$90 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 1330 E Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208

Hotel Overview

BEST-WESTERN-PLUS-Holiday-Sands-Inn-&-Suites-Hotel-Exterior
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
82 reviews
End of summer vacation

We have been coming here for many years. When we walked in, staff immediately recognized us.We come... See full review

  • Judy Ruth Grand mother
  • Sep 10, 2014
Great beach hotel

Great experience. Stayed for a night to visit a college with my son & was impressed with the... See full review

  • Ronnie and Son
  • Mar 30, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites! Colonial Williamsburg and fishing are two big reasons many guests stay at our Norfolk hotel, and there are endless possibilities to make the dream vacation a reality. Are you looking for the perfect oceanfront room? At our Norfolk hotel, a private beach is just steps away. Spend the day sunbathing, playing in the surf, or fishing in the waters. Suites with full kitchens make extended stays simple, and our friendly staff is dedicated to ensuring your stay is as pleasant as possible. The history of the area draws cultural enthusiasts and history buffs to the area, and it is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway. This hotel in Norfolk, VA is also near the Naval Base, and our Norfolk hotel caters to many service men and women. Close proximity to military installations and bases make commutes easy so that guests can squeeze in plenty of leisure time, too. The Virginia Arts Festival International Tattoo event is a particular favorite. Our Norfolk hotel also offers close proximity to universities and colleges in the area. If you are a visiting student, professor or staff member, welcome to your home away from home. Festivals throughout the summer from May to October make those long summer months a little more enjoyable, and big college events like graduation and move-in weekend are simple to get to when staying with us. We are centrally located between all naval installations, including Naval Station Norfolk, Little Creek Expeditionary Base, and Norfolk Naval Air Station. Business travelers with Norfolk Portsmouth Shipyard, Norfolk Southern and Langley and Newport News Shipyard also depend on our Norfolk hotel to provide clean, comfortable accommodations. Our hotel offers many spacious rooms with kitchens, giving guests everything they need for a longer stay. Book a kitchen suite at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites today and save!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,2ND BD SOFA,MICRO,FRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,APTMNT,FULKT,DININGRM,2BDRMS,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVW,OVRSZD,SOFABD,KITCHN,BALCNY,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SOFABED,SEP BEDRM,FULLKITT,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNVW,BALCON,MICRFG,37INCH,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBACC,WALKSH,OCNVW,1STFLR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 5.5 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 6.5 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • Norfolk Scope: 6.9 mi

Dining

Degollado
1 mile(s) from Degollado, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Gualdalajara
8 mile(s) from Gualdalajara, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Apple Bee's
8 mile(s) from Apple Bee's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chilies
8 mile(s) from Chilies, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Surf Rider
2 mile(s) from Surf Rider, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Mick's Pancake House
0.3 mile(s) from Mick's Pancake House, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast,
Outback Steakhouse
8 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner,
China Sea Buffett
8 mile(s) from China Sea Buffett, Buffet, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Max & Ermas
8 mile(s) from Max & Ermas, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Julians
8 mile(s) from Julians, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 82
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kathy JJ
Business
Vermont
Oct 21, 2014

Nice stay

Enjoyed the front desk and breakfast staff. Very nice and helpful. My room had an awesome view of the bay which I loved. Great direct beach access was great too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda at SMl
Business
Wirtz, VA
Oct 19, 2014

Best Best Western

The experience was much better than I expected.We had a funeral to attend and they let stay at no extra charge for an extra hour for check out. View was worth the price, that was extra good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Was so good we went back two nights in a row

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Judy Ruth Grand mother
Business
Richmond va
Sep 10, 2014

End of summer vacation

We have been coming here for many years. When we walked in, staff immediately recognized us.We come once a year and everything is just ready for us. We love the clear blue pool and just steps away from the beach. the breakfast buffet is just great. Nothing could be better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Great malls in the area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Texas Drifter
Business
Katy, TX
Jul 14, 2014

Family Wedding gathering

Wonderful location and accommodations. Breakfast was filling and a good variety of items. Staff was gracious and attentive to our needs. Beach location was awesome and the outdoor pool saw lots of activity. Patio area could use more chairs and possibly a couple of moveable tables. Would return and recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Get to know the area and its grocery stores, convenience stores, and where the closest ABC is located for alcohol and better beer choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ronnie and Son
Business
Alexandria, VA
Mar 30, 2014

Great beach hotel

Great experience. Stayed for a night to visit a college with my son & was impressed with the efficient & pleasant staff. We were surprised to find our room had a full kitchen and well sized, modern bathroom. The view of the beach from our room was fantastic, unfortunately, at this time of year, the weather was cold and rainy. In the morning, after a solid sleep on the clean & firm hotel beds, we enjoyed a full hot breakfast provided by the hotel. Checkout was quick and painless. Overall, a great experience and would love to be back in the summer, when the beachfront location would be a real joy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is on the beach, so there is practically no walk to get to the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Out West
Business
East coast
Oct 2, 2013

Family getaway

we were checked in by a most pleasant and friendly receptionist, she was most helpful, especially when we requested a fan for our stay. when we asked for a dinner spot, she recommended Captain Groovy which was only a few minutes down the road. the beach is right out back, can't get any better. I believe the rooms on our section might be going through a bit of a renovation, but since we were only staying for two nights, the room was good enough. Great bath towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

9 to 5, it is small eatery about a ten minute walk from the hotel just hang a right at the parking lot, you can't miss it. we had breakfast, and it was really good, especially their cranberry raisin bread French toast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MckeyMaint.
Business
NY
May 29, 2013

Navy Fam Visit

The hotel is very clean and the hotel staff is friendly. This the 2nd time we have stayed here and both times have been great. We went to the beach there it was nice and private, not crowded. We didn't get to use the pool but it looked nice and clean. The breakfast is ample and the staff there is also great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GFer26
Business
Jersey City, New Jersey
May 27, 2013

Ok for the price

If you want to be away from the craziness this hotel is located 18 miles from the action, they give you what they promise. A little expensive for a motel but the staff is very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast was good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emmasmommy
Business
Hastings, MI
Apr 8, 2013

Wonderful view

We had a wonderful view of the beach. The beach access was very nice and easy to get to. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't shop at the 7-11 down the street, go a little further down the street to the shopping center on the right hand side

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
14thelord
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 26, 2013

A very good place to stay!

The room was welcoming and well decorated, beds were very comfortable, and bathroom was nicely upgraded with granite surfaces. Hotel staff was very pleasant and accomodating. I would recommend their upgrade for $30 to a full ocean view with a balcony!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top