$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 21, 2015 Check-out: May 24, 2015

Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

3 stars
View map of 520 Plume Street, 520 E Plume St, Norfolk, VA 23510

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kumachan
Business
Washington Metro, USA
Apr 21, 2012

Good Down Town location

My wife and I were in town for a concert so we only stayed one night. Over all the place was nice, lots of restaurants, stores, and clubs within walking distance. Big mall almost directly across the street. Staff was helpful, internet worked well, room was clean and had everything you need. Think that the $19.00 a night parking is a little high, but other than that everything was good. I'd stay again if we ever go to Norfolk again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ganby Street has many nice places to eat and drink. Only about a 5 min walk from hotel. Good to know if you want to skip the hotel lounge area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan41
Business
Staunton,Va
Jan 30, 2012

one day trip

Had a great time ,wish I knew about the $20.00 valet before hand. Location was awesome !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Medical trip
Business
Virginia, USA
Jan 11, 2012

Jan 2012 visit

Only one night 's stay, but better than our last hotel in Norfolk. Large and pleasant room with two queen beds. Not a busy occupant night, so quiet, except for the light rail commuter train outside on the street adjacent to our room that rang bells till 11pm and started up at 5:45am. Small cafe had some decent offerings for breakfast and supper - affordable but not extensive. Valet parking needed: $18/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
greyhoundmom
Business
NC
Jan 8, 2012

Great place to stay!

Friendly, clean, pleasant, centrally located, within walking distance of LOTS of stuff. Very pleased in every way!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rainbow Productions
Business
Asheville, NC, USA
Oct 3, 2011

Great location

The staff was friendly and anticipated our needs. It is just a short walk to the Norva theater and the room was a great value for such a nice place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
alanf48
Business
Richmond, Va.
Aug 17, 2011

Terrible Experience

When I arrived at the Hotel, there were at least 20 people in line to check in and there was only one person at the front desk. It took over 45 minutes to check in. We requested a king bed with a sofa bed but we were given a handicap room. When we asked for a room change we waited for over an hour for the front desk to get back with us. For the long wait the manager only offerded us a bottled water for our inconvenience. When we checked out we were billed by the hotel for the room to my credit card although I had already paid through Orbitz. Overall, it was not a pleasant experience and I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VA Fam
Business
Newport News, VA, USA
Aug 15, 2011

Norfolk Night Out

Decent; hotel, wish they had a complimentary breakfast. Room was nice and clean, bed was comfortable, but room was a little cramped. Horrible view over business parking lot from our room. Great location for shopping as it is directly across the street from the MacArthur Center. Close to Granby Street's bars, restaurants, clubs, and other touristy venues but your lady will not want to make that walk in heels, make sure she brings her Old Navy flip-flops or those little slip-on flats that fit in a purse. Parking is $18 by valet only so with in-and-outs you'll need a view extra $$$ for the tip. They have a great indoor swimming pool area, probably the best I've seen a non 5-star hotel. Our toilet broke to where we had to lift the tank lid to force it to flush. When I reported it during check-out the front desk immediately comped my parking fee.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Very large mall with sitdown restaurants and movie theater directly across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Jul 25, 2011

It worked for us

We were in Norfolk for a family reunion. The hotel was less than a mile from the festivities and it served us well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, dining, church and many other attractions are within a short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairfax, VA
Jul 5, 2011

Great Location !!

Easy and fast check in, great valet service but a little pricey. The room was nice and clean , the bathroom was quite nice. The location is fantastic really close to the Mall, restaurants and harbor. The only thing that we didn't like was the bed, it was wayyyy too soft, we were sinking and then my back was sore next day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Norfolk Downtown

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Succasunna, NJ
Jun 24, 2011

Best Staff and great location

The staff couldn't be more friendly or helpful. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the location was near the Children's Hospital of the King's Daughters, where our son was scheduled for outpatient surgery.We were also impressed with the beauty and cleanliness of downtown Norfolk. We'll be back next year for my son's yearly recheck. The only negatives were scratchy towels and tissues,but having the sink area in a separate room outside the bathroom more than made up for this. It allowed us to get ready while family members took turns in the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There's a beautiful mall with great stores just a short walk from the hotel. The Machismo Mexican restaurant, also near the hotel, was very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top