$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

4 stars
555 East Canal Street, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
71 reviews
Great Hotel

Wery good experience. Perfect location, nice staff, clean and confortable rooms therefore... See full review

  • Biba 1
  • Aug 15, 2014
Great stay!

Room was perfect and beds were very comfortable! Hotel staff was efficient and friendly! See full review

  • NAP123
  • Jan 21, 2014
A perfect retreat for business and leisure travelers in Richmond

The Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond Downtown is located in the heart of the financial district, a short walk from shopping, dining, and entertainment. The hotel overlooks the newly restored Canal Walk and is centrally located to many attractions in Richmond. For dining, the Great Room and Pavilion Cafe offer two great choices. Guests can unwind in the fitness center, the indoor pool, or sauna. Business travelers can take advantage of the 13,000 square feet of meeting space, full service business center, and free wireless Internet.

Highlights

Convenient location overlooking the Canal Walk in downtown Richmond

Indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna

Complimentary area shuttle within 2 mile radius of hotel

Rooms

All 298 non-smoking guest rooms feature one king-size or two double beds, mini-fridge, cable television with in-room movies, shower, free high-speed Internet access, work space, coffeemaker, and free morning newspaper delivered to the room. The hotel also offers 29 suites.

Features

The Pavilion Café serves American cuisine. A delicious hot buffet breakfast is offered seven days a week, as well as lunch and dinner. The Great Room features a light fare menu with sandwiches, burgers, and appetizers.  

 

The hotel's location in downtown Richmond is ideal for corporate travelers, minutes from the financial district, the Virginia State Capitol, and the Richmond Convention Center. For leisure travelers, the Crowne Plaza Hotel Richmond Downtown is within walking distance of Richmond Center Stage and Tredegar Ironworks. Spend the day rafting the Class IV rapids on the James River or explore the hands-on exhibits at the Science Museum of Virginia.

 

The fitness center features all new Nautilus treadmills, stationary bike, recumbent bike, elliptical trainer, universal weight machine and free weights. Guests also enjoy the indoor pool, whirlpool, and sauna, open from 5:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (10.3 mi/16.6 km)
  • Complimentary area shuttle within 2.0 mile radius of hotel
Nearby attractions
  • Richmond Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Canal Walk (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Virginia State Capitol (0.66 mi/1.06 km)
  • Museum of the Confederacy (0.66 mi/1.06 km)
  • VCU Siegel Center (1 mi/1.61 km)
  • Science Museum of Virginia (2 mi/3.22 km)
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts (2.5 mi/4.02 km)
  • Virginia Childrens Museum (2.5 mi/4.02 km)
  • Richmond International Raceway (5.4 mi/8.69 km)
  • Kings Dominion (24 mi/38.62 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms with 13,000 square feet of space
  • Banquet facilities for up to 500 people in one room
  • High-speed Internet available throughout the hotel

Hotel Map

37.5381 -77.4409
Nearby airports
Baltimore Washington International, (BWI), 139.00, MI, S; Washington Dulles International Airport, (WAS), 121.00, MI, S; Richmond International Airport, (RIC), 9.80, MI, SW;
Area description
Downtown, downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.3 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.6 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.8 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.2 mi
  • Maymont: 1.7 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.7 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.3 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.4 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.6 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.6 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 0.8 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.2 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1.2 mi
  • Maymont: 1.7 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.7 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 2.1 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 2.3 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.3 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.3 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.4 mi
  • Carytown: 2.6 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.6 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 3.7 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 3.9 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.9 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 6 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.3 mi

Dining

Pavilion Cafe
The Pavilion Cafe serves All American cuisine for bkfst, lunch and dinner. A delicious hot buffet breakfast is offered 7 days a week. Family friendly, and offers wonderful views of the City on one side, and a view of the James River on the other side. I
Great Room Lounge
Visit the Great Room when you have a moment and enjoy cocktails, non alcoholic beverages Starbucks Coffee and a wonderful menu selection. It is an inviting room, with soft seating, wireless internet, large flat screen TV and a welcoming staff.
Capital Ale House
Capital Ale House is Virginias beer authority, welcoming the citizens of the Commonwealth with the best food, most knowledgeable staff and largest selection of craft and imported brews. With five locations. three in the Richmond area, one in Fredericksbu

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (71)

Ratings and reviews for Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Skiptius
Washington DC
May 23, 2014

Need to work to enjoy

The first room we got was on the 13th floor and our bad luck was that it smelled like a locker room and a/c did not work. Got second room that worked better. Free parking (although they said it would be $12/day). Reasonable breakfast room service. Hotel is functional- but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Wonderful dinner at Tobacco Company, 8 blocks away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
James Barnes
Arlington VA
Mar 31, 2014

Great Hotel

I stayed here because I came down from Washington DC to see a SOJA show at the National. Everything was walkable from this hotel and I even found parking in front of the hotel for $4 per day that I could pay with park mobile app. The only reason I didn't give 5 stars is that it took a long time to check in, but the staff was doing the best they could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I hit the Capital Ale house which is a couple blocks away. Great food and beer selection. Nice spot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
K8lynjoh
Richmond, VA
Mar 24, 2014

Good place to stay

Shuttle is extremely unhelpful, but overall a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Poeticjustice
philly
Mar 24, 2014

Clean and comfortable

This hotel is a nicely appointed and comfortable option among the downtown hotels. A nice benefit of the king room I reserved was a microwave and a fridge that was a much appreciated extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveller for Events
st. louis, mo
Mar 13, 2014

cheap for downtown

Thinks that were bad: the room was disappointing. The room I was in was clearly converted from some other use. It was not originally designed to be hotel room. It was one big square room with double doors usually intended for loading/unloading. Also the things I'm used to in a hotel were missing. Pay per view, mini fridge. The one TV was centrally located which means it didn't quite face anything. The bed sagged in the middle something like 2-3 inches. The place was decorated like it was the late 70s. The drains stopped up on the last morning (shower and toilet... probably sink too, but i dunno) There was a sharp spell of paint thinner outside. my room twice... i wouldnt mention it but it was one last thing. Things that were good: The staff was nice and helpful. The confidential breakfast was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

go to penny lane pub at least once. it was really tasty and the place had lots of atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Polly dashmore
Mclean
Feb 11, 2014

Family visit

Great overall experience, but the front desk needs more staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NAP123
Business
Dallas, Texas
Jan 21, 2014

Great stay!

Room was perfect and beds were very comfortable! Hotel staff was efficient and friendly!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kreamy
Maryland
Jan 8, 2014

Excellent Competition

The staff was very helpful, eager to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Restaurant on 2nd floor

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Papa Pop Rocks
Washington DC
Dec 3, 2013

Best Value in Richmond

In Richmond, your hotel options are limited. When expecting to pay less than $100 per night, the hotels which offer this price usually leave much to be desired. I am a Richmond native, and know the ins and outs of the town. This is a city in which you TRUELY want to stay in a nicer quality hotel. Not just for the comfort and the staff, but also for your safety and encounters with various types of locals. I booked at the Crowne Plaza knowing they are a nicer hotel. When I saw the price I was amazed. I was not let down. One if the more comfortable beds I've slept in, a very clean and stylishly updated bathroom, and a great view (for Richmond). A side note...very intuitive staff at check in. She placed the two of us on the highest floor, in a room the furthest from the other guests. As the two of us rockers whom love our nightlife, we sincerely appreciated her placing us in a room away from the possibility of bothering other guests. The other guests (who never knew of our presence) may have been bothered by our late night return and settling in if she had placed us in closer proximity. We greatly appreciated this, whether it was intentional or not. Wonderful stay, I suggest this hotel over the downtown Marriott, and this hotel is about equal to the Omni...although the price for the Crowne is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Richmond can be dangerous at night. We are comfortable walking long distances in any area of town due to our presence, demeanor, and manners. We suggest taking a short cab ride when returning to the hotel if it is later at night. That being said, we had absolutely no problems walking back to the hotel on a Sunday night at 1am.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Crowne Plaza RICHMOND DOWNTOWN

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travel Girl 208
Business
New York, NY
Oct 10, 2013

An Okay Night

Just a few things to note about my stay: The bed was very comfortable to sleep in but the room was not as clean as I would have liked. Looking from afar, everything seemed orderly but it was when i looked closer i saw the uncleanliness- I am not talking about wrappers under the bed..it was a little more obvious than that.... Also, TV did not work and had to get someone to look at it and the phone in the room was inaudible. Positives: the shuttle dropped and picked us up from our locations- that was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search