$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 28, 2014 Check-out: Nov 30, 2014

Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

3 stars
901 Bank St, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
56 reviews
Couple staying for one night

Very well staff and the cleanliness was good. However, you can literally hear everything from the... See full review

  • Ashley1234
  • Aug 9, 2014
Decent Hotel-Good Price

Good Experience. Older Hotel. But good location. Can't park you car anywhere. So MUST Valet See full review

  • DrewRudz
  • Jul 28, 2014
Spacious suites and rich history at this Richmond hotel

The historic Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel is located across from the Virginia State Capital building and just a short walk to Richmond's Shockoe Slip and Shockoe Bottom entertainment districts. It is within easy access to most attractions throughout the city, including the Science Museum, the Children's Museum, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Edgar Allen Poe Museum. The hotel was built in 1846 and renovated in 2006. Guests enjoy spacious suites and upscale bedrooms, free wireless Internet, free valet service, and on-site dining.

Highlights
  • Historic hotel with spacious suites
  • Free wireless Internet and free valet service
  • Within walking distance to entertainment district
  • Pets welcome ($50 USD)
Rooms
Many of the rooms and suites offer a view of the State Capitol Park with its beautiful gardens. The spacious suites offer 550 square feet of living space, with separate living and bedroom areas. Each suite includes a sleeper sofa in the living room or an extra bed. Bathrooms include granite counter tops, steel sinks, hairdryers, towel warmers, and bidets. All rooms and suites are equipped with a microwave refrigerator, coffee maker, dining table, and executive desk. Wireless high-speed Internet is offered throughout the hotel.
Features

Amenities include free daily newspaper, free valet service, exercise room with sauna, and a business center. Maxine's Cafe is open for breakfast from 6:30 a.m. to 10 a.m., offering eggs made to order and a full buffet with sausage, bacon, biscuits, gravy, waffles, and fresh fruit. Dinner is served from 5:30 p.m. to 9 p.m. Menu items include appetizers, wraps, salads, sandwiches, entrees, and desserts. The Shockoe Slip area, located less than four blocks away, offers a variety of dining options including Japanese, Italian, American, and seafood.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • Four meeting rooms, three of the four can combined
  • High-speed Internet access throughout hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel Rooms

Standard
King Bedroom - Spacious bedroom featuring a plush King bed. Executive desk Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp Bidet and Towel warmers and 37 inches flat panel TV.
Standard
Double Bedroom - Spacious bedroom featuring two full sized beds Executive desk .Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp Bidet and Towel warmers and 37 inches flat panel TV.
Standard
Description not provided
Suite
King Suite-Two room suite featuring a living room with sleeper sofa. Executive desk featuring a plush King bed and second TV. Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp. Bidet and Towel warmers and 37" flat panel TV in the bedroom and in the li
Suite
Double Suite-Two room suite featuring a living room with a sleeper sofa. Executive desk. With two plush beds. Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp.Bidet and Towel warmers and 37" flat panel TV in the bedroom and in the living room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Bidet
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.1 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.4 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.7 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 1.1 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.4 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 2 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.1 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.4 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.7 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 1.1 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.4 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 2 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 2.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 2.4 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.6 mi
  • Carytown: 2.8 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.8 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.8 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 4 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 4.1 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.6 mi

Dining

Maxines Cafe
Open Mon-Fri 630a-11 5p-10p Sat-Sun 7a-11p 5p-10p Maxines Cafe serving Richmond since 1921 offers a variety of dining choices room service and the best coffee on Bank Street in Richmond.
Maxines Cafe Bar
Open daily 5-9pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Richmond, VA
Oct 10, 2010

Didn't Have our suite, and RUDE

We reserved a King Suite. When we checked in, we were given a tiny room with a king sized bed. When I called the front desk to say that we had been given the wrong room, I was put on hold for an extremely long time, only to be told that they didn't have the suite that we had reserved and PAYED FOR on [...]. The gentleman also informed me that the hotel was over-booked, and they were unable to fix the error. He also let me know that sights like [...] frequently sell rooms that are not available to people. He was rude and beyond unhelpful. We didn't even recieve a discount for the money we spent on the SUITE that we never got, so we had to pay the suite rate for that shoebox we ended up in. I will never return to this hotel, and will most likely never use [...] again, either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
SSTampa01
Business
Tampa, FL
Aug 25, 2013

Stale, Aged and tobacco stinky

Right across from the Capitol. So the location is truly "historic district". Historic is good description: right out of the 50's. Had a "non-smoking" room, but all those years of smoke are burned in. No getting rid of it. Thought breakfast was included, but cost $12 for your basic cafe breakfast. Speaking of cafe, right out of 50s too. And rude staff. Not really under Hotel Mgmt. Caters to capitol poll staff and not tourist friendly. Elevators felt like 4 people might be too many. Get a hotel down on Cary Street. Unless you are a poor lowly state house staffer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jayned
Business
Virginia
Sep 28, 2011

Not clean

We checked in (very chilly reception) and discovered there was hair on the bathroom floor, a large spider web in the corner of the room and the window opened up on to a building next door. No thank you, we checked out immediately. The receptionist was not particularly helpful or accomodating (he said he couldn't do anything about it and that it would take days to process a refund) but, to his credit, the manager called the next morning and the refund was issued.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gringojeb
Business
Wilmington, NC
Feb 2, 2013

Comfortable However

The suite was ok with fridge and microwave two TVs, a CD player and two smart chairs. The location was great for an exploration of the downtown area. There were some things that were in need of repair. First is the heater in the bedroom it was non-functioning a bit of surprise the following morning. Then the shower had some repair that was decaying and black particles were falling down from the ceiling. An update to the interior aesthetics and a sound system that is iphone and Android capable would be a step up and make the stay more pleasurable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wally the Green Monster
Business
Southern California
Jun 14, 2010

Ehh....Could be better, but not too bad.

BE sure to ask for the Capitol view or else you will get the view of a brick wall. The rooms are big, as well as the bathrooms. Towel heaters are a nice add on as well. Yet, the linens kept coming off the bed, because they were too small, the towels had stains on them and the carpets are old and stained. The service is good, and the employees are nice. Could be a much better hotel though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
High Point, NC
Apr 14, 2009

Avoid Room 401

This hotel is in a great location, handy for downtown Richmond and I95. The dogwoods were flowering around the Capital Building and it was very pretty. Unfortunately our room had only one window with a view of a lot of pipes and equipment probably belonging to the heating and cooling system. There was no natural light. Well, never mind, it was only for one night, but what a night!. The plant outside our window cranked up several times an hour throughout the night, making sleep impossible. The room was small with a desk and chair, an armchair and an old TV with poor reception. There was also a coffee maker, microwave and small fridge. The main surfaces had been cleaned, but there was a good covering of dust on lamps, the alarm clock and phone. The king sized bed was adequate with plenty of pillows, but I was not happy about the stains on the underside of the comforter. The bathroom was a good size, with a bidet, but there were some curious white spots on the wall. They could have been toothpaste splatters or just a bad paint job. Only half the bathroom mirror had been cleaned. I suppose the maid was only short. There were plenty of towels and a towel warmer. The timer for the infra red light did not work and the infra red bulb had been replaced by a regular spot lamp. Breakfast in the dining room was a treat. A lovely room with great service and a wonderful buffet with lots of choices. Good value for money,but not included in the price of the room. Valet Parking at an adjacent parking lot was also extra, but efficient. It is a shame that our stay at this hotel was spoiled by a lousy room. I would not stay there again, but I might pop in for breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jun 1, 2010

was ok

did not have a view. both windows were opened on a wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
John DF
Business
Virginia
Nov 16, 2014

Just OK

The room smelled of stale smoke, outdated/business furniture inside, no real food in restaurant. This property could use a real renovation. Otherwise clean and very friendly/helpful staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lee O
Business
Arlington, VA
Nov 13, 2012

Good location

The staff was very friendly, however the room was not completely clean. Some general maintenance is needed, and there were some places which should have been cleaned better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elmo H
Business
Hilton Head Island
Dec 2, 2013

Good location for an over night stop

It was a generally good experience. The room temperature could have been a little higher at arrival..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top