$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

3 stars
1330 E Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
75 reviews
Great beach hotel

Great experience. Stayed for a night to visit a college with my son & was impressed with the... See full review

  • Ronnie and Son
  • Mar 30, 2014
Nice hotel, great location

The room was very clean, although the kitchen was a little bit outdated it was still very nice and... See full review

  • Tony the Mechanic
  • Feb 16, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites! Colonial Williamsburg and fishing are two big reasons many guests stay at our Norfolk hotel, and there are endless possibilities to make the dream vacation a reality. Are you looking for the perfect oceanfront room? At our Norfolk hotel, a private beach is just steps away. Spend the day sunbathing, playing in the surf, or fishing in the waters. Suites with full kitchens make extended stays simple, and our friendly staff is dedicated to ensuring your stay is as pleasant as possible. The history of the area draws cultural enthusiasts and history buffs to the area, and it is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway. This hotel in Norfolk, VA is also near the Naval Base, and our Norfolk hotel caters to many service men and women. Close proximity to military installations and bases make commutes easy so that guests can squeeze in plenty of leisure time, too. The Virginia Arts Festival International Tattoo event is a particular favorite. Our Norfolk hotel also offers close proximity to universities and colleges in the area. If you are a visiting student, professor or staff member, welcome to your home away from home. Festivals throughout the summer from May to October make those long summer months a little more enjoyable, and big college events like graduation and move-in weekend are simple to get to when staying with us. We are centrally located between all naval installations, including Naval Station Norfolk, Little Creek Expeditionary Base, and Norfolk Naval Air Station. Business travelers with Norfolk Portsmouth Shipyard, Norfolk Southern and Langley and Newport News Shipyard also depend on our Norfolk hotel to provide clean, comfortable accommodations. Our hotel offers many spacious rooms with kitchens, giving guests everything they need for a longer stay. Book a kitchen suite at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites today and save!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,2ND BD SOFA,MICRO,FRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,APTMNT,FULKT,DININGRM,2BDRMS,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVW,OVRSZD,SOFABD,KITCHN,BALCNY,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SOFABED,SEP BEDRM,FULLKITT,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNVW,BALCON,MICRFG,37INCH,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBACC,WALKSH,OCNVW,1STFLR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

36.9436 -76.2347
Area served
Williamsburg, Portsmouth, Chesapeake, Yorktown, Virginia Beach, Newport News, Suffolk, Hampton
Nearby airports
(ORF), 5.00, MI, W;
Area description
Resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 5.5 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 6.5 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • Norfolk Scope: 6.9 mi

Dining

Olive Garden
8 mile(s) from Olive Garden, Full Service, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Surf Rider
2 mile(s) from Surf Rider, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Uno's
8 mile(s) from Uno's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Varity
Apple Bee's
8 mile(s) from Apple Bee's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
AJ Gators
8 mile(s) from AJ Gators, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Outback Steakhouse
8 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner,
China Sea Buffett
8 mile(s) from China Sea Buffett, Buffet, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Granby North
0.5 mile(s) from Granby North, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Julians
8 mile(s) from Julians, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Gualdalajara
8 mile(s) from Gualdalajara, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
Ronnie and Son
Alexandria, VA
Mar 30, 2014

Great beach hotel

Great experience. Stayed for a night to visit a college with my son & was impressed with the efficient & pleasant staff. We were surprised to find our room had a full kitchen and well sized, modern bathroom. The view of the beach from our room was fantastic, unfortunately, at this time of year, the weather was cold and rainy. In the morning, after a solid sleep on the clean & firm hotel beds, we enjoyed a full hot breakfast provided by the hotel. Checkout was quick and painless. Overall, a great experience and would love to be back in the summer, when the beachfront location would be a real joy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is on the beach, so there is practically no walk to get to the water.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
Brandy.
Virginia
Mar 25, 2014

Good stay

Staff was friendly, check in and check out were both easy, but room was smaller than i expected. Okay to stay in this queen room if not much time will be spent in it. Next time I'd go to a king size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
Tony the Mechanic
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 16, 2014

Nice hotel, great location

The room was very clean, although the kitchen was a little bit outdated it was still very nice and did have a newer fridge and microwave, but it could have used a few more kitchen utensills. The bathroom was modern, clean and had plenty of towels and washcloths. The staff was just outstanding and the free breakfast was excellent. Our room overlooked the Chesapeake bay, it was a gorgeous view and the hotel has its own private beach. The hotel is less than 10 minutes from the Norfolk Naval Station, which was perfect because we were there to visit our son who is in the Navy. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Norfolk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Nauticus maritime Museum and the battleship USS Wisconsin in downtown Norfolk we had a great day there you will not regret it.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
Shen2000
Basye, VA
Jan 18, 2014

Home away from home, by the Bay!

Superb motel, great Staff, Luscious pleasant breakfast!! We always try to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Greenies for some great shrimp, superb bar and lots of music and dancing in the evening, all on the deck beside the bay. Also, Thirsty Camel restaurant is also awesome, beside pier, just a short distance away.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
kouklo
new york
Jan 10, 2014

Nice location

Loved the location on the beach. The staff is amazing, always smiling and willing to help :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
DC Jeremy
Washington, DC
Dec 27, 2013

Get what you pay for

Not bad for the price. Had a mini-suite, separate bedroom from living room. There was no door between the two rooms though. The breakfast was OK, on par with the lower room rates. We stay at this hotel at least twice a year because of the short distance from family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
ReddyRed
Chesapeake, VA
Dec 6, 2013

Great place for a clean affordable stay

Room was very clean. They have breakfast in the morning and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
Out West
East coast
Oct 2, 2013

Family getaway

we were checked in by a most pleasant and friendly receptionist, she was most helpful, especially when we requested a fan for our stay. when we asked for a dinner spot, she recommended Captain Groovy which was only a few minutes down the road. the beach is right out back, can't get any better. I believe the rooms on our section might be going through a bit of a renovation, but since we were only staying for two nights, the room was good enough. Great bath towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

9 to 5, it is small eatery about a ten minute walk from the hotel just hang a right at the parking lot, you can't miss it. we had breakfast, and it was really good, especially their cranberry raisin bread French toast.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
Butterfly Mom
Norfolk, VA
Sep 16, 2013

Great place to stay!

I stayed this past weekend, and the location was perfect, the amenities (pool, room, breakfast) were all top notch. I actually live in the area and have driven by many times and decided to stay for the weekend to see if it's a good place to put out of town visitors. It's terrific...great staff also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for a nice place to eat, Franco's Italian next to the Farm Fresh down the street in a strip mall. Don't be concerned, the area can be a little dicey but the restaurant is also top notch.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
newly engadged
pleasantville,nj
Jul 24, 2013

memorable anniversary trip

we loved the hotel, the staff was friendly, rooms were clean and spacious. the only bad thing I could say would be parking! every night after a night out doing tourist stuff, all parking spots would be taken and you would end up having to park in the next parking lot/across the street... needles to say it made you not want to take your car out a lot! besides that the bay was RIGHT in your back yard and such easy access to the pool and beach. we would stay there again anytime!!!! for both family and just couples vaca!!! very much recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

FREE MASON ABBEY, a lovely fresh restaurant! steaks, seafood, drinks! and lovely service! romantic atmosphere.

Back to menu Return to top