$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

3 stars
520 Plume Street, 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
26 reviews
good deal in downtown norfolk

Very comfortable room for an overnight stay at a great price. Very friendly staff. See full review

  • NotThatGuy
  • Sep 30, 2014
will be coming back

I loved my stay the staff was great the area around was perfect See full review

  • New Yonker
  • Sep 7, 2014
The lobby's new contemporary and sophisticated design at the Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown, VA provides greater flexibility for guests traveling to Norfolk, Portsmouth, and Virginia Beach. This Norfolk hotel near MacArthur Center Mall features a new lobby with inviting spaces, free Wi-Fi and access to the latest news, weather and local information via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby is The Bistro-Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food, beverages, and Starbucks(R) items during the day and evening dinner service with cocktails. Guests will be near the NorVA, Chrysler Hall, and Granby Street, known for an eclectic mix of shopping, dining, and entertainment. Business travelers will be near Dominion Enterprises, Norfolk Southern, Sentara Norfolk, and Old Dominion University. We offer a fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool, 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service to make your travel easier.

Hotel Map

36.8467 -76.2878
Area served
.1
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport, (ORF), 7.00, MI, SW; Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport, (PHF), 30.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Norfolk Scope: 0.4 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 0.9 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 2.7 mi

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (26)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 26
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JShock
Business
Seattle
Feb 24, 2013

Norfolk Nesting

We wanted a downtown hotel that we could get to easily from the HW and that was convenient to the entertainment scene. This met both requirements extremely well. Staff was excellent. House cleaning met our in-room timing no problem. They have valet parking and charge for parking. This was a great value in the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Norva is one street corner away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kumachan
Business
Washington Metro, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Good Down Town location

My wife and I were in town for a concert so we only stayed one night. Over all the place was nice, lots of restaurants, stores, and clubs within walking distance. Big mall almost directly across the street. Staff was helpful, internet worked well, room was clean and had everything you need. Think that the $19.00 a night parking is a little high, but other than that everything was good. I'd stay again if we ever go to Norfolk again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ganby Street has many nice places to eat and drink. Only about a 5 min walk from hotel. Good to know if you want to skip the hotel lounge area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan41
Business
Staunton,Va
Jan 30, 2012

one day trip

Had a great time ,wish I knew about the $20.00 valet before hand. Location was awesome !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alanf48
Business
Richmond, Va.
Aug 17, 2011

Terrible Experience

When I arrived at the Hotel, there were at least 20 people in line to check in and there was only one person at the front desk. It took over 45 minutes to check in. We requested a king bed with a sofa bed but we were given a handicap room. When we asked for a room change we waited for over an hour for the front desk to get back with us. For the long wait the manager only offerded us a bottled water for our inconvenience. When we checked out we were billed by the hotel for the room to my credit card although I had already paid through Orbitz. Overall, it was not a pleasant experience and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VA Fam
Business
Newport News, VA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Norfolk Night Out

Decent; hotel, wish they had a complimentary breakfast. Room was nice and clean, bed was comfortable, but room was a little cramped. Horrible view over business parking lot from our room. Great location for shopping as it is directly across the street from the MacArthur Center. Close to Granby Street's bars, restaurants, clubs, and other touristy venues but your lady will not want to make that walk in heels, make sure she brings her Old Navy flip-flops or those little slip-on flats that fit in a purse. Parking is $18 by valet only so with in-and-outs you'll need a view extra $$$ for the tip. They have a great indoor swimming pool area, probably the best I've seen a non 5-star hotel. Our toilet broke to where we had to lift the tank lid to force it to flush. When I reported it during check-out the front desk immediately comped my parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very large mall with sitdown restaurants and movie theater directly across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jul 25, 2011

It worked for us

We were in Norfolk for a family reunion. The hotel was less than a mile from the festivities and it served us well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dining, church and many other attractions are within a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J S
Business
Huntsville AL
Apr 5, 2011

Wonderful stay!

My husband and I stayed here for a friends wedding. The service was great and everyone was so friendly and helpful. Room was nice and clean. We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Norfolk Botanical Gardens. It is a beautiful place and there is a good chance you will get to see a bald eagle!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ice Tee
Business
Richmond Va
Sep 9, 2009

The mostly good , and not so good.

The overall stay was very comfortable,not far from the water (Afr'Am Festival ),and the rooms are very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top