. Maintenance & house keeping had to come to work on the tv & changed out the coffee maker. They came within 15 minutes of my notification to the front desk. A front desk employee helped me to print out my boarding passes. They have a shuttle bus to drive guests within a 2 miles radius, & they drove me to the opera.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James Barnes
Business
Arlington VA
Mar 31, 2014

Great Hotel

I stayed here because I came down from Washington DC to see a SOJA show at the National. Everything was walkable from this hotel and I even found parking in front of the hotel for $4 per day that I could pay with park mobile app. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that it took a long time to check in, but the staff was doing the best they could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I hit the Capital Ale house which is a couple blocks away. Great food and beer selection. Nice spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poeticjustice
Business
philly
Mar 24, 2014

Clean and comfortable

This hotel is a nicely appointed and comfortable option among the downtown hotels. A nice benefit of the king room I reserved was a microwave and a fridge that was a much appreciated extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K8lynjoh
Business
Richmond, VA
Mar 24, 2014

Good place to stay

Shuttle is extremely unhelpful, but overall a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveller for Events
Business
st. louis, mo
Mar 13, 2014

cheap for downtown

Thinks that were bad: the room was disappointing. The room I was in was clearly converted from some other use. It was not originally designed to be hotel room. It was one big square room with double doors usually intended for loading/unloading. Also the things I'm used to in a hotel were missing. Pay per view, mini fridge. The one TV was centrally located which means it didn't quite face anything. The bed sagged in the middle something like 2-3 inches. The place was decorated like it was the late 70s. The drains stopped up on the last morning (shower and toilet... probably sink too, but i dunno) There was a sharp spell of paint thinner outside. my room twice... i wouldnt mention it but it was one last thing. Things that were good: The staff was nice and helpful. The confidential breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to penny lane pub at least once. it was really tasty and the place had lots of atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George from Georgia
Business
Dahlonega, Ga, USA
Jun 22, 2012

Relaxing and Comfortable

I stayed only one night, but I found my room to be very comfortable and completely clean. The TV had lots of channels and the thermostat worked perfectly. I found the staff very attentive. For example, on check-in the clerk, on her own initiative, looked up and entered on my Priority Club number on my record - I had forgotten to bring it. And on check-out I had the clerk call me a cab, and when it didn't show right on time she called them again without my asking. I happened to eat in the bar, and my food was typical and tasty fare, and reasonably priced. Their Philly cheese sandwich is probably the best deal. I believe they have two actual restaurants, but I didn't eat in either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

From the hotel I walked to the Tredegar Historic Center - I don't think it took even 10 minutes - down by the river. This is a worthwhile place to go if you are interested in Civil War history. And if you walk there you can also go out on the bridges and locks on the James River and get pretty close to the falls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Richmond VA
Oct 25, 2010

Had the time of my life that night!

The room was clean, spacious, quiet, and dark. I was able to sleep in and then order room service (which was quick and excellent) Check out at noon, couldn't of asked for a better time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frequently traveller Richard
Business
Detroit
Aug 10, 2009

Good, just one issue

I was treated well while there, but when I booked the room it sounded like they had an airport shuttle. They do not do airport pickups, and it cost me $70 RT to get a cab. In town, they offered to do local shuttles, but they limited it to 2 miles, which is problematic in that they are 3 miles from key sites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy Eyeheart
Business
Owensboro, Ky
May 26, 2009

Warm Hospitality, Affordable Price

I visited a family member that is sick, close by, and the hotel staff were exceptionally helpful. I visit this hotel every 6 weeks and would not change a thing. The restaurant staff are very helpful and the food is great! I would rate this hotel for the price, an awesome choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

There are several close by restaurants that are cozy. The view of Belle Island is an all time favorite.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top