$109 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

3 stars
901 Bank St, Richmond, VA 23219
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
56 reviews
Couple staying for one night

Very well staff and the cleanliness was good. However, you can literally hear everything from the... See full review

  • Ashley1234
  • Aug 9, 2014
Decent Hotel-Good Price

Good Experience. Older Hotel. But good location. Can't park you car anywhere. So MUST Valet See full review

  • DrewRudz
  • Jul 28, 2014
Spacious suites and rich history at this Richmond hotel

The historic Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel is located across from the Virginia State Capital building and just a short walk to Richmond's Shockoe Slip and Shockoe Bottom entertainment districts. It is within easy access to most attractions throughout the city, including the Science Museum, the Children's Museum, Lewis Ginter Botanical Gardens, and the Edgar Allen Poe Museum. The hotel was built in 1846 and renovated in 2006. Guests enjoy spacious suites and upscale bedrooms, free wireless Internet, free valet service, and on-site dining.

Highlights
  • Historic hotel with spacious suites
  • Free wireless Internet and free valet service
  • Within walking distance to entertainment district
  • Pets welcome ($50 USD)
Rooms
Many of the rooms and suites offer a view of the State Capitol Park with its beautiful gardens. The spacious suites offer 550 square feet of living space, with separate living and bedroom areas. Each suite includes a sleeper sofa in the living room or an extra bed. Bathrooms include granite counter tops, steel sinks, hairdryers, towel warmers, and bidets. All rooms and suites are equipped with a microwave refrigerator, coffee maker, dining table, and executive desk. Wireless high-speed Internet is offered throughout the hotel.
Features

Amenities include free daily newspaper, free valet service, exercise room with sauna, and a business center. Maxine's Cafe is open for breakfast from 6:30 a.m. to 10 a.m., offering eggs made to order and a full buffet with sausage, bacon, biscuits, gravy, waffles, and fresh fruit. Dinner is served from 5:30 p.m. to 9 p.m. Menu items include appetizers, wraps, salads, sandwiches, entrees, and desserts. The Shockoe Slip area, located less than four blocks away, offers a variety of dining options including Japanese, Italian, American, and seafood.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (7.9 mi/12.7 km)
Business
  • Four meeting rooms, three of the four can combined
  • High-speed Internet access throughout hotel

Hotel Map

37.5384 -77.4357
Nearby airports
Byrd Field/Richmond Intl Airport, (RIC), 9.00, MI, W; Reagan National Airport, (DCA), 90.00, MI, N; Washington Dulles Intl Airport, (IAD), 90.00, MI, N;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel Rooms

Standard
King Bedroom - Spacious bedroom featuring a plush King bed. Executive desk Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp Bidet and Towel warmers and 37 inches flat panel TV.
Standard
Double Bedroom - Spacious bedroom featuring two full sized beds Executive desk .Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp Bidet and Towel warmers and 37 inches flat panel TV.
Standard
Description not provided
Suite
King Suite-Two room suite featuring a living room with sleeper sofa. Executive desk featuring a plush King bed and second TV. Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp. Bidet and Towel warmers and 37" flat panel TV in the bedroom and in the li
Suite
Double Suite-Two room suite featuring a living room with a sleeper sofa. Executive desk. With two plush beds. Lavish European Style bathrooms with Heat Lamp.Bidet and Towel warmers and 37" flat panel TV in the bedroom and in the living room.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Activities
Exercise gym
Sauna
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Porters
Copy service
Audio visual equipment
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Indoor parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible rooms
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Heated guest rooms
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Electronic door locks
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms
Bath tub
Bidet
Trouser press

Nearby points of interest

  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.1 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.4 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.7 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 1.1 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.4 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 2 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 0.1 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 0.4 mi
  • Canal Walk: 0.4 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 0.4 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 0.6 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 0.7 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 0.7 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 0.7 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 1 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 1.1 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 1.1 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 1.4 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 1.5 mi
  • Maymont: 2 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 2.3 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 2.4 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 2.5 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 2.5 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 2.6 mi
  • Carytown: 2.8 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 3.8 mi
  • Virginia House: 3.8 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 4 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 4.1 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 5.8 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 7.6 mi

Dining

Maxines Cafe
Open Mon-Fri 630a-11 5p-10p Sat-Sun 7a-11p 5p-10p Maxines Cafe serving Richmond since 1921 offers a variety of dining choices room service and the best coffee on Bank Street in Richmond.
Maxines Cafe Bar
Open daily 5-9pm

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Househunter
Business
Durham, NC
May 16, 2010

Good Hotel for Good Price

I was in Richmond to look for houses as part of my relocation for work. The staff was friendly. The room was clean. I didn't need a large suite and didn't actually use the extra room but the price was lower than the other 3 star hotels so decided to try it. The location is okay - not a far drive to Carytown or Uptown for restaurants/househunting, safe, and with plenty of free parking on the weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
May 4, 2010

NASCAR WEEKEND

We were going to arrive @ the hotel late on Friday night, so I called the hotel to notify them that we were going to be late. They had no problem with that @ all. We were visiting Richmond for the Spring NASCAR race & this is a good location for race fans. We stayed in the suite & I highly recommend this style of room. The beds were on the smaller side & not very comfortable but the size of the room compensated for the negative aspects. There was also an enormous (in hotel terms) living area with a pull-out sofa. The valet parking was only $12 & in locked garage across the street. The price was reasonable & there was a woman who worked behind the counter @ the front desk that helped us out with every request that we had. It is also located right across the street from Richmond's capital building & a short drive to other Richmond attractions. Overall I would rate this Hotel a B / B+.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA
Mar 21, 2010

Luxury at a great price

We were in town to see the Broadway Musical "Wicked" and, because of the price I had chosen to stay here. Based on the previous reviews, I was nervous, but because of the charm, willing to take the risk. I chose a suite with a king-sized bed and it had lots of space in ALL of the rooms. The living room had a desk and a table in addition to a couch with a huge ottoman. There was an armoire with a TV, DVD player, microwave, and refrigerator in it. The bathroom had a heated towel holder, which was an extremely nice touch! And the bedroom had plenty of dresser space. We also had a great view of the State Building and the gardens across the street. The downside was that the only parking available was their valet, which cost $12 a night. While that is actually cheap for a downtown hotel, it would have been nice to have alternatives. Also, there were minor cleanliness issues (e.g., streaks on the mirror, a curtain rod loose on the wall), it paled in comparison to all the extra touches.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel staff stated that the $12 parking was for the DAY not each time you parked, so if you let the valet park when you first get there, you don't have to worry about finding a parking space. Plus it won't cost you each time you park either.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CAA Fan
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Mar 11, 2010

Not bad!

I have stayed at the Commonwealth Suites before. The rooms are nice but the beds aren't too comfortable, but it is a hotel! If you are claustrophobic, don't plan on using the elevators! There are 2 and they are very small and very slow. They seem like they might be the originial elevators that were installed in the 1920's! The hotel really isn't bad and it is nice having a suite at a very affordable rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do your homework on where to eat and the location of the restaurants before you go!! In my experience, Richmond has the worst waitstaff of any city I have ever been to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ranaconda
Business
Lynchburg,Va
Mar 6, 2010

Great Stay, Great Price

It was a very nice hotel. It was clean and the staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oldmanmountain
Business
Pittsburgh PA
Mar 1, 2010

prime location

old building, possibly historical but fairly recently upgraded room finishes. Nice materials, but not professionally installed: no craftsmanship

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Ask restaurant patrons about the service. Our experience with servers and bartenders wasn't good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northwestern VA
Feb 11, 2010

You get what yoy pay for

Excellent location for my business trip to State Legislative Office. The staff on duty when I cheked in was very welcoming and helpfull. The desk clerk, who seemed to be a manager or owner who was on duty when I left was less friendly and did not have any interest in how my stay was at the hotel although the rest of the staff working in the morning was very friendly and solicitous. The hotel is old and dated, but is what I expected based on price compared to other hotels in immediate area. I arrived at night and the entry foyer to my room was very dark. There was no light in the foyer which made it very difficult to see when entering room, a real safety concern. A wall switch worked the plug for the bedside lamp; however the bedside lamp had been switched off at the lamp and the wall switch had no effect. I had to prop the door open with my luggage to try and find a light in the room so I could see to get in. The room was a reasonable size and genererally clean. The bathroom was up to date and clean. The room had a coffee maker and refrigerator, however the refrigerator had been unpluged and smelled slightly musty as a result. The bed was comfortable but there was an old stain on the corner of the sheet. The heating system was old fashioned and somewhat difficult to regulate, I had to adjust the temperature control several time to keep the room from overheating or becoming too cold. The restaurant is avalable for dinner and breakfast. The food was fair and was probably preprepared, protion controlled based on low usage of the restaurant and the quality of the food. Stick with sandwhiches and salads. Breakfast is avaiable from 6:00 to 10:00 AM , however a computer glitch kept the the morning staff from getting access to the keys for the food storage until almost 7:00 so the hot breakfast food was unavilalbe by time I had to get ready to leave for my morning meeting. In general the hotel was about what I expected for the price I paid in this location. I would recommend it as a good value if you need to be near the State Capiol or offices, however I would recommend having dinner somewhere else. There are several options within five or six blocks, but bad weather made me want to stay in once I was settled.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VCU Grad 12.12.09
Business
Richmond, VA
Dec 15, 2009

Great Graduation Night

Loved the size of the rooms, very comfortable beds...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thepeopleschrissy
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Sep 15, 2009

Beautiful but Infested.

Came to Richmond for a pleasure trip for 3 nights and got a great deal on the room. When we arrived the hotel was beautiful, right across from the capitol, perfect view! The rooms were very spacious and had seperate living and bedrooms. Great decor and I was overall very pleased. Until the second night my boyfriend and I found we had some unwanted visitors in the room. We found spiders around the windows. One of which we're positive was poisonous. After killing two and informing an employee they switched us to another room. This room was not clean, there was used soap in the bathroom with hair on it and suprise, we found spiders in this room as well. On our departure day we told an employee again and spoke to a manager. All we recieved was an "i appologize" and no compensation. They even made me pay for the valet after all of that. Very dissapointed in the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The capitol is directly across from the hotel. I recommend viewing the city on foot or bicycle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Commonwealth Park Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
morgantown wv
Sep 14, 2009

not bad

descent hotel. accurately represented by its website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top