$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 29, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

3 stars
View map of 520 Plume Street, 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 26
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rainbow Productions
Business
Asheville, NC, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Great location

The staff was friendly and anticipated our needs. It is just a short walk to the Norva theater and the room was a great value for such a nice place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Succasunna, NJ
Jun 24, 2011

Best Staff and great location

The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the location was near the Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, where our son was scheduled for outpatient surgery.We were also impressed with the beauty and cleanliness of downtown Norfolk. We'll be back next year for my son's yearly recheck. The only negatives were scratchy towels and tissues,but having the sink area in a separate room outside the bathroom more than made up for this. It allowed us to get ready while family members took turns in the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a beautiful mall with great stores just a short walk from the hotel. The Machismo Mexican restaurant, also near the hotel, was very good.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VA Fam
Business
Newport News, VA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Norfolk Night Out

Decent; hotel, wish they had a complimentary breakfast. Room was nice and clean, bed was comfortable, but room was a little cramped. Horrible view over business parking lot from our room. Great location for shopping as it is directly across the street from the MacArthur Center. Close to Granby Street's bars, restaurants, clubs, and other touristy venues but your lady will not want to make that walk in heels, make sure she brings her Old Navy flip-flops or those little slip-on flats that fit in a purse. Parking is $18 by valet only so with in-and-outs you'll need a view extra $$$ for the tip. They have a great indoor swimming pool area, probably the best I've seen a non 5-star hotel. Our toilet broke to where we had to lift the tank lid to force it to flush. When I reported it during check-out the front desk immediately comped my parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very large mall with sitdown restaurants and movie theater directly across the street.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Aug 22, 2010

Park and walk!

Excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jul 25, 2011

It worked for us

We were in Norfolk for a family reunion. The hotel was less than a mile from the festivities and it served us well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dining, church and many other attractions are within a short walk.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Loveland
Sep 28, 2008

nice hotel in the middle of the city

it was nice hotel in and out. Recommend parking on the street instead of valet. Everything was great except the bed sheets, they felt like sandpaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Definently check out Hell's Kitchen or go during wine festival.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Yonker
Business
long island new york
Sep 7, 2014

will be coming back

I loved my stay the staff was great the area around was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NotThatGuy
Business
Virginia
Sep 30, 2014

good deal in downtown norfolk

Very comfortable room for an overnight stay at a great price. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christina B.
Business
N/A
Mar 12, 2015

Overall nice stay

As most hotels in the area were a bit pricey for the dates we had to stay, this was one of the better ones for the money. I am glad we stayed there as it had a mini fridge in the room for use and some others did not. It was overall clean and they even accommodated an earlier check in due to our travel arrival time. It was a bit loud when they did their cleaning but it was a nice stay and I'm glad they do clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC DC
Business
Falls Church
Apr 6, 2015

Very good location and value

Very good hotel right in downtown Norfolk. Reception staff is excellent, and very professional. Parking is valet-only. Excellent pool, but the exercise room is merely adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top