$81 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

4 stars
555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
75 reviews
Renewed my faith in hotels

After a couple lack luster experiences at other hotels this month I was excited to be staying at... See full review

  • Ms. Roadwarrior
  • Nov 3, 2014
Friendly front desk and nice room

Arrived at the same time as several wedding parties using the hotel, so there was a 15 minute wait... See full review

  • Elwood F
  • Sep 22, 2014
A perfect retreat for business and leisure travelers in Richmond

The Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond Downtown is located in the heart of the financial district, a short walk from shopping, dining, and entertainment. The hotel overlooks the newly restored Canal Walk and is centrally located to many attractions in Richmond. For dining, the Great Room and Pavilion Cafe offer two great choices. Guests can unwind in the fitness center, the indoor pool, or sauna. Business travelers can take advantage of the 13,000 square feet of meeting space, full service business center, and free wireless Internet.

Highlights

Convenient location overlooking the Canal Walk in downtown Richmond

Indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna

Complimentary area shuttle within 2 mile radius of hotel

Rooms

All 298 non-smoking guest rooms feature one king-size or two double beds, mini-fridge, cable television with in-room movies, shower, free high-speed Internet access, work space, coffeemaker, and free morning newspaper delivered to the room. The hotel also offers 29 suites.

Features

The Pavilion Café serves American cuisine. A delicious hot buffet breakfast is offered seven days a week, as well as lunch and dinner. The Great Room features a light fare menu with sandwiches, burgers, and appetizers.  

 

The hotel's location in downtown Richmond is ideal for corporate travelers, minutes from the financial district, the Virginia State Capitol, and the Richmond Convention Center. For leisure travelers, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond Downtown is within walking distance of Richmond Center Stage and Tredegar Ironworks. Spend the day rafting the Class IV rapids on the James River or explore the hands-on exhibits at the Science Museum of Virginia.

 

The fitness center features all new Nautilus treadmills, stationary bike, recumbent bike, elliptical trainer, universal weight machine and free weights. Guests also enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna, open from 5:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Complimentary area shuttle within 2.0 mile radius of hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Richmond Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Canal Walk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Virginia State Capitol (0.66 mi/1.06 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.66 mi/1.06 km)
  • VCU Siegel Center (1 mi/1.61 km)
  • Science Museum of Virginia (2 mi/3.22 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (2.5 mi/4.02 km)
  • Virginia Childrens Museum (2.5 mi/4.02 km)
  • Richmond International Raceway (5.4 mi/8.69 km)
  • Kings Dominion (24 mi/38.62 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms with 13,000 square feet of space
  • Banquet facilities for up to 500 people in one room
  • High-speed Internet available throughout the hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.3 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.6 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.8 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.2 mi
  • Maymont: 1.7 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.7 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.3 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.6 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.8 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.2 mi
  • Maymont: 1.7 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.7 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 2.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 2.3 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.3 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.4 mi
  • Carytown: 2.6 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.6 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.7 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.9 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.9 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.3 mi

Dining

Pavilion Cafe
The Pavilion Cafe serves All American cuisine for bkfst, lunch and dinner. A delicious hot buffet breakfast is offered 7 days a week. Family friendly, and offers wonderful views of the City on one side, and a view of the James River on the other side. I
Great Room Lounge
Visit the Great Room when you have a moment and enjoy cocktails, non alcoholic beverages Starbucks Coffee and a wonderful menu selection. It is an inviting room, with soft seating, wireless internet, large flat screen TV and a welcoming staff.
Capital Ale House
Capital Ale House is Virginias beer authority, welcoming the citizens of the Commonwealth with the best food, most knowledgeable staff and largest selection of craft and imported brews. With five locations. three in the Richmond area, one in Fredericksbu
The Great Room
Relax with friends or colleagues in the cozy atmosphere of The Great Room with large screen TV's, friendly staff and welcoming music via sound system. Besides fine wine, cold beer and delicious cocktails, our lounge features a light fare menu with sandwi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy GP and GM
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Apr 2, 2013

Great One Night Stay

We were in town for one night and had never stayed in the downtown Crowne Plaza Hotel. The hotel was very clean and modern and the staff professional. We liked the location, close to the river with remarkable views. Definitely will consider this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LikaG6
Business
Vero Beach, Florida
Dec 12, 2012

good for one night

It is a great place to stay one night. But the breakfast is not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
robby doggy
Business
fort lee va
Nov 1, 2012

not good

we got there and the room was dirty and falling apart. the bed was just uncomfortable and it was just all bad. never staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G Wynn
Business
HH SC
Oct 30, 2012

richmond

terrific, we had a good time and the hotel was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Music Lovers
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 1, 2012

Concert Weekend

The hotel restaurant was wonderful and the staff was very accommodating to the trouble we had with our car. I would recommend it and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BBQ at Buz and Ned's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mannie llorens
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 15, 2012

Pleased with accommodations

Wasn't crazy about the $12 overnight fee for parking my car in the parking deck but overall my hotel stay was a joy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Traveler GTown
Business
galax, va
Jul 16, 2012

Crowne Plaza - thank you!

Great experience! Asked for upgrade and got one to a "priority" suite, which was super clean, spacious, overlooking the James River. Staff is so friendly and accomodating. Location is central to VCU and great "touristy" stuff, too. Ended up needing to stay an extra night - NO PROBLEM. We will definitely come again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Skip the Science Museum. Definitely do Sumo San Sushi on Main St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellen123
Business
Kent Ohio
Jul 10, 2012

Decent

The hotel staff was warm and welcoming - the hotel was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is very easy to access and walk the lovely James Riverfront. We enjoyed the history as well as the clean attractive gardens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George from Georgia
Business
Dahlonega, Ga, USA
Jun 22, 2012

Relaxing and Comfortable

I stayed only one night, but I found my room to be very comfortable and completely clean. The TV had lots of channels and the thermostat worked perfectly. I found the staff very attentive. For example, on check-in the clerk, on her own initiative, looked up and entered on my Priority Club number on my record - I had forgotten to bring it. And on check-out I had the clerk call me a cab, and when it didn't show right on time she called them again without my asking. I happened to eat in the bar, and my food was typical and tasty fare, and reasonably priced. Their Philly cheese sandwich is probably the best deal. I believe they have two actual restaurants, but I didn't eat in either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

From the hotel I walked to the Tredegar Historic Center - I don't think it took even 10 minutes - down by the river. This is a worthwhile place to go if you are interested in Civil War history. And if you walk there you can also go out on the bridges and locks on the James River and get pretty close to the falls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jmks
Business
Richmond, VA
May 7, 2012

Thanks

In for a quick trip. Had a great time. thanks!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Capital brew.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top