$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Norfolk Waterside Marriott

3 stars
235 E Main Street, 232 East Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
24 reviews
Great

hotel and staff is remarkable! had a pleasant and wonderful staying See full review

  • Manny2014
  • Feb 9, 2013
Warm and friendly and very helpful

I arrived late and the front desk was so helpful. I was offered my choice of a free drink and food... See full review

  • Paperclip
  • Jul 20, 2012
Immerse yourself in luxury accommodations combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a Norfolk, VA hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel offers guests a vibrant, revitalized waterfront area with an abundance of entertainment options. From its conveniently connected Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Childrens Museum of Virginia, Naval Station Norfolk and Virginia Zoo, this Marriott is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier downtown Norfolk hotel fitness center, complete with personal workout TVs, or relax at Shulas 347, an on-site restaurant serving world-class cuisine. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or enjoy luxurious weddings and formal business meetings in our ballroom with 60,000 square feet of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott.

Hotel Map

36.8459 -76.2911
Area served
Located in the center of downtown
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport, (ORF), 9.00, MI, W; Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport, (PHF), 28.00, MI, SE;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Norfolk Waterside Marriott also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Norfolk Scope: 0.5 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 0.9 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 2.7 mi

Dining

Shula's 347
Exclusively serves Premium Angus Beef® burgers and steaks, the best beef money can buy.
The Piano Lounge
Adorned with rich leather chairs where you can enjoy an evening cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schindig
Bristow, VA
Apr 4, 2010

Nice clean room, great location

We only stayed one night so we did not get a chance to experience many of the amenities. However the room was very nice and the location is great. Recommend not using the valet ($24) when there is a parking garage across the street for ($12).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to MacArthur Center Mall (highly recommend Kincaids restaurant on first floor of the mall, expensive but food is out of this world). Also walking distance to Waterside and the bars on Granby street.

Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schindig
Bristow, VA
Apr 4, 2010

Nice clean room, great location

We only stayed one night so we did not get a chance to experience many of the amenities. However the room was very nice and the location is great. Recommend not using the valet ($24) when there is a parking garage across the street for ($12).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to MacArthur Center Mall (highly recommend Kincaids restaurant on first floor of the mall, expensive but food is out of this world). Also walking distance to Waterside and the bars on Granby street.

Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Neck, VA
Oct 27, 2009

Perfect for what we were looking for

I had read reviews about this hotel and it was what I had expected from the reviews. The beds! most comfortable! check in and out easy! Did not see much of the hotel, but the lobby was beautiful. Vending/Ice area very small and would not take my dollar for a soda, but the trip to that area, provided me and my sister a very funny memory that should have been caught on tape! Our room was very nice. Whatever they clean with or freshen the room with bothered me a little but not enough to complain. The hotel met our needs perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything one would want to do at Waterside is just a short walk away.

Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Neck, VA
Oct 27, 2009

Perfect for what we were looking for

I had read reviews about this hotel and it was what I had expected from the reviews. The beds! most comfortable! check in and out easy! Did not see much of the hotel, but the lobby was beautiful. Vending/Ice area very small and would not take my dollar for a soda, but the trip to that area, provided me and my sister a very funny memory that should have been caught on tape! Our room was very nice. Whatever they clean with or freshen the room with bothered me a little but not enough to complain. The hotel met our needs perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything one would want to do at Waterside is just a short walk away.

Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blackbottom
Business
Midlothian Virginia
Sep 13, 2009

Very Pleasant

Very pleasant and productive visit with associates and friends. Accomodations and services were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the heart of the downtown and nightlife.

Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blackbottom
Business
Midlothian Virginia
Sep 13, 2009

Very Pleasant

Very pleasant and productive visit with associates and friends. Accomodations and services were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the heart of the downtown and nightlife.

Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Sep 6, 2009

Afram Festival

We had a good time, hotel centrally located to shooping and dinning areas. The kids had fun in the indoor pool as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Richmond, VA
Sep 6, 2009

Afram Festival

We had a good time, hotel centrally located to shooping and dinning areas. The kids had fun in the indoor pool as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Loveland
Jun 8, 2008

Heart of Downtown and near the action

The beds are very comfortable that you melt away. The location is everything with this property, it is dead middle of the action held downtown. And you are not very far from the beach, but your still close to water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hell's Kitchen, Baxters Sports Bar, Fish, Baker's Crust

Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Loveland
Jun 8, 2008

Heart of Downtown and near the action

The beds are very comfortable that you melt away. The location is everything with this property, it is dead middle of the action held downtown. And you are not very far from the beach, but your still close to water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hell's Kitchen, Baxters Sports Bar, Fish, Baker's Crust

Back to menu Return to top