$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2014 Check-out: Aug 29, 2014

Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
64 reviews
Great charming hotel!

Very pleasant four night stay. The concierge both during the day and night shift were friendly and... See full review

  • anthropologistNV
  • Dec 3, 2011
No frills, but not a problem!

You would have a hard time not noticing that The Tazewell Hotel is old. But what it lacks in modern... See full review

  • Norfolk Visitor
  • Nov 15, 2011
The Tazewell is located in the heart of downtown Norfolks theater, entertainment and historic business districts. Hotel is convenient to I-264 and is within short walking distance of most Corporate/Government offices, the Waterside Festival Marketplace, MacArthur Center Mall, the Battleship Wisconsin, Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center as well as all area attractions, the Virginia Beach oceanfront and naval bases. Sterlings Restaurant and the Empire Little Bar and Bistro complete the hotels storefront. The Tazewell Hotel and Suites is a perfect choice for small groups, weddings, meetings and banquets. Pet accommodation: 25.00 usd per night per pet. Pet limit: 2 pets per room under 25 pounds. Off-site parking available at 15.00/night per vehicle.

Hotel Map

36.8498 -76.2906
Nearby airports
Norfolk Int'l Airport, (ORF), 6.80, MI, W; Newport News/Wmsbg Intl Arpt, (PHF), 28.70, MI, W; Richmond Int'l. Airport, (RIC), 94.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Tazewell St

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Norfolk Scope: 0.3 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 0.7 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 2.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
64 out of 64
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carol-Navy Mom
Chattanooga, TN
Aug 2, 2009

Classic Hotel, Unbeatable Location

I absolutely loved this hotel and it definitely has a European Classic feel to it. The room needed minor maintenance, but not enough to detract from my enjoyment. This is a 1906 hotel which has had renovations and as with any old building there will always be small details to be attended too. I personally loved the beautiful carpeted stairs that you can use if you don't want to wait on the elevators. I can't imagine a better place to stay while in Norfolk. We were there to welcome my Navy son back from an overseas deployment. This downtown location provides easy access to reach the base and all of the other surrounding Norfolk area with ease. One step outside the hotel you can find everything you need within a short walk. Numerous restaurants, theater, art district and a huge 3 story mall 1 block away. I will stay at The Tazewell Hotel on my next trip to Norfolk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Aug 2, 2009

Terrible!

They entire carpet was wet, very noisy, only one elevator worked, fire alarm kept going off, cleaning lady kept knock on my door eventhough I had the "DO NOT DISTURB" sign up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars, restaurants, mall all within walking distance.

Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
north carolina
Aug 2, 2009

Geat locaton & price

Great location. My husband & I went for the Cajun Festival at the waterfront. We had about a 4 block walk & it was only a block from Macarthur Shopping mall. It was clean & our room had a king bed. You can tell it is a very old hotel but it was fine. If you are looking for luxurious then this is not for you. Overall we had a pleasant stay & would go back. Great price too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ODU mom
Northern Virginia
Jul 26, 2009

Great location

Hotel staff helpful Close to ODU and walking distance to waterfront, lots of restaurants

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Two restaurants accessible (but not affiliated) to hotel

Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
Jul 25, 2009

A Classic Establishment

A classic environment plus a friendly staff in the traditional restaurant row makes the stay enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chester va
Jul 18, 2009

great location...great service

Lots of things to do and places to eat within walking distance. Many shopping areas including huge mall. Very friendly hotel service...everyone was very nice. Good size rooms. Would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 17, 2009

Great location and price

Attended a convention that was headquartered at the Norfolk Marriot. The Tazewell was less than a 10 minute walk to the Marriot. Really appreciated the complimentary breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas,TX
Jul 14, 2009

Could be European!

WIsh I could be more positive. This Hotel is on the bottom of my list. Just barely a 2 star!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southern Pines, NC
Jul 12, 2009

Location, location, location!

We were at the Tazewell Hotel for the wedding of my older son at the Wells Theater a block away. The staff were SO supportive of the wedding! Any little thing they could do - from the loan of some scotch tape to moving refrigerators into rooms to hold flowers overnight - ANYTHING - made us feel that we had a third "family" working on the arrangements - the bride's family, the groom's family and the Tazewell family. The hotel is old-fashioned and quirky, with a ghost in the elevator and two wonderful gathering spots for our group of 30 or so to play cards, stuff pinatas or review checklists. I simply can't say enough about the experience. I will never stay any other place when in Norfolk. (Except at my sister's house, when invited.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Tazewell is a block from the huge MacArthur Center shopping mall, two blocks from the pier and right in the middle of the theatre district.

Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Melbourne, FL
Jul 6, 2009

Did not like my stay

The hotel was older and the rooms smelled accordingly. The elevator was very close to being out of order every time we got on. My door frame looked like it had previously had the door kicked in. The continental breakfast consisted of cereal and yogurt which had the milk and yogurt on ice and past the expiration. The waffle maker and toaster did not work. The wireless in the room was shoddy and the one computer in their "business center" was just as slow. Hope you don't need to print anything using their printer. It took 20 minutes for the printer to print 1 page. I would in no way say that this hotel is a luxury hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

McArthur Center Mall one block over.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search