$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

3 stars
View map of 901 Bank St, Richmond, VA 23219

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
60 reviews
Great place to stay

Great place to stay. It's a good hotel, but it's in a good location and the room was very large and... See full review

  • Jay776644
  • Oct 25, 2014
Couple staying for one night

Very well staff and the cleanliness was good. However, you can literally hear everything from the... See full review

  • Ashley1234
  • Aug 9, 2014
Spacious suites and rich history at this Richmond hotel

The historic Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel is located across from the Virginia State Capital building and just a short walk to Richmond's Shockoe Slip and Shockoe Bottom entertainment districts. It is within easy access to most attractions throughout the city, including the Science Museum, the Children's Museum, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Edgar Allen Poe Museum. The hotel was built in 1846 and renovated in 2006. Guests enjoy spacious suites and upscale bedrooms, free wireless Internet, free valet service, and on-site dining.

Highlights
  • Historic hotel with spacious suites
  • Free wireless Internet and free valet service
  • Within walking distance to entertainment district
  • Pets welcome ($50 USD)
Rooms
Many of the rooms and suites offer a view of the State Capitol Park with its beautiful gardens. The spacious suites offer 550 square feet of living space, with separate living and bedroom areas. Each suite includes a sleeper sofa in the living room or an extra bed. Bathrooms include granite counter tops, steel sinks, hairdryers, towel warmers, and bidets. All rooms and suites are equipped with a microwave refrigerator, coffee maker, dining table, and executive desk. Wireless high-speed Internet is offered throughout the hotel.
Features

Amenities include free daily newspaper, free valet service, exercise room with sauna, and a business center. Maxine's Cafe is open for breakfast from 6:30 a.m. to 10 a.m., offering eggs made to order and a full buffet with sausage, bacon, biscuits, gravy, waffles, and fresh fruit. Dinner is served from 5:30 p.m. to 9 p.m. Menu items include appetizers, wraps, salads, sandwiches, entrees, and desserts. The Shockoe Slip area, located less than four blocks away, offers a variety of dining options including Japanese, Italian, American, and seafood.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • Four meeting rooms, three of the four can combined
  • High-speed Internet access throughout hotel

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel Rooms

Standard
King Bedroom - Spacious bedroom featuring a plush King bed. Executive desk Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp Bidet and Towel warmers and 37 inches flat panel TV.
Standard
Double Bedroom - Spacious bedroom featuring two full sized beds Executive desk .Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp Bidet and Towel warmers and 37 inches flat panel TV.
Standard
Description not provided
Suite
King Suite-Two room suite featuring a living room with sleeper sofa. Executive desk featuring a plush King bed and second TV. Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp. Bidet and Towel warmers and 37" flat panel TV in the bedroom and in the li
Suite
Double Suite-Two room suite featuring a living room with a sleeper sofa. Executive desk. With two plush beds. Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp.Bidet and Towel warmers and 37" flat panel TV in the bedroom and in the living room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Bidet
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.1 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.4 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.7 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 1.1 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.4 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 2 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.1 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.4 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.7 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 1.1 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.4 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 2 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 2.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 2.4 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.6 mi
  • Carytown: 2.8 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.8 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.8 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 4 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 4.1 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.6 mi

Dining

Maxines Cafe
Open Mon-Fri 630a-11 5p-10p Sat-Sun 7a-11p 5p-10p Maxines Cafe serving Richmond since 1921 offers a variety of dining choices room service and the best coffee on Bank Street in Richmond.
Maxines Cafe Bar
Open daily 5-9pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 60
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travelerdude75
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Nov 23, 2011

economical

Rooms remind of of a dorm (which is was at one point), but otherwise good location economical, and large rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Richmond, VA
Oct 10, 2010

Didn't Have our suite, and RUDE

We reserved a King Suite. When we checked in, we were given a tiny room with a king sized bed. When I called the front desk to say that we had been given the wrong room, I was put on hold for an extremely long time, only to be told that they didn't have the suite that we had reserved and PAYED FOR on [...]. The gentleman also informed me that the hotel was over-booked, and they were unable to fix the error. He also let me know that sights like [...] frequently sell rooms that are not available to people. He was rude and beyond unhelpful. We didn't even recieve a discount for the money we spent on the SUITE that we never got, so we had to pay the suite rate for that shoebox we ended up in. I will never return to this hotel, and will most likely never use [...] again, either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Richmond, VA
Oct 10, 2010

Didn't Have our suite, and RUDE

We reserved a King Suite. When we checked in, we were given a tiny room with a king sized bed. When I called the front desk to say that we had been given the wrong room, I was put on hold for an extremely long time, only to be told that they didn't have the suite that we had reserved and PAYED FOR on [...]. The gentleman also informed me that the hotel was over-booked, and they were unable to fix the error. He also let me know that sights like [...] frequently sell rooms that are not available to people. He was rude and beyond unhelpful. We didn't even recieve a discount for the money we spent on the SUITE that we never got, so we had to pay the suite rate for that shoebox we ended up in. I will never return to this hotel, and will most likely never use [...] again, either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Aug 29, 2010

Great location

Went to see concert at National Theater - a convenient 4 block walk. Hotel safe, recently renovated. Suite spacious - minimally furnished but nice. When reported non-working shower, staff did come to repair, but too close to check-out time to use. Fee for valet parking, but good service. Good restaurants in walking distance - small restaurant in hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy walk to Canal Walk as well - across from State Capital building

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, VA
Jul 5, 2010

Historic and affordable

I stayed at this hotel for a long weekend leisure trip to Richmond. I chose it because of its middle-of-downtown location and price. It was very affordable and each room has a microwave and minifridge. The staff was friendly and the historic building is very cool. Right across the street from the Virginia State Capitol as well. Seems like I should have paid at least $90 for a room like this, but it was only $75 a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

On weekends, street parking is free at the meters all day. We parked around the corner from the hotel and left the car at that meter for 2 1/2 days for free. Beats the valet charge at the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
May 4, 2010

NASCAR WEEKEND

We were going to arrive @ the hotel late on Friday night, so I called the hotel to notify them that we were going to be late. They had no problem with that @ all. We were visiting Richmond for the Spring NASCAR race & this is a good location for race fans. We stayed in the suite & I highly recommend this style of room. The beds were on the smaller side & not very comfortable but the size of the room compensated for the negative aspects. There was also an enormous (in hotel terms) living area with a pull-out sofa. The valet parking was only $12 & in locked garage across the street. The price was reasonable & there was a woman who worked behind the counter @ the front desk that helped us out with every request that we had. It is also located right across the street from Richmond's capital building & a short drive to other Richmond attractions. Overall I would rate this Hotel a B / B+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oldmanmountain
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Mar 1, 2010

prime location

old building, possibly historical but fairly recently upgraded room finishes. Nice materials, but not professionally installed: no craftsmanship

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask restaurant patrons about the service. Our experience with servers and bartenders wasn't good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VCU Grad 12.12.09
Business
Richmond, VA
Dec 15, 2009

Great Graduation Night

Loved the size of the rooms, very comfortable beds...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top