$112 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 16, 2014 Check-out: Oct 19, 2014

Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
65 reviews
Great charming hotel!

Very pleasant four night stay. The concierge both during the day and night shift were friendly and... See full review

  • anthropologistNV
  • Dec 3, 2011
No frills, but not a problem!

You would have a hard time not noticing that The Tazewell Hotel is old. But what it lacks in modern... See full review

  • Norfolk Visitor
  • Nov 15, 2011
The Tazewell is located in the heart of downtown Norfolks theater, entertainment and historic business districts. Hotel is convenient to I-264 and is within short walking distance of most Corporate/Government offices, the Waterside Festival Marketplace, MacArthur Center Mall, the Battleship Wisconsin, Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center as well as all area attractions, the Virginia Beach oceanfront and naval bases. Sterlings Restaurant and the Empire Little Bar and Bistro complete the hotels storefront. The Tazewell Hotel and Suites is a perfect choice for small groups, weddings, meetings and banquets. Pet accommodation: 25.00 usd per night per pet. Pet limit: 2 pets per room under 25 pounds. Off-site parking available at 15.00/night per vehicle.

Hotel Map

36.8498 -76.2906
Nearby airports
Norfolk Int'l Airport, (ORF), 6.80, MI, W; Newport News/Wmsbg Intl Arpt, (PHF), 28.70, MI, W; Richmond Int'l. Airport, (RIC), 94.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Tazewell St

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Norfolk Scope: 0.3 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 0.7 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 2.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (65)

Ratings and reviews for Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
metamorfosis
Business
USA
Apr 9, 2008

Quaint It Ain't

This quaint property ends at the door. Staff is very courteous but the property need some TLC. Great central downtown location. If you have a car, parking is a block away and will cost you, as with most downtown located properties in larger cities. I was there on business so it was OK for my needs but would not take my wife for a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurants all along the same street, Great shopping 1 block away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 5, 2008

Very nice place to stay

The Tazwell and Suites is located downtown Norfolk. The Staff were vere friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and clean and very comfortable. I liked the contiental breakfast. There are several restaurants nearby for easy dining. I liked the fact that i could walk to whatever shopping i wanted to do. I would recommend this hotel to all that visit Norfolk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall,restaurants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Oct 1, 2007

All around wonderful experience!!

The Tazewell Hotel & Suites was a pleasure to do business with as well as to a lovely place to stay. It is beautiful and the staff was available for any questions and requests I had were attended to promptly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There is alot to do within walking distance of the Tazewell. A large shopping mall, many eateries, music venues, nightlife, etc. A great location to explore downtown Norfolk!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Norfolk, VA
Sep 2, 2007

great getaway

The front desk staff was very friendly. Accomodated our every need. The room was clean, and very comfortable! We were in a suite and had our own Living/sitting area and a seperate bedroom.... It was a quick getaway in our own backyard for me and my friend..not having any worries, we lounged, walked and ate. Just what the doctor ordered!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of small cafe's in walking distance...I felt like I was in the Village!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Aug 30, 2007

My review of Tazewell Hotel & Suites

I was unable to even check in at this hotel. It was suppose to be an airport hotel. Not even close. On top of that, I go to check in at 10pm after a long day. There was no parking garage...it is located two blocks away. I had luggage and when I called the front desk to see how I was suppose to carry it in they said there was loading zone. There was not. The hotel bar was packed and motorcycles were parked in front and on the side. I drove around the block four times. I finally left and I had to pay for another room close to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search