$115 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

4 stars
View map of 555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vegas Is home
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Aug 13, 2014

Just okay

While the staff was kind and welcoming and the amenities and breakfast were nice, the room, although tidy, was dirty with marks and stains on the walls. We decided to pay a little more in hopes of staying at a nicer hotel, especially since it was our first time in Richmond and some downtown areas are a little sketchy in some cities. The area felt safe, but we didn't feel like we got our money's worth out of this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a nice meal at Kitchen on Carey. It was about a 15 min walk. The bruschetta was delicious. We also dined at a burger joint just a couple blocks away called Capital Ale House. They had nice menu options, including a vegetarian black bean burger that was really good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blind Bunny
Business
West Michigan
Jul 17, 2014

As expected

Staff was accomodating and friendly, allowing me an early check-in but the room itself showed some age. Clean and well appointed, but sound travels through the walls and the door to the room didn't seal at all, so hall sounds, and light came in throughout the night. All in all, the hotel delivered adequate value for the cost, but nothing to write home about

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Down the street toward James river is a very nice island with trails and historical attractions. Worth the effort on an evening stroll.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JJ the traver
Business
Oregon
Jul 15, 2014

Wedding alarm

We started off with checking in a day early and the problems began..the Clerk bill for all three days , instead of the one extra night.it took three days to get this straighten out..The internet is not strong in the rooms...the ac when out one night,, they had no one that night to repair the AC. Than, at 7:15 am on the 12th the fire alarms when off and we had to leave the building.... These were a few of the problems... I would like to say that the AC repair man that came the next morning ,Ovillee Bank was a very cool guy and did a great job...he was the highlite of our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Armici,, was great,,, very good food!!, and a great staff

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RTS33035
Business
Homestead flordia
Jul 12, 2014

relaxing hotel

Hotel was relaxing. Front clerks took their time and answered all questions. They had a free washer and dryer for guests to use. The pool and hot tub was great. Close to the airport and the highways. Cheaper than most hotels. Decent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

3rd street diner opened 24/7

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kamgaroo88220
Business
Newport News, VA
Jul 7, 2014

Nice hotel

We enjoyed our stay. It was our first time to Rochmond. We will be back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Brownes island area is a short walk and worth checking out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LST2
Business
Arlington, VA
Jun 26, 2014

convenient

We have stayed here before and the hotel is nice. Convenient location, comfortable beds and clean rooms. The staff are very friendly. I could not get the Wifi to work which was an annoyance. Do not know what the issue was. We had paid to park in the lot. Our swipe cards never worked and this was a hassle. We had them change the cards three times and still did not work but each time we asked, the staff were nice about it and very apologetic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great restaurant was "27" on W Broad Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skiptius
Business
Washington DC
May 23, 2014

Need to work to enjoy

The first room we got was on the 13th floor and our bad luck was that it smelled like a locker room and a/c did not work. Got second room that worked better. Free parking (although they said it would be $12/day). Reasonable breakfast room service. Hotel is functional- but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Wonderful dinner at Tobacco Company, 8 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James Barnes
Business
Arlington VA
Mar 31, 2014

Great Hotel

I stayed here because I came down from Washington DC to see a SOJA show at the National. Everything was walkable from this hotel and I even found parking in front of the hotel for $4 per day that I could pay with park mobile app. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that it took a long time to check in, but the staff was doing the best they could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I hit the Capital Ale house which is a couple blocks away. Great food and beer selection. Nice spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poeticjustice
Business
philly
Mar 24, 2014

Clean and comfortable

This hotel is a nicely appointed and comfortable option among the downtown hotels. A nice benefit of the king room I reserved was a microwave and a fridge that was a much appreciated extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K8lynjoh
Business
Richmond, VA
Mar 24, 2014

Good place to stay

Shuttle is extremely unhelpful, but overall a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top