$113 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 22, 2015 Check-out: May 25, 2015

Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

3 stars
View map of 901 Bank St, Richmond, VA 23219

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jun 1, 2010

was ok

did not have a view. both windows were opened on a wall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston, SC
May 28, 2010

Richmond

Nice, clean, quiet hotel. Location was great, I was in town for a concert and was able to walk to the venue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aussie
Business
cairns aussie
May 19, 2010

value for money

the location was the best I have ever stayed at, right next to the state capitol, best value for suite of rooms,huge rooms and each seperate from each other,very comfortable bed, first class bathroom.Breakfast was very satisfying and great service, also the front desk personnel were very approachable and helpful, would stay again anytime

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aussie
Business
cairns aussie
May 19, 2010

value for money

the location was the best I have ever stayed at, right next to the state capitol, best value for suite of rooms,huge rooms and each seperate from each other,very comfortable bed, first class bathroom.Breakfast was very satisfying and great service, also the front desk personnel were very approachable and helpful, would stay again anytime

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Househunter
Business
Durham, NC
May 16, 2010

Good Hotel for Good Price

I was in Richmond to look for houses as part of my relocation for work. The staff was friendly. The room was clean. I didn't need a large suite and didn't actually use the extra room but the price was lower than the other 3 star hotels so decided to try it. The location is okay - not a far drive to Carytown or Uptown for restaurants/househunting, safe, and with plenty of free parking on the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
May 4, 2010

NASCAR WEEKEND

We were going to arrive @ the hotel late on Friday night, so I called the hotel to notify them that we were going to be late. They had no problem with that @ all. We were visiting Richmond for the Spring NASCAR race & this is a good location for race fans. We stayed in the suite & I highly recommend this style of room. The beds were on the smaller side & not very comfortable but the size of the room compensated for the negative aspects. There was also an enormous (in hotel terms) living area with a pull-out sofa. The valet parking was only $12 & in locked garage across the street. The price was reasonable & there was a woman who worked behind the counter @ the front desk that helped us out with every request that we had. It is also located right across the street from Richmond's capital building & a short drive to other Richmond attractions. Overall I would rate this Hotel a B / B+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Mar 21, 2010

Luxury at a great price

We were in town to see the Broadway Musical "Wicked" and, because of the price I had chosen to stay here. Based on the previous reviews, I was nervous, but because of the charm, willing to take the risk. I chose a suite with a king-sized bed and it had lots of space in ALL of the rooms. The living room had a desk and a table in addition to a couch with a huge ottoman. There was an armoire with a TV, DVD player, microwave, and refrigerator in it. The bathroom had a heated towel holder, which was an extremely nice touch! And the bedroom had plenty of dresser space. We also had a great view of the State Building and the gardens across the street. The downside was that the only parking available was their valet, which cost $12 a night. While that is actually cheap for a downtown hotel, it would have been nice to have alternatives. Also, there were minor cleanliness issues (e.g., streaks on the mirror, a curtain rod loose on the wall), it paled in comparison to all the extra touches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel staff stated that the $12 parking was for the DAY not each time you parked, so if you let the valet park when you first get there, you don't have to worry about finding a parking space. Plus it won't cost you each time you park either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CAA Fan
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Mar 11, 2010

Not bad!

I have stayed at the Commonwealth Suites before. The rooms are nice but the beds aren't too comfortable, but it is a hotel! If you are claustrophobic, don't plan on using the elevators! There are 2 and they are very small and very slow. They seem like they might be the originial elevators that were installed in the 1920's! The hotel really isn't bad and it is nice having a suite at a very affordable rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do your homework on where to eat and the location of the restaurants before you go!! In my experience, Richmond has the worst waitstaff of any city I have ever been to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ranaconda
Business
Lynchburg,Va
Mar 6, 2010

Great Stay, Great Price

It was a very nice hotel. It was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oldmanmountain
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Mar 1, 2010

prime location

old building, possibly historical but fairly recently upgraded room finishes. Nice materials, but not professionally installed: no craftsmanship

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask restaurant patrons about the service. Our experience with servers and bartenders wasn't good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top