$119 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 25, 2014

Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

3 stars
520 Plume Street, 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
25 reviews
will be coming back

I loved my stay the staff was great the area around was perfect See full review

  • New Yonker
  • Sep 7, 2014
Perfect Hotel Stay

Front Desk Staff was very friendly! Nice Clean Room for the price. I would recommend to everyone. See full review

  • LaDoris
  • Jan 7, 2014
The lobby's new contemporary and sophisticated design at the Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown, VA provides greater flexibility for guests traveling to Norfolk, Portsmouth, and Virginia Beach. This Norfolk hotel near MacArthur Center Mall features a new lobby with inviting spaces, free Wi-Fi and access to the latest news, weather and local information via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby is The Bistro-Eat. Drink. Connect., which provides guests with healthy food, beverages, and Starbucks(R) items during the day and evening dinner service with cocktails. Guests will be near the NorVA, Chrysler Hall, and Granby Street, known for an eclectic mix of shopping, dining, and entertainment. Business travelers will be near Dominion Enterprises, Norfolk Southern, Sentara Norfolk, and Old Dominion University. We offer a fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool, 24-hour business center and boarding pass printing service to make your travel easier.

Hotel Map

36.8467 -76.2878
Area served
.1
Nearby airports
Norfolk International Airport, (ORF), 7.00, MI, SW; Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport, (PHF), 30.00, MI, S;
Area description
City Center, Location Type: City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Coffee shop
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Gift shop
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub
Wet bar

Nearby points of interest

  • Norfolk Scope: 0.4 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 0.9 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 2.7 mi

Dining

The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.®
Your food and beverage destination for refreshing breakfast choices in the morning, and a variety of dinner and cocktail options in the evening. The Bistro also offers specialty beverages made with Starbucks® coffee to help you get a jump on the day.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
25 out of 25
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J S
Huntsville AL
Apr 5, 2011

Wonderful stay!

My husband and I stayed here for a friends wedding. The service was great and everyone was so friendly and helpful. Room was nice and clean. We had a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Norfolk Botanical Gardens. It is a beautiful place and there is a good chance you will get to see a bald eagle!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ST185
Wellington, New Zealand
May 22, 2010

Great facility in a great location

The Courtyard Marriot in Norfolk is located right in the middle of downtown Norfolk within a couple of blocks of all the great restaurants and tourist attractions. The staff were extremely helpful. I will definitely stay at the Corutyard Marriot again next time I am in Norfolk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mwinn412
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Apr 21, 2007

Great Location In Downtown Norfolk

This was one of the friendliest hotels I have ever stayed in. Small enough to get to know the people at the front desk. My check in was smooth (5 minutes max.) and shortly after I got to my room the front desk called and asked if everything was OK or if I had any questions. I did have a few questions and they answered them. I thought it was a nice touch that they bother to call you.The location was wonderful. The MacArthur Memorial is right next door and it is quite a treat. Also nearby is the MacArthur shopping mall with some terrific restaurants. I think we ate there every night. It's a short walk to Waterside Park and the Scope Center. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kincaids Steak House at the MacArthur Mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greyhoundmom
NC
Jan 8, 2012

Great place to stay!

Friendly, clean, pleasant, centrally located, within walking distance of LOTS of stuff. Very pleased in every way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan41
Staunton,Va
Jan 30, 2012

one day trip

Had a great time ,wish I knew about the $20.00 valet before hand. Location was awesome !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LaDoris
Moncure, NC
Jan 7, 2014

Perfect Hotel Stay

Front Desk Staff was very friendly! Nice Clean Room for the price. I would recommend to everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Aug 22, 2010

Park and walk!

Excellent location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Loveland
Sep 28, 2008

nice hotel in the middle of the city

it was nice hotel in and out. Recommend parking on the street instead of valet. Everything was great except the bed sheets, they felt like sandpaper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Definently check out Hell's Kitchen or go during wine festival.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
terry-grandma
buffalo, NY
Jun 30, 2009

place to find inner peace

This is our second time staying at the Courtyard Marriott this year. We are always welcomed, always treated nicely. We are greatly fond of the lady who works in the buffet section. She has a smile for everyone, she remembered my grand son Tyler from our stay in Feb. 09. I hope the transit system will bring more people to your hotel. I choose this one because you are close to the water, museums, for us the court house is in walking distance, We truly found peace of mind at this place. Thank you for letting us check in early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If your a Military family, you have to see the Nauticus, and the USS Wisconson. We love the old stlye paddle boat that leaves every 1/2 hour from downtown Norfolk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terbok
SLC Utah
Mar 26, 2013

Great place to stay for downtown entertainment

Traveled in with a couple of friends to watch a concert down town. It was a great location within easy walking or with in few block ride of all the bars and downtown venues.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search