$89 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

3 stars
245 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
106 reviews
Downtown Norfolk

Great hotel and great location for a business traveler with meetings in the downtown area. See full review

  • NCtravelgal
  • Jan 14, 2013
Great charming hotel!

Very pleasant four night stay. The concierge both during the day and night shift were friendly and... See full review

  • anthropologistNV
  • Dec 3, 2011
The Tazewell is located in the heart of downtown Norfolks theater, entertainment and historic business districts. Hotel is convenient to I-264 and is within short walking distance of most Corporate/Government offices, the Waterside Festival Marketplace, MacArthur Center Mall, the Battleship Wisconsin, Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center as well as all area attractions, the Virginia Beach oceanfront and naval bases. Sterlings Restaurant and the Empire Little Bar and Bistro complete the hotels storefront. The Tazewell Hotel and Suites is a perfect choice for small groups, weddings, meetings and banquets. Pet accommodation: 25.00 usd per night per pet. Pet limit: 2 pets per room under 25 pounds. Off-site parking available at 15.00/night per vehicle.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Vending machines
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Iron
Wet bar

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.8498 -76.2906
Nearby airports
Norfolk Int'l Airport, (ORF), 6.80, MI, W; Newport News/Wmsbg Intl Arpt, (PHF), 28.70, MI, W; Richmond Int'l. Airport, (RIC), 94.00, MI, W;
Area description
City Center, Tazewell St

Nearby points of interest

  • Norfolk Scope: 0.3 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 0.7 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 2.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.8

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anthropologistNV
New York, NY, USA
Dec 3, 2011

Great charming hotel!

Very pleasant four night stay. The concierge both during the day and night shift were friendly and always professional. Clean hotel, at the heart of downtown Norfolk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Truetone
Honolulu
Jun 6, 2014

A gem in the rough but still rough

This is a cool building. Has old fashioned style and se great features, the primary one is its neighborhood and it's staff. The lobby has some cool furniture and it also has a mezzanine that is cool but they have done nothing with it. They gave me a room where the AC unit was leaking. I told them and they fixed it right away. Staff was really nice and helpful in every way: meals , directions, askin advice about arts as part of urban landscape ( part of my expertise). They could make this place a destination

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Granby bistro has a great Greek breakdast

Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cswchef
Ft lauderdale fl
May 18, 2014

Great location

After booking online in the parking lot I walked in and was told my room was not ready and they would call me when it was available check in was 3 pm and I commented on the fact that it was after 3 I was called and my room was available for the price it was a good experience. A little old but comfortable my only complaint was the water pressure in the shower. They put me on the top floor and the pressure was really bad. The location is perfect for the night life that Norfolk has to offer

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great restaurant in the lobby. Quality food.

Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
davidrory
Ireland
Apr 14, 2014

Location, location.

We had a room with twin doubles. It was clean, comfortable and had good vacillates. WiFi, TV, Coffee. Being an older building there were a few rough edges but for the price and wonderful central location those were easy to ignore. There was an issue with noise from people in the room above butt that was not the hotel's fault. For those on a budget who want to visit downtown Norfolk I'd recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the Battleship Wisconsin three minutes walk from the hotel. Truly awesome and I mean awe inspiring.

Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
boundfor70
bethesda, maryland
Oct 13, 2013

good hotel

I have stayed here because virginia beach hotel is extremely expensive. Here is very easy to access to the beach and price is reasonable. I think there is a value to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
boundfor70
bethesda, maryland
Aug 13, 2013

location only

The location is good, near MacArthur center and greyhound bus station. However, it is only thing I can recommend. The room is very noisy. I heard footstep from the upper room overnight and hard to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Average Joe's
Tennessee
Jul 29, 2013

not impressed

At first glance.... Very Unhappy.. Elevators where old, slow and dirty... NO VENDING.. all empty or sold out.. Marble floors in bathroom were nice.. need floor mats for slippage! PARKING EXTRA AND VERY SCARY WALK AT NITE!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Not even close to what I expected.

Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NCtravelgal
Business
North Carolina
Jan 14, 2013

Downtown Norfolk

Great hotel and great location for a business traveler with meetings in the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zorg
Minnesota
Aug 12, 2012

Old but good - excellent location

Room: immaculately clean. Shower was flaky but all the hot water anyone could want - and I wanted a lot. Internet: wireless fast and no glitches and no fees. Bed: super comfortable - and they didn't pile on all those extra bolsters and covers and such that annoy me so much at some of the similar-or-higher-priced chains . Sleep experience: OK - a small bit of noise from the neighborhood and some creaks and groans from the old building or the plumbing or something. Staff: very polite and helpful. Watched my baggage for 3-4 hours after checkout - gave valuable info about neighborhood, dining, local transit. Location: heart of old downtown Norfolk -- good for business with local government, various banks and other corps with downtown headquarters, events, touristy stuff , especially the Nautica museum and the old battleship USS Wisconsin, and shopping (not my thing) Public transport: good, but only hourly service to the Norfolk Naval Station. (and the other nearby NAVY bases in Portsmouth and Newport News). The local light rail goes nowhere for visitors, but the Monticello Station nearby is the most conveneint place to buy a 1 or 3 day pass that can get you anywhere in Hampton Roads by bus (but slowly). There is NO public transport to ORF airport - you have to take a cab or have a car rental. I flew out from PHF - a 2 hour ride on public buses. Amenities: not much - The breakfast coffee and juice good - the prepackaged pastry - bagel -fruit - OK. No pool nor such stuff. For what I wanted and hoped for it was a real good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nautica Naval Museum with tours of the preserved WWII battleship USS Wisconsin. Also near a big shopping place whose name I forget.

Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
zorg
Minnesota
Aug 9, 2012

Old but good

This is a small old hotel right near the waterfront. The staff were, of course, helpful but even more so than what I get at the big pricey chains. Cleaner than clean - beds are -- well, I slept real good. Free internet works well and it is free. Not like the big chain place I stayed 3 days before where they advertised wifi but it cost me 15 bucks and a lot of spam after. But the place is old - well refurbished but old. Would I stay there again if in Norfolk -- for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Nautica museum and preserved battleship about 5 blocks walk

Review of Tazewell Hotel Downtown, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SizlsGirl
Williamsburg, VA, USA
Jul 24, 2012

Great spot

This is a great spot for attending concerts at Norva as it is only a 2 block walk. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Found parking just a block away for $12/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top