$90 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 27, 2014

Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

4 stars
555 EAST CANAL STREET, RICHMOND, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
89 reviews
Great stay!

Room was perfect and beds were very comfortable! Hotel staff was efficient and friendly! See full review

  • NAP123
  • Jan 21, 2014
Excellent Competition

The staff was very helpful, eager to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. See full review

  • Kreamy
  • Jan 8, 2014
A perfect retreat for business and leisure travelers in Richmond

The Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond Downtown is located in the heart of the financial district, a short walk from shopping, dining, and entertainment. The hotel overlooks the newly restored Canal Walk and is centrally located to many attractions in Richmond. For dining, the Great Room and Pavilion Cafe offer two great choices. Guests can unwind in the fitness center, the indoor pool, or sauna. Business travelers can take advantage of the 13,000 square feet of meeting space, full service business center, and free wireless Internet.

Highlights

Convenient location overlooking the Canal Walk in downtown Richmond

Indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna

Complimentary area shuttle within 2 mile radius of hotel

Rooms

All 298 non-smoking guest rooms feature one king-size or two double beds, mini-fridge, cable television with in-room movies, shower, free high-speed Internet access, work space, coffeemaker, and free morning newspaper delivered to the room. The hotel also offers 29 suites.

Features

The Pavilion Café serves American cuisine. A delicious hot buffet breakfast is offered seven days a week, as well as lunch and dinner. The Great Room features a light fare menu with sandwiches, burgers, and appetizers.  

 

The hotel's location in downtown Richmond is ideal for corporate travelers, minutes from the financial district, the Virginia State Capitol, and the Richmond Convention Center. For leisure travelers, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond Downtown is within walking distance of Richmond Center Stage and Tredegar Ironworks. Spend the day rafting the Class IV rapids on the James River or explore the hands-on exhibits at the Science Museum of Virginia.

 

The fitness center features all new Nautilus treadmills, stationary bike, recumbent bike, elliptical trainer, universal weight machine and free weights. Guests also enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna, open from 5:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Complimentary area shuttle within 2.0 mile radius of hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Richmond Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Canal Walk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Virginia State Capitol (0.66 mi/1.06 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.66 mi/1.06 km)
  • VCU Siegel Center (1 mi/1.61 km)
  • Science Museum of Virginia (2 mi/3.22 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (2.5 mi/4.02 km)
  • Virginia Childrens Museum (2.5 mi/4.02 km)
  • Richmond International Raceway (5.4 mi/8.69 km)
  • Kings Dominion (24 mi/38.62 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms with 13,000 square feet of space
  • Banquet facilities for up to 500 people in one room
  • High-speed Internet available throughout the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

37.5381 -77.4409
Nearby airports
Richmond International Airport, (RIC), 9.80, MI, SW; Baltimore Washington International, (BWI), 139.00, MI, S; Washington Dulles International Airport, (WAS), 121.00, MI, S;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.3 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.6 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.8 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.2 mi
  • Maymont: 1.7 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.7 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.3 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.6 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.8 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.2 mi
  • Maymont: 1.7 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.7 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 2.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 2.3 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.3 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.4 mi
  • Carytown: 2.6 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.6 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.7 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.9 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.9 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.3 mi

Dining

Pavilion Cafe
The Pavilion Cafe serves All American cuisine for bkfst, lunch and dinner. A delicious hot buffet breakfast is offered 7 days a week. Family friendly, and offers wonderful views of the City on one side, and a view of the James River on the other side. I
Great Room Lounge
Visit the Great Room when you have a moment and enjoy cocktails, non alcoholic beverages Starbucks Coffee and a wonderful menu selection. It is an inviting room, with soft seating, wireless internet, large flat screen TV and a welcoming staff.
The Great Room
Relax with friends or colleagues in the cozy atmosphere of The Great Room with large screen TV's, friendly staff and welcoming music via sound system. Besides fine wine, cold beer and delicious cocktails, our lounge features a light fare menu with sandwi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (89)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
89 out of 89
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Newlywed804
Richmond, VA, USA
Oct 14, 2011

Well at least the view was nice!

was staying for a wedding. We called ahead to see if a shuttle was offered, they said yes. Get to check in one staff member says no , one say upon availability and 2 mile radius. We did get the wedding party to wedding on time, even though the staff was not helpfu. Then we get to our suite, not the one we had requested from pictures we had seen online, however we still had an exceptional view of the city of Richmond. Room had an extreme mildew smell upon arrival, so we let the ac run only to return to the same smell hours later. Luckily I am HVAC by trade, so I took apart the panel of the unit only to find a moldy, dirty, slam clogged filter. By appearance it had not been changed in months maybe a year!! Sprayed the complimentary downy bed spray on the coil, room freshened up. Ordered room service breakfast , food was cold. Other than the view it was a poor experience, however the view was what we wanted ;)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Boathouse at rockets landing (up scale dining) Crab puffs and pizza are my favorites best view of the James river and city of Richmond. Outstanding service!! Must see at sunset

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
robby doggy
fort lee va
Nov 1, 2012

not good

we got there and the room was dirty and falling apart. the bed was just uncomfortable and it was just all bad. never staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bertie0
Caroline, VA
Feb 28, 2011

Alright one nighter

It worked for what we needed which was somewhere to crash after a long night of going out but the room did not even have a mini fridge or hair dryer?? I thought those were pretty standard for all hotel rooms?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
new York ny
Apr 17, 2011

Fine but very 90's decor

The staff was friendly and curteous, but overall the hotel is dated and could use a renovation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
bertie0
Caroline, VA
Feb 28, 2011

Alright one nighter

It worked for what we needed which was somewhere to crash after a long night of going out but the room did not even have a mini fridge or hair dryer?? I thought those were pretty standard for all hotel rooms?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveller for Events
st. louis, mo
Mar 13, 2014

cheap for downtown

Thinks that were bad: the room was disappointing. The room I was in was clearly converted from some other use. It was not originally designed to be hotel room. It was one big square room with double doors usually intended for loading/unloading. Also the things I'm used to in a hotel were missing. Pay per view, mini fridge. The one TV was centrally located which means it didn't quite face anything. The bed sagged in the middle something like 2-3 inches. The place was decorated like it was the late 70s. The drains stopped up on the last morning (shower and toilet... probably sink too, but i dunno) There was a sharp spell of paint thinner outside. my room twice... i wouldnt mention it but it was one last thing. Things that were good: The staff was nice and helpful. The confidential breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to penny lane pub at least once. it was really tasty and the place had lots of atmosphere.

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
new York ny
Apr 17, 2011

Fine but very 90's decor

The staff was friendly and curteous, but overall the hotel is dated and could use a renovation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LikeItLocalStyle
Business
Richmond
Jun 29, 2013

Disappointing

The room was dated and location inconvenient. In general, the hotel was acceptable, but there are so many better options. Pick something closer to Shockoe Slip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Visiting Family in Richmond
Bakersfield, CA
Sep 9, 2009

Polite Staff, Bad Neighborhood

Our overall experience at the hotel was good. The bed was really comfortable and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. However, I would recommend that you pay the $10/night and park in the parking garage at the hotel. My girlfriend's sister parked her car on the street, because she was informed that you can park for free on the street on weekends, and had her car broken into one of the nights we stayed there. Also, some kids tripped the fire alarm and everyone had to evacuate the building at 2:00am. This is certainly not the hotel's fault (sounds more like a parenting issue to me), but it was nonetheless an inconvenience. As far as overall comfort and price goes though, the hotel was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Park in the parking garage. $10/night is cheaper than the hassle of an insurance claim.

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fredericksburg, VA
Mar 28, 2011

Great Staff, but noisy stay

The hotel and its staff was great. Everyone was very helpful, and the free shuttle to dinner was perfect! However, we had a room just off the hotel elevators and it was quite noisy at times. A room with a jacuzzi tub would have made this anniversary getaway fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tobacco Co - fine dining

Back to menu Return to top