$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

3 stars
9826 Midlothian Turnpike, Richmond, VA 23235-4812
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
40 reviews
PERFECT!!!

It doesn't get any better than this! Spacious, clean room, friendly and helpful staff, a hot... See full review

  • Muleyone
  • Oct 23, 2013
Very Nice Place to Stay

This is a nice, comfortable place to stay. The hotel has somewhat of a castle look with its stone... See full review

  • Tagshots
  • Jun 12, 2014
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn! Come experience what our beautiful city has to offer. We are sure that you will not be disappointed. From Civil War Tours to specialty Museums and Expos, the history is rich near and around our Richmond hotel; making it easy for guest to enjoy the vacation of a lifetime. At our Richmond hotel, the best in the region is minutes away, like the Virginia State Capital,Monument Avenue,Canal Walk, Cary Street, Shockoe Bottom and of course Downtown Richmond. Richmond International Raceway is known for hosting Nascar, which is a speed lovers paradise. Do not forget the events held at the Virginia Commonwealth University and University of Richmond that take place all year round and offer a little something for everybody. The Governor's Inn Hotel mixes the best in hospitality with key locations. From Sportsplex to the Chesterfield Indoor Aquatic Center, it is fun for the whole family just minutes away from this Best Western Plus. The Edgar Allen Poe Museum is a must-stop-and-see, along with the numerous monuments of historical figures to see such as Robert E. Lee and Jefferson Davis. You can create your own historical journey and still have plenty of time left over for Dining and Shopping. When looking for a Richmond hotel that really has it all, you need to consider the highlighted amenities that our hotel has to offer; such as a Luxury Bedding Package and Complimentary Deluxe Hot Breakfast. Start your day with hot eggs, sausage and a waffle maker so that you can make your own waffles just like at home;as well as other breakfast favorites. We want you to make the most of your vacation whether it is going to the Chesterfield County Fair or the Metro Richmond Zoo, you are sure to have a great start to the day. To give you the feel of a home away from home atmosphere, we offer you a Fitness Room, Seasonal Outdoor Pool, Business Center and Free Wi-Fi. Come experience outstanding Customer Service with our staff today!

Hotel Map

37.5057 -77.5758
Area served
Petersburg, Lynchburg, Chesterfield, Chester, Ashland, Washington D.C., Goochland, Mechanicsville-Hanover, Emporia, Williamsburg, Doswell, Cumberland, Midlothian, Glen Allen, Hopewell, Newport News, Norfolk, Amelia Courthouse, Richmond-Downtown Capitol
Nearby airports
(RIC), 17.00, MI, E;
Area description
Suburban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn also booked these hotels.

BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn Rooms

1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NON-SMOKING,REFRIGERATOR,MICROWAVE,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,DELUX,SOFABED,MICRFRG,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NON-SMOKING,REFRIGERATOR,MICROWAVE,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,DELUXE,JACUZZI,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,SOFABED,JACUZZI,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NO SMOKING,FLAT SCREEN TV,SOFABED,MICRFG,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SEP LVNG AREA,SOFABED,MICR RFRG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,SMOKING,MICROWAVE REFRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,MOBILITY ACCESSIBLE,BATHTUB,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Electronic door locks
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 3.2 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 5.1 mi
  • Virginia House: 5.2 mi
  • Maymont: 6 mi
  • Carytown: 6 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 6.6 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 6.6 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 6.8 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 7 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 7.2 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 7.2 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 7.4 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 7.4 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 7.4 mi
  • Cinebistro at Stony Point Fashion Park: 3.2 mi
  • Agecroft Hall: 5.1 mi
  • Virginia House: 5.2 mi
  • Maymont: 6 mi
  • Carytown: 6 mi
  • Byrd Theater: 6.3 mi
  • Virginia Museum of Fine Arts: 6.6 mi
  • Monument Avenue: 6.6 mi
  • Virginia Historical Society: 6.8 mi
  • Hollywood Cemetery: 7 mi
  • Children's Museum of Richmond: 7.2 mi
  • Science Museum of Virginia: 7.2 mi
  • Virginia War Memorial: 7.4 mi
  • Landmark Theater: 7.4 mi
  • American Civil War Center at Historic Tredegar: 7.4 mi
  • Stuart C. Siegel Center: 7.5 mi
  • Canal Walk: 8.1 mi
  • Virginia Capitol Building: 8.1 mi
  • Maggie L. Walker National Historic Site: 8.2 mi
  • Richmond Coliseum: 8.2 mi
  • The Museum of the Confederacy: 8.4 mi
  • Virginia Holocaust Museum: 8.4 mi
  • Edgar Allan Poe Museum: 8.4 mi
  • St. John's Episcopal Church: 8.8 mi
  • Richmond National Battlefield Park: 9.1 mi
  • Richmond International Raceway: 10.6 mi
  • Virginia Aviation Museum: 13.3 mi

Dining

Breakers Sports Grill
1.8 mile(s) from Breakers Sports Grill, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
T.G.I. Friday's®
1.00 mile(s) from T.G.I. Friday's®, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Extra Billy's Smokehouse
2.6 mile(s) from Extra Billy's Smokehouse, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Famous Daves BBQ
0.53 mile(s) from Famous Daves BBQ, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Apollo's
0.56 mile(s) from Apollo's, Fast Food, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Pescado's
3.9 mile(s) from Pescado's, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Texas Roadhouse
2.4 mile(s) from Texas Roadhouse, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Padow's Hams and Deli
Adjacent to Padow's Hams and Deli, Deli, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Shops at Bellgrade
2.00 mile(s) from Shops at Bellgrade, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Featuring Bottega Bistro-Italian Full Service, Ruth Chris Steak House, River City Diner, a 50's 60's style restaurant serving all meals not just lunch and dinner.
El Paso
2.3 mile(s) from El Paso, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (40)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tagshots
Chillicothe, OH
Jun 12, 2014

Very Nice Place to Stay

This is a nice, comfortable place to stay. The hotel has somewhat of a castle look with its stone and brick interior. Very different. The bed was super comfortable with nice bedding & plenty of pillows. Slept very well all 3 nights. Bathrooms looked fairly recently remodeled with a modern look. Attractive. The room was large. Had a mini-fridge, microwave, coffee-maker & nice size flat screen tv. And the rooms were well-maintained. Breakfast was free and included hot items like eggs and make-it-yourself waffles. There was a good variety of cereals, fruit, muffins, bagels and of course tea and coffee. The dining room was a good size. Any of the staff we encountered were really friendly and helpful. It sits back off the Midlothian Turnpike a bit so you don't hear the traffic. It's near an Olive Garden and there's a nice indoor mall about 2 miles away and plenty of restaurants to choose from. If you don't want to stay right in Richmond this is a good choice at a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hollywood Cemetery in Richmond is incredible. You can see where Jefferson Davis, James Monroe and John Tyler are buried. There is also a nice view of the city. The place is HUGE with so many amazing mausoleums, statues and monuments. It could take days to see all of it. Well worth a trip even for an hour.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tagshots
Chillicothe, OH
Jun 8, 2014

Good, Solid Hotel Choice

Every staff member we encountered was really nice & helpful. Comfortable bed. Very clean. Looks like the bathrooms had been fairly recently renovated. Lots of choices on the free breakfast bar including eggs and waffles. Hotel reminds you of a castle, somewhat, with it's interesting brick & stonework inside. Nicely maintained. Sits back off the main drag which makes for a quiet setting. Plenty of things to do within steps of the hotel and on down a couple miles is a very nice indoor mall. Really good choice if you don't want to stay in downtown Richmond.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

There are so many cool things to see that aren't "big" attractions: See where Patrick Henry gave his "Give me liberty, or give me death" speech, the Hollywood Cemetery is phenomenal, the giant Indian head overlooking the James, the art wall along the river, the Edgar Allan Poe Museum....

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
SDG Va
chesapeake,va
May 6, 2014

average decent clean place to sleep

There were many areas of obvious patches throughout the hotel. Including a 3/4 inch bump under the carpet in our room. Another guest was quoted a rate $22 per night lower than what I prepaid through a discount site" Orb***". Overall clean and staff was very friendly but not worth what I paid, I would have been satisfied at the lower rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lupt
Charlotte NC
Mar 24, 2014

Weekend

Was in town for training and needed a place to stay for one night. Hotel was ok for the price. I was booked in a smoking room and it smelled horrible. Hotel was full so I couldn't change rooms. Breakfast was lacking many healthy options. But the staff was very friendly and the room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Muleyone
Maryland
Oct 23, 2013

PERFECT!!!

It doesn't get any better than this! Spacious, clean room, friendly and helpful staff, a hot breakfast,, and a restaurant and nightclub for entertainment. And all of this at a moderate price that beats the competition. Looking forward to future stays at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When visiting Richmond, make sure you visit Saint John's church where Patrick Henry said "Give me liberty or give me death." Afterwards, visit the "Patrick Henry's Inn" a block away for a great snack or a full meal

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Medic 971
Business
Va Beach
Mar 25, 2013

Good experience

I needed to stay in the immediate area for the night and this hotel was the closest. I noted it had decent ratings and was cheaper than other hotels near by so I picked it. Overall it was a decent clean facility with no surprises. There are two main buildings and the main building with the office has a night club and is quite loud. Make sure you do as I did and select a room in the building away from the club. The manager was very accomidating to this request. For the price and location I am quite satisfied with the short stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
oneqkbenz
Business
Fayetteville, NC
Mar 21, 2013

Quiet business setting

Stayed one night studying for contractor's exam. Nice and quiet. Close to exam site.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chuckiefields
Richmond, VA
Dec 11, 2012

great overnight stay

Very clean room, pleasantly surprised. Very comfortable bed. Location is just far out enough to avoid the city rush.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great food

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NRob
Burlington, NJ
Nov 28, 2012

Nice experience!

We really enjoyed our stay. The complimentary breakfast was one of the best I've ever had at a hotel. The location was perfect with lots of places to shop and eat. I would definitely recommend this hotel to family and friends. The decor was different but rather classy. Thanks for the warm hospitality. NRob- NJ

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Governor's Inn

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
coolblases
southwestern, virginia
Nov 19, 2012

Great Value in this room for the price!

This stay was prabably my sixth time at the Best Western. It is always quiet which is priority number one to me. Secondly, It is clean and it comes with all of the amenities I need. Anything else that I could need, I just call the front desk and they will help me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

so many restaurants and shopping within 5 minutes drive.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search