$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

3 stars
520 Plume Street, 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
37 reviews
Perfect Hotel Stay

Front Desk Staff was very friendly! Nice Clean Room for the price. I would recommend to everyone. See full review

  • LaDoris
  • Jan 7, 2014
Norfolk grad trip

Nice big room for 2 queens! Front desk staff helpful! See full review

  • MPEL
  • May 20, 2013
The lobby's new contemporary and sophisticated design at the Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown, VA provides greater flexibility for guests traveling to Norfolk, Portsmouth, and Virginia Beach. This Norfolk hotel near MacArthur Center Mall features a new lobby with inviting spaces, free Wi-Fi and access to the latest news, weather and local information via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby is The Bistro-Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food, beverages, and Starbucks(R) items during the day and evening dinner service with cocktails. Guests will be near the NorVA, Chrysler Hall, and Granby Street, known for an eclectic mix of shopping, dining, and entertainment. Business travelers will be near Dominion Enterprises, Norfolk Southern, Sentara Norfolk, and Old Dominion University. We offer a fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool, 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service to make your travel easier.

Hotel Map

36.8467 -76.2878
Area served
.1
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport, (ORF), 7.00, MI, SW; Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport, (PHF), 30.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Norfolk Scope: 0.4 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 0.9 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 2.7 mi

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 37
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.6

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Argentina1988
Springfield Massachusetts
Jul 8, 2013

Good

In general the hotel is good but parking is surgable and it is very inconvinient and expensive.the hotel is situated in downtown what adds him a plus!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Mall mcaurthor

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MPEL
Florida, USA
May 20, 2013

Norfolk grad trip

Nice big room for 2 queens! Front desk staff helpful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DaveK1117
Vienna, VA
Mar 28, 2013

Expensive without free breakfeast

Very clean, very comfy, very good location for our needs. But...sort of expensive given that there was no free breakfeast. There is a sorta-Starbucks cafe in lobby, but they were slow and pretty expensive as well. No free parking either. So, the value was not really there. With the need to pay for breakfeast and parking, which added at least $35 to the already hefty room cost, I would look around before coming back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greyhoundmom
NC
Jan 8, 2012

Great place to stay!

Friendly, clean, pleasant, centrally located, within walking distance of LOTS of stuff. Very pleased in every way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairfax, VA
Jul 5, 2011

Great Location !!

Easy and fast check in, great valet service but a little pricey. The room was nice and clean , the bathroom was quite nice. The location is fantastic really close to the Mall, restaurants and harbor. The only thing that we didn't like was the bed, it was wayyyy too soft, we were sinking and then my back was sore next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fairfax, VA
Jul 5, 2011

Great Location !!

Easy and fast check in, great valet service but a little pricey. The room was nice and clean , the bathroom was quite nice. The location is fantastic really close to the Mall, restaurants and harbor. The only thing that we didn't like was the bed, it was wayyyy too soft, we were sinking and then my back was sore next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Succasunna, NJ
Jun 24, 2011

Best Staff and great location

The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the location was near the Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, where our son was scheduled for outpatient surgery.We were also impressed with the beauty and cleanliness of downtown Norfolk. We'll be back next year for my son's yearly recheck. The only negatives were scratchy towels and tissues,but having the sink area in a separate room outside the bathroom more than made up for this. It allowed us to get ready while family members took turns in the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a beautiful mall with great stores just a short walk from the hotel. The Machismo Mexican restaurant, also near the hotel, was very good.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Succasunna, NJ
Jun 24, 2011

Best Staff and great location

The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the location was near the Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, where our son was scheduled for outpatient surgery.We were also impressed with the beauty and cleanliness of downtown Norfolk. We'll be back next year for my son's yearly recheck. The only negatives were scratchy towels and tissues,but having the sink area in a separate room outside the bathroom more than made up for this. It allowed us to get ready while family members took turns in the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a beautiful mall with great stores just a short walk from the hotel. The Machismo Mexican restaurant, also near the hotel, was very good.

Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Aug 22, 2010

Park and walk!

Excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Aug 22, 2010

Park and walk!

Excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top