$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Norfolk Waterside Marriott

3 stars
235 E Main Street, 232 East Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
14 reviews
Warm and friendly and very helpful

I arrived late and the front desk was so helpful. I was offered my choice of a free drink and food... See full review

  • Paperclip
  • Jul 20, 2012
Great stay!

I have stayed at this hotel once before, and this second time around was even better! Spent New... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jan 5, 2011
Immerse yourself in luxury accommodations combined with traditional charm at Norfolk Waterside Marriott, a Norfolk, VA hotel set in the heart of the historic district. Located on the picturesque Elizabeth River, our Norfolk, Virginia hotel offers guests a vibrant, revitalized waterfront area with an abundance of entertainment options. From its conveniently connected Waterside Convention Center to the nearby Childrens Museum of Virginia, Naval Station Norfolk and Virginia Zoo, this Marriott is ideal for business or leisure guests. Stay active at our premier downtown Norfolk hotel fitness center, complete with personal workout TVs, or relax at Shulas 347, an on-site restaurant serving world-class cuisine. Plan intimate outdoor gatherings on our sixth-floor Riverview Terrace or enjoy luxurious weddings and formal business meetings in our ballroom with 60,000 square feet of premier Norfolk hotel event space. For unrivaled lodging on the vibrant waterfront, look no further than Norfolk Waterside Marriott.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Norfolk Waterside Marriott also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Tennis
Water skiing
Horseback riding
Scuba diving
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Video checkout
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Cribs available
In room movies
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Norfolk Scope: 0.5 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 0.9 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 1.7 mi
  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 2.7 mi

Dining

Shula's 347
Exclusively serves Premium Angus Beef® burgers and steaks, the best beef money can buy.
The Piano Lounge
Adorned with rich leather chairs where you can enjoy an evening cocktail.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (14)

Ratings and reviews for Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
14 out of 14
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paperclip
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 20, 2012

Warm and friendly and very helpful

I arrived late and the front desk was so helpful. I was offered my choice of a free drink and food which was brought up to my room on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
smkozlow
Business
Pinehurst, NC
Jul 15, 2014

Expensive for what we got

We were kind of turned off from this hotel from the moment we arrived because there was a ton of road construction and hotel remodeling going on. We had to park in a public garage (what the hotel calls their self-parking) but the walkway to the hotel was closed so we had to get all our kids and gear back down to the busy street and across. The room itself was okay. The bedroom part was pretty nice and had been updated recently. The bathroom, however, was a different story. The tile in the shower was old and chipped and the grout was moldy. The floor was also sticky, although that was resolved after our first night. The other issue we had was LOUD neighbors. We were in a room with a connecting door to the next room, which might have been the reason that sound traveled so easily between rooms. Regardless, it's hard to have something positive to say about a hotel when you get less than 5 hours of sleep two nights in a row :( Our final issue was the price. We paid more to get a water view room, but our water view was not ideal. If we looked between two building, we could see a little water. Beyond that even, the price was high for all the inconveniences with construction and renovations. It would be nice if Marriott would offset the inconveniences with a cheaper price or at a minimum free wi-fi or breakfast coupons. Anything to show they appreciate our business while they're clearly not at their best. It would also be nice if this was made clear at the time of booking. On a positive, the staff was pretty friendly. Overall, I would not return here and would not recommend it to others. Perhaps it will be nice once the renovations are complete, but I was too turned off to try them again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Paradise Donuts is terrific!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manny2014
Business
Miami
Feb 9, 2013

Great

hotel and staff is remarkable! had a pleasant and wonderful staying

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paperclip
Business
Seattle, WA
Jul 20, 2012

Warm and friendly and very helpful

I arrived late and the front desk was so helpful. I was offered my choice of a free drink and food which was brought up to my room on time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
goldsboro, nc
Jul 31, 2011

nice location

Hotel was better than expected. It was very luxurious. The only complaint I have would be the showers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MD
Jun 1, 2011

Nice Hotel, Not so nice staff

The hotel is in a nice location for a weekend stay. There is a small harbor behind it and bars a few blocks over on Granby Street. The hotel was in good condition. One of the employees at the front desk was extremely rude to me. I dropped my car off at 11:45 PM for the valet and when I returned at 2AM it was still there. I was assured it would be moved within an hour. When I came back it was still there. I asked the lady at the desk about it and she told me they were too busy to move it and I can go park it in a public garage across the street if I want. She had no sense of customer service. Other then that this was a nice hotel for the price and about a 20 minute drive from VA Beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Shula 347 is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport News, VA
Mar 7, 2011

Nice Location

I booked this hotel to enjoy the Norfolk area over the weekend. Unfortunately there were 2k plus high school age kids in town for DECA. I did not appreciate the hotel not mentioning they had a large amount kids staying there this weekend and for the most part unsupervised. Low and behold, Saturday night from about mid-night until 230 AM we laid awake listening to four of the young ladies who were screaming and carrying on in the adjoining room...unsatisfactory at mulitiple levels. Otherwise the hotel was clean and pleasant, minus all the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hampton, VA
Jan 5, 2011

Great stay!

I have stayed at this hotel once before, and this second time around was even better! Spent New Years here. The location is perfect - I didn't have to drive anywhere. Walking distance from MacArthur Center and the bars on Granby Street so there is always something to do. Nauticus/Waterside right by the hotel. I had a beautiful view from the 23rd floor! When the light rail actually gets up and running it will be even more awesome. The only con I can think of is that you have to pay to use wireless and wired internet, and also have to pay to use the business center. But if you have a good cell phone this is not an issue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bars within walking distance, but most only open until about 2 AM.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schindig
Business
Bristow, VA
Apr 4, 2010

Nice clean room, great location

We only stayed one night so we did not get a chance to experience many of the amenities. However the room was very nice and the location is great. Recommend not using the valet ($24) when there is a parking garage across the street for ($12).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to MacArthur Center Mall (highly recommend Kincaids restaurant on first floor of the mall, expensive but food is out of this world). Also walking distance to Waterside and the bars on Granby street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Neck, VA
Oct 27, 2009

Perfect for what we were looking for

I had read reviews about this hotel and it was what I had expected from the reviews. The beds! most comfortable! check in and out easy! Did not see much of the hotel, but the lobby was beautiful. Vending/Ice area very small and would not take my dollar for a soda, but the trip to that area, provided me and my sister a very funny memory that should have been caught on tape! Our room was very nice. Whatever they clean with or freshen the room with bothered me a little but not enough to complain. The hotel met our needs perfectly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything one would want to do at Waterside is just a short walk away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Norfolk Waterside Marriott

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blackbottom
Business
Midlothian Virginia
Sep 13, 2009

Very Pleasant

Very pleasant and productive visit with associates and friends. Accomodations and services were very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In the heart of the downtown and nightlife.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top