$107 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

4 stars
View map of 555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
76 out of 76
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PivotalMacaroon
Business
Chesapeake
Apr 3, 2013

Great Stay

Went up for a festival on Belle Island. We were able to walk easily from here. Had a great time and the pool was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy GP and GM
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Apr 2, 2013

Great One Night Stay

We were in town for one night and had never stayed in the downtown Crowne Plaza Hotel. The hotel was very clean and modern and the staff professional. We liked the location, close to the river with remarkable views. Definitely will consider this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LikaG6
Business
Vero Beach, Florida
Dec 12, 2012

good for one night

It is a great place to stay one night. But the breakfast is not very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
robby doggy
Business
fort lee va
Nov 1, 2012

not good

we got there and the room was dirty and falling apart. the bed was just uncomfortable and it was just all bad. never staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
G Wynn
Business
HH SC
Oct 30, 2012

richmond

terrific, we had a good time and the hotel was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Two Music Lovers
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 1, 2012

Concert Weekend

The hotel restaurant was wonderful and the staff was very accommodating to the trouble we had with our car. I would recommend it and stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

BBQ at Buz and Ned's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mannie llorens
Business
Richmond, VA
Sep 15, 2012

Pleased with accommodations

Wasn't crazy about the $12 overnight fee for parking my car in the parking deck but overall my hotel stay was a joy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Traveler GTown
Business
galax, va
Jul 16, 2012

Crowne Plaza - thank you!

Great experience! Asked for upgrade and got one to a "priority" suite, which was super clean, spacious, overlooking the James River. Staff is so friendly and accomodating. Location is central to VCU and great "touristy" stuff, too. Ended up needing to stay an extra night - NO PROBLEM. We will definitely come again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Skip the Science Museum. Definitely do Sumo San Sushi on Main St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ellen123
Business
Kent Ohio
Jul 10, 2012

Decent

The hotel staff was warm and welcoming - the hotel was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

It is very easy to access and walk the lovely James Riverfront. We enjoyed the history as well as the clean attractive gardens.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
George from Georgia
Business
Dahlonega, Ga, USA
Jun 22, 2012

Relaxing and Comfortable

I stayed only one night, but I found my room to be very comfortable and completely clean. The TV had lots of channels and the thermostat worked perfectly. I found the staff very attentive. For example, on check-in the clerk, on her own initiative, looked up and entered on my Priority Club number on my record - I had forgotten to bring it. And on check-out I had the clerk call me a cab, and when it didn't show right on time she called them again without my asking. I happened to eat in the bar, and my food was typical and tasty fare, and reasonably priced. Their Philly cheese sandwich is probably the best deal. I believe they have two actual restaurants, but I didn't eat in either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

From the hotel I walked to the Tredegar Historic Center - I don't think it took even 10 minutes - down by the river. This is a worthwhile place to go if you are interested in Civil War history. And if you walk there you can also go out on the bridges and locks on the James River and get pretty close to the falls.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top