$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 3, 2015 Check-out: Apr 6, 2015

Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
View map of 245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
69 out of 69
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zorg
Minnesota
Aug 12, 2012

Old but good - excellent location

Room: immaculately clean. Shower was flaky but all the hot water anyone could want - and I wanted a lot. Internet: wireless fast and no glitches and no fees. Bed: super comfortable - and they didn't pile on all those extra bolsters and covers and such that annoy me so much at some of the similar-or-higher-priced chains . Sleep experience: OK - a small bit of noise from the neighborhood and some creaks and groans from the old building or the plumbing or something. Staff: very polite and helpful. Watched my baggage for 3-4 hours after checkout - gave valuable info about neighborhood, dining, local transit. Location: heart of old downtown Norfolk -- good for business with local government, various banks and other corps with downtown headquarters, events, touristy stuff , especially the Nautica museum and the old battleship USS Wisconsin, and shopping (not my thing) Public transport: good, but only hourly service to the Norfolk Naval Station. (and the other nearby NAVY bases in Portsmouth and Newport News). The local light rail goes nowhere for visitors, but the Monticello Station nearby is the most conveneint place to buy a 1 or 3 day pass that can get you anywhere in Hampton Roads by bus (but slowly). There is NO public transport to ORF airport - you have to take a cab or have a car rental. I flew out from PHF - a 2 hour ride on public buses. Amenities: not much - The breakfast coffee and juice good - the prepackaged pastry - bagel -fruit - OK. No pool nor such stuff. For what I wanted and hoped for it was a real good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nautica Naval Museum with tours of the preserved WWII battleship USS Wisconsin. Also near a big shopping place whose name I forget.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
hampton va
Jun 27, 2011

Excellent

What an excellent experience from the time I checked. In and out we treated like royalty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport News, VA
May 22, 2011

New Year's Eve

Stayed for New Year's Eve...location convenient to Granby Street. Parking available next door. Pets are allowed so not the best smelling hotel. Not much to the rooms but we really weren't there for the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is on Granby Street which is the hub of Norfolk nightlife. Plenty of places to eat nearby also.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEWPORT NEWS, VA
Mar 22, 2011

TAZEWELL

IT WAS NICE, BUT BED WAS BROKEN AND PILLOWS WERE FLAT AND REMOTE DIDN'T WORK

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rokmonky
Business
Prescott, AZ
Nov 3, 2010

Experience the Old Town character

I was in Norfolk for a friend's wedding. Everyone else stayed 4 or 5 blocks up the street at the Marriot. It was too pricey for me so I looked for something close by that was more affordable. How lucky I feel to have found the Tazewell Hotel. This jewel is located right in the heart of active, historic downtown Norfolk. The 7-story building is beautiful with an ornate brick & stone veneer and large doublehung windows with period detailing. The interior decor exudes a subdued, old elegance. The lounge area adjacent to the lobby, with its 2-story high ceiling and oversized windows facing out to the street, was a very comfortable place to sit and relax while filling out a wedding card and wrapping a gift. My room was on the 3rd floor. It was simple and clean, yet did not feel like the bland, generic rooms you're used to in any of the chain hotels. There were two, large, doublehung windows that looked down onto the street below where you could watch people coming and going. The bathroom was huge and nicely finished with granite tile floors and vanity. The bed was very comfortable with a thick, soft comforter that made it hard to get up in the mornings. The whole building just had this unique character about it that was directely related to the surrounding character of historic Norfolk. I was surprised that within 30 minutes of checking in, I felt like I belonged there. The quirkiness of this old building, like the creaks of the wooden stairway, only added to the richness of this experience. The small shops, restaurants, & bars of the streetscape right outside the front entrance felt like they were my living room. The location and character of the Tazewell really plugged me in to the town. To be completely fair, I should include something that could have been improved upon. The bathroom in my room really needed to have more towel hooks or bars around. In such a large room, the one they provided over the toilet was not enough. There needed to be one by the vanity and at least two on the wall by the shower. Also my room door (Rm. 309) had some previous repair work done on the hinges and would stick at the top of the frame when closed. Some of the door's laminate was no longer adhered. The door needed to be replaced completely. With that said, I would still stay here again without thinking twice if I ever come back to Norfolk. Finally, all my friends at the Marriot were extremely jealous b/c I had free wi-fi internet access and a complimentary, continental breakfast every morning. They had the luxury of paying for both if they wanted to enjoy them, along with paying considerably more per night for their rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The parking garage on Freemason St. about a block & a half away from the Tazewell charges $3 upon entry. They have an entire fee structure posted based on how long you park, and they charge a maximum of $12 per day. However the attendant woman told me that they close the booth and leave the exit gate up from the hours of about 2am to about 9am. She said if you drive your car out while the booth is closed, you won't be charged anything more. She was right. I parked on Friday evening, paid the $3, and picked the car up on Sunday morning before 9am. The rest of the morning I parked at a metered spot along the curb close to the Tazewell for free b/c they don't ticket on Sundays. My friends at the Marriot paid about $30 to park for the same amount of time in their parking garage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Albuquerque, NM
Jun 13, 2010

Great location for the price!

Quaint hotel in the middle of downtown. Lots to see within walking distance. Less than 5 minute walking distance from cruise ships dock.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The pizza place next door had great food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
El Centro, Ca
Apr 12, 2010

Very great stay. Comfortable, friendly.

This hotel is located around everything! There's a pub across the street and food so close by. It was very nice and felt very welcoming. The staff were all very nice and polite. I wish to stay here again soon. It was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Right on the strip of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
virogenix
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
Mar 27, 2010

Tazewell of Norfolk

The Tazewell of Norfolk had friendly staff, much to their credit... The rooms were mediocre and the bathroom fixtures were broken/not maintainenced. There was no available parking, which was not indicated up front. Travelling in a Van, we found it difficult to secure parking and were forced to use the Mall Parking Garage and to pay the overnight fees that were included. From the Garage, we were forced to carry our own bags from the mall to the hotel - a few blocks walk. The 'complimentary' breakfast was even more dismal. Serving cold cereal, coffee, and English Muffins (the toaster was also not working)it was at least -something- after a night at an amazing concert.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The NorVa is a short walk from this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hampton, VA
Feb 15, 2010

Oldy but Not Goody

Exterme difficulty finding vacant loading zone for checkin; No parking available except ON-street and pay parking garages; Door jam inadequate with excess space at security chain; No microwave or refrigerator in room for that price; No SECURITY in sight!!! Homeless persons loitering in checkin lobby and outside entrance doors;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
med nomad
Business
Louisville, KY
Jan 26, 2010

Tazewell

Pleasant staff. Great location. Clean rooms. Rooms were not very fancy and neither was the hotel but it got the job done. Bring your laptop b/c the "business center" is just a small room with a computer that has shotty internet service. The mall is literally a 45 second walk from the hotel and the hotel is right smack downtown so you are surrounded by shopping and great places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mley
Business
Virginia
Sep 9, 2009

Decent Stay

The hotel was easy to find, despite heavy construction in the Downtown Norfolk area. We were in town for a wedding and needed an early check-in and the hotel staff accommodated our request. The hotel is in the middle of downtown, which is great; however, the noise at night was a little much. The breakfast in the morning was nice, though there was not much seating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The hotel charges $15/day for parking in the city lot. If you are just planning on parking and leaving your car there over night, the garage only charges $5. Only buy the pass from the hotel if you plan on going in and out of the parking garage.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top