$110 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

4 stars
View map of 555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
85 out of 85
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa Pop Rocks
Business
Washington DC
Dec 3, 2013

Best Value in Richmond

In Richmond, your hotel options are limited. When expecting to pay less than $100 per night, the hotels which offer this price usually leave much to be desired. I am a Richmond native, and know the ins and outs of the town. This is a city in which you TRUELY want to stay in a nicer quality hotel. Not just for the comfort and the staff, but also for your safety and encounters with various types of locals. I booked at the Crowne Plaza knowing they are a nicer hotel. When I saw the price I was amazed. I was not let down. One if the more comfortable beds I've slept in, a very clean and stylishly updated bathroom, and a great view (for Richmond). A side note...very intuitive staff at check in. She placed the two of us on the highest floor, in a room the furthest from the other guests. As the two of us rockers whom love our nightlife, we sincerely appreciated her placing us in a room away from the possibility of bothering other guests. The other guests (who never knew of our presence) may have been bothered by our late night return and settling in if she had placed us in closer proximity. We greatly appreciated this, whether it was intentional or not. Wonderful stay, I suggest this hotel over the downtown Marriott, and this hotel is about equal to the Omni...although the price for the Crowne is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Richmond can be dangerous at night. We are comfortable walking long distances in any area of town due to our presence, demeanor, and manners. We suggest taking a short cab ride when returning to the hotel if it is later at night. That being said, we had absolutely no problems walking back to the hotel on a Sunday night at 1am.

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel Girl 208
Business
New York, NY
Oct 10, 2013

An Okay Night

Just a few things to note about my stay: The bed was very comfortable to sleep in but the room was not as clean as I would have liked. Looking from afar, everything seemed orderly but it was when i looked closer i saw the uncleanliness- I am not talking about wrappers under the bed..it was a little more obvious than that.... Also, TV did not work and had to get someone to look at it and the phone in the room was inaudible. Positives: the shuttle dropped and picked us up from our locations- that was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sir Douglas
Business
Virginia each
Jul 29, 2013

Two Nights in Dixie with Southern Hospitality

From the moment I left the 100 degree heat of downtown Richmond and entered the Crowne Plaza lobby, both cool and with a welcoming iced water dispenser, I knew I was in for a much-needed treat. The corner room, 725, was clean and comfortable and had a good view of downtown Richmond. The amenities were nice and especially welcome was a Sleep Kit with aromas and lotions to help me to relax and to fall asleep. One drawback, the ice machine on the seventh floor was not working. The room service breakfast arrived on time and was delicious. The business center was always available, but I did have to ask for paper and fill the printer... a somewhat difficult jam inside. The indoor pool area looked nice but I did not have time to use it. I look forward to my next stay there next month and to relax and explore downtown Richmond's culture and history a bit more after meetings at nearby offices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The VA Museum of Fine Arts has a wonderful exhibit and some evenings (Thursdays?) they have a well-attended jazz or other music event open to the public, free, and some good food and beverages.

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
scharbonneau68
Business
Columbia, SC
Jul 8, 2013

Expected More

Expected more from the Crowne Plaza. The bathroom was not clean, when entering I immediately saw hairs around the tub and toilet. The front desk staff did not explain parking details very well, MAINLY because they weren't sure of what the rules were themselves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
LikeItLocalStyle
Business
Richmond
Jun 29, 2013

Disappointing

The room was dated and location inconvenient. In general, the hotel was acceptable, but there are so many better options. Pick something closer to Shockoe Slip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ItsMonroe
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 6, 2013

zero complaints

I went for a weekend getaway. I was a little skeptical and I almost canceled my reservation because of all of the negative reviews that I read. I decided to just give it a chance and go for it. I am glad that i did! I had a wonderful experience! Everything was just as it was online. The staff was wonderful, the bartender was very helpful and friendly. Our room was restocked each day and the breakfast was good. Our room was quit comfortable and the view was gorgeous. When we first arrived there was someone there to take our things to our room and he even hung up my jackets. There wasn't too much noise even with a prom going on. Everything is very close to the hotel and parking is by day so you can enter and exist as you wish. My only complaint is that the water takes some time to get hot but that's minor. I will definitely be coming back to stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is very close. Canal street is the best

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sdog
Business
Portland, OR
Apr 16, 2013

Crowne Needs a Lottle Polish

The hotel was in good shape and the room was clean and comfortable. There were some things that need definite improvement however. The breakfast in the restaurant was mediocre and expensive. The WiFi signal strength in the room was extremely weak and almost unusable.The Shuttle service was so slow, we tried to use it twice and got so tired of waiting, we decided to walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PivotalMacaroon
Business
Chesapeake
Apr 3, 2013

Great Stay

Went up for a festival on Belle Island. We were able to walk easily from here. Had a great time and the pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy GP and GM
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Apr 2, 2013

Great One Night Stay

We were in town for one night and had never stayed in the downtown Crowne Plaza Hotel. The hotel was very clean and modern and the staff professional. We liked the location, close to the river with remarkable views. Definitely will consider this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LikaG6
Business
Vero Beach, Florida
Dec 12, 2012

good for one night

It is a great place to stay one night. But the breakfast is not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top