$134 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 16, 2014 Check-out: Jul 17, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

3 stars
520 Plume Street, 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
37 reviews
Perfect Hotel Stay

Front Desk Staff was very friendly! Nice Clean Room for the price. I would recommend to everyone. See full review

  • LaDoris
  • Jan 7, 2014
Norfolk grad trip

Nice big room for 2 queens! Front desk staff helpful! See full review

  • MPEL
  • May 20, 2013
The lobby's new contemporary and sophisticated design at the Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown, VA provides greater flexibility for guests traveling to Norfolk, Portsmouth, and Virginia Beach. This Norfolk hotel near MacArthur Center Mall features a new lobby with inviting spaces, free Wi-Fi and access to the latest news, weather and local information via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby is The Bistro-Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food, beverages, and Starbucks(R) items during the day and evening dinner service with cocktails. Guests will be near the NorVA, Chrysler Hall, and Granby Street, known for an eclectic mix of shopping, dining, and entertainment. Business travelers will be near Dominion Enterprises, Norfolk Southern, Sentara Norfolk, and Old Dominion University. We offer a fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool, 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service to make your travel easier.

Hotel Map

36.8467 -76.2878
Area served
.1
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport, (ORF), 7.00, MI, SW; Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport, (PHF), 30.00, MI, S;
Area description
Oceanfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Norfolk Scope: 0.4 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 0.9 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 2.7 mi

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Succasunna, NJ
Jun 24, 2011

Best Staff and great location

The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the location was near the Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, where our son was scheduled for outpatient surgery.We were also impressed with the beauty and cleanliness of downtown Norfolk. We'll be back next year for my son's yearly recheck. The only negatives were scratchy towels and tissues,but having the sink area in a separate room outside the bathroom more than made up for this. It allowed us to get ready while family members took turns in the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a beautiful mall with great stores just a short walk from the hotel. The Machismo Mexican restaurant, also near the hotel, was very good.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rainbow Productions
Asheville, NC, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Great location

The staff was friendly and anticipated our needs. It is just a short walk to the Norva theater and the room was a great value for such a nice place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Loveland
Sep 28, 2008

nice hotel in the middle of the city

it was nice hotel in and out. Recommend parking on the street instead of valet. Everything was great except the bed sheets, they felt like sandpaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Definently check out Hell's Kitchen or go during wine festival.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
terry-grandma
buffalo, NY
Jun 30, 2009

place to find inner peace

This is our second time staying at the Courtyard Marriott this year. We are always welcomed, always treated nicely. We are greatly fond of the lady who works in the buffet section. She has a smile for everyone, she remembered my grand son Tyler from our stay in Feb. 09. I hope the transit system will bring more people to your hotel. I choose this one because you are close to the water, museums, for us the court house is in walking distance, We truly found peace of mind at this place. Thank you for letting us check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If your a Military family, you have to see the Nauticus, and the USS Wisconson. We love the old stlye paddle boat that leaves every 1/2 hour from downtown Norfolk.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terbok
SLC Utah
Mar 26, 2013

Great place to stay for downtown entertainment

Traveled in with a couple of friends to watch a concert down town. It was a great location within easy walking or with in few block ride of all the bars and downtown venues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Aug 22, 2010

Park and walk!

Excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MPEL
Florida, USA
May 20, 2013

Norfolk grad trip

Nice big room for 2 queens! Front desk staff helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VA Fam
Newport News, VA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Norfolk Night Out

Decent; hotel, wish they had a complimentary breakfast. Room was nice and clean, bed was comfortable, but room was a little cramped. Horrible view over business parking lot from our room. Great location for shopping as it is directly across the street from the MacArthur Center. Close to Granby Street's bars, restaurants, clubs, and other touristy venues but your lady will not want to make that walk in heels, make sure she brings her Old Navy flip-flops or those little slip-on flats that fit in a purse. Parking is $18 by valet only so with in-and-outs you'll need a view extra $$$ for the tip. They have a great indoor swimming pool area, probably the best I've seen a non 5-star hotel. Our toilet broke to where we had to lift the tank lid to force it to flush. When I reported it during check-out the front desk immediately comped my parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very large mall with sitdown restaurants and movie theater directly across the street.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ice Tee
Richmond Va
Sep 9, 2009

The mostly good , and not so good.

The overall stay was very comfortable,not far from the water (Afr'Am Festival ),and the rooms are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JShock
Seattle
Feb 24, 2013

Norfolk Nesting

We wanted a downtown hotel that we could get to easily from the HW and that was convenient to the entertainment scene. This met both requirements extremely well. Staff was excellent. House cleaning met our in-room timing no problem. They have valet parking and charge for parking. This was a great value in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Norva is one street corner away.

Back to menu Return to top