$134 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

3 stars
View map of 901 Bank St, Richmond, VA 23219

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
57 reviews
Excellent stay

The room exceeded our expectations. 2 room suite with a nice view of the Capitol. Very pleased with... See full review

  • John B.
  • Jun 27, 2015
VCU visit

I needed something close to VCU for summer orientation. The hotel was technically within walking... See full review

  • Kathi
  • Jun 22, 2015

The historic Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel is located across from the Virginia State Capital building and just a short walk to Richmond's Shockoe Slip and Shockoe Bottom entertainment districts. It is within easy access to most attractions throughout the city, including the Science Museum, the Children's Museum, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Edgar Allen Poe Museum. The hotel was built in 1846 and renovated in 2006. Guests enjoy spacious suites and upscale bedrooms, free wireless Internet, free valet service, and on-site dining.

Rooms
Many of the rooms and suites offer a view of the State Capitol Park with its beautiful gardens. The spacious suites offer 550 square feet of living space, with separate living and bedroom areas. Each suite includes a sleeper sofa in the living room or an extra bed. Bathrooms include granite counter tops, steel sinks, hairdryers, towel warmers, and bidets. All rooms and suites are equipped with a microwave refrigerator, coffee maker, dining table, and executive desk. Wireless high-speed Internet is offered throughout the hotel.
Property features

Amenities include free daily newspaper, free valet service, exercise room with sauna, and a business center. Maxine's Cafe is open for breakfast from 6:30 a.m. to 10 a.m., offering eggs made to order and a full buffet with sausage, bacon, biscuits, gravy, waffles, and fresh fruit. Dinner is served from 5:30 p.m. to 9 p.m. Menu items include appetizers, wraps, salads, sandwiches, entrees, and desserts. The Shockoe Slip area, located less than four blocks away, offers a variety of dining options including Japanese, Italian, American, and seafood.

Highlights
  • Historic hotel with spacious suites
  • Free wireless Internet and free valet service
  • Within walking distance to entertainment district
  • Pets welcome ($50 USD)
Business
  • Four meeting rooms, three of the four can combined
  • High-speed Internet access throughout hotel
Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (7.9 mi/12.7 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel Rooms

Standard
King Bedroom - Spacious bedroom featuring a plush King bed. Executive desk Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp Bidet and Towel warmers and 37 inches flat panel TV.
Standard
Double Bedroom - Spacious bedroom featuring two full sized beds Executive desk .Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp Bidet and Towel warmers and 37 inches flat panel TV.
Standard
Description not provided
Suite
King Suite-Two room suite featuring a living room with sleeper sofa. Executive desk featuring a plush King bed and second TV. Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp. Bidet and Towel warmers and 37" flat panel TV in the bedroom and in the li
Suite
Double Suite-Two room suite featuring a living room with a sleeper sofa. Executive desk. With two plush beds. Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp.Bidet and Towel warmers and 37" flat panel TV in the bedroom and in the living room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Bidet
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.1 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.4 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.7 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 1.1 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.4 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 2 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.1 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.4 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.7 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 1.1 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.4 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 2 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 2.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 2.4 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.6 mi
  • Carytown: 2.8 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.8 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.8 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 4 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 4.1 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.6 mi

Dining

Maxines Cafe
Open Mon-Fri 630a-11 5p-10p Sat-Sun 7a-11p 5p-10p Maxines Cafe serving Richmond since 1921 offers a variety of dining choices room service and the best coffee on Bank Street in Richmond.
Maxines Cafe Bar
Open daily 5-9pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 57
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DrewRudz
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jul 28, 2014

Decent Hotel-Good Price

Good Experience. Older Hotel. But good location. Can't park you car anywhere. So MUST Valet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ernestodc
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 28, 2014

Quick Business Visit

This is a great hotel in a great location. It is older and lacks the modern amenities of newer urban hotels but the rooms are great and the comfort is good. My only negative is the old noisy air/heat conditioner which is less than comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Running Joe
Business
San Franicsco, California
Nov 29, 2012

Nice Place Close to VCU MCV

I was here because I had an interview at MCV. It's walking distance to the campus and you can wake up 30 minutes prior, get ready, and be in the interview with a lot of time to spare. I recommend this place if your interviewing at MCV. There's a nice living room separated from the bedroom with closed doors, so it can give you some privacy if you have guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Jun 18, 2011

Great Location, adequate accommodations

This was my second stay here for business in Richmond. Perfect downtown location so I could easily walk to my client office and lots of restaurants. Its the location that brought me back. Room/suite was huge with newer king bed and separate living room. Two nice big flat screen TVs, microwave and fridge. Free wifi. Staff was courteous and helpful. This is an older property and the modernization not quite up to current standards. Some sloppy maintenance and housekeeping issues were evident.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NoVA
Jul 26, 2010

Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel, Richmond

Conveniently located to downtown business and political districts of Richmond. An older property, it is well maintained and is frequented by members of the State Legislature when in Session. Rooms are large, suites have ample space for sleeping, dining and working. Bathrooms are equipped with European style bidets, not to be confused with Japanese styled toilets, please. Showers are strong and invigorating. Seems that the baths have been redone within a reasonable period of time. The elevators are small but there are two of them. Large windows give a great view of the state Capitol and its grounds. Pleasant and attentive staff; cars are parked in a garage you can easily see. Finally, the hotel, though a charming and older property, IS sprinkled. A good sign suggesting the owners are attentive to safety. Enjoyed the stay, will be back especially at the price paid. hl

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Richmond has lots of great restaurants at very reasona ble prices

Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Twinsburg, OH
Jun 21, 2010

Decent downtown option

For the price, the Commonwealth Park Suites was a good deal. Hints of the hotel's former glory come through in the size of the rooms, while a recent upgrade meant that the bedding, etc. were nice and new. Free wireless was a nice feature too. On the downside: the restaurant was pedestrian, and is not open for lunch. For dinner I had to track down the restaurant workers via the front desk. Also, much of the surrounding neighborhood closes after 3 p.m. For an outsider be prepared to walk a few blocks for decent food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Albion Tourgee
Business
Greenville NC
Jun 20, 2010

Good walking location

Attending a conference, chose this instead of conference hotel because it had character, was within walking distance of all conference sites, and was cheaper. Valet parking was convenient. Down side was that room on second floor had view of brick wall 4 feet away, so no natural light in room. Would definitely return, especially for a room with a view of downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Househunter
Business
Durham, NC
May 16, 2010

Good Hotel for Good Price

I was in Richmond to look for houses as part of my relocation for work. The staff was friendly. The room was clean. I didn't need a large suite and didn't actually use the extra room but the price was lower than the other 3 star hotels so decided to try it. The location is okay - not a far drive to Carytown or Uptown for restaurants/househunting, safe, and with plenty of free parking on the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northwestern VA
Feb 11, 2010

You get what yoy pay for

Excellent location for my business trip to State Legislative Office. The staff on duty when I cheked in was very welcoming and helpfull. The desk clerk, who seemed to be a manager or owner who was on duty when I left was less friendly and did not have any interest in how my stay was at the hotel although the rest of the staff working in the morning was very friendly and solicitous. The hotel is old and dated, but is what I expected based on price compared to other hotels in immediate area. I arrived at night and the entry foyer to my room was very dark. There was no light in the foyer which made it very difficult to see when entering room, a real safety concern. A wall switch worked the plug for the bedside lamp; however the bedside lamp had been switched off at the lamp and the wall switch had no effect. I had to prop the door open with my luggage to try and find a light in the room so I could see to get in. The room was a reasonable size and genererally clean. The bathroom was up to date and clean. The room had a coffee maker and refrigerator, however the refrigerator had been unpluged and smelled slightly musty as a result. The bed was comfortable but there was an old stain on the corner of the sheet. The heating system was old fashioned and somewhat difficult to regulate, I had to adjust the temperature control several time to keep the room from overheating or becoming too cold. The restaurant is avalable for dinner and breakfast. The food was fair and was probably preprepared, protion controlled based on low usage of the restaurant and the quality of the food. Stick with sandwhiches and salads. Breakfast is avaiable from 6:00 to 10:00 AM , however a computer glitch kept the the morning staff from getting access to the keys for the food storage until almost 7:00 so the hot breakfast food was unavilalbe by time I had to get ready to leave for my morning meeting. In general the hotel was about what I expected for the price I paid in this location. I would recommend it as a good value if you need to be near the State Capiol or offices, however I would recommend having dinner somewhere else. There are several options within five or six blocks, but bad weather made me want to stay in once I was settled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Jul 13, 2009

More for the money

Only there one night on business. Big, nice rooms. TV reception was scratchy. Being downtown was a little noisy, but a good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top