$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

3 stars
1330 E Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
81 reviews
End of summer vacation

We have been coming here for many years. When we walked in, staff immediately recognized us.We come... See full review

  • Judy Ruth Grand mother
  • Sep 10, 2014
Great beach hotel

Great experience. Stayed for a night to visit a college with my son & was impressed with the... See full review

  • Ronnie and Son
  • Mar 30, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites! Colonial Williamsburg and fishing are two big reasons many guests stay at our Norfolk hotel, and there are endless possibilities to make the dream vacation a reality. Are you looking for the perfect oceanfront room? At our Norfolk hotel, a private beach is just steps away. Spend the day sunbathing, playing in the surf, or fishing in the waters. Suites with full kitchens make extended stays simple, and our friendly staff is dedicated to ensuring your stay is as pleasant as possible. The history of the area draws cultural enthusiasts and history buffs to the area, and it is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway. This hotel in Norfolk, VA is also near the Naval Base, and our Norfolk hotel caters to many service men and women. Close proximity to military installations and bases make commutes easy so that guests can squeeze in plenty of leisure time, too. The Virginia Arts Festival International Tattoo event is a particular favorite. Our Norfolk hotel also offers close proximity to universities and colleges in the area. If you are a visiting student, professor or staff member, welcome to your home away from home. Festivals throughout the summer from May to October make those long summer months a little more enjoyable, and big college events like graduation and move-in weekend are simple to get to when staying with us. We are centrally located between all naval installations, including Naval Station Norfolk, Little Creek Expeditionary Base, and Norfolk Naval Air Station. Business travelers with Norfolk Portsmouth Shipyard, Norfolk Southern and Langley and Newport News Shipyard also depend on our Norfolk hotel to provide clean, comfortable accommodations. Our hotel offers many spacious rooms with kitchens, giving guests everything they need for a longer stay. Book a kitchen suite at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites today and save!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,2ND BD SOFA,MICRO,FRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,APTMNT,FULKT,DININGRM,2BDRMS,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVW,OVRSZD,SOFABD,KITCHN,BALCNY,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SOFABED,SEP BEDRM,FULLKITT,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNVW,BALCON,MICRFG,37INCH,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBACC,WALKSH,OCNVW,1STFLR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 5.5 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 6.5 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • Norfolk Scope: 6.9 mi

Dining

Degollado
1 mile(s) from Degollado, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Gualdalajara
8 mile(s) from Gualdalajara, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Apple Bee's
8 mile(s) from Apple Bee's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chilies
8 mile(s) from Chilies, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Surf Rider
2 mile(s) from Surf Rider, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Mick's Pancake House
0.3 mile(s) from Mick's Pancake House, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast,
Outback Steakhouse
8 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner,
China Sea Buffett
8 mile(s) from China Sea Buffett, Buffet, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Max & Ermas
8 mile(s) from Max & Ermas, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Julians
8 mile(s) from Julians, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
30 out of 81
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.2

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brandy.
Business
Virginia
Mar 25, 2014

Good stay

Staff was friendly, check in and check out were both easy, but room was smaller than i expected. Okay to stay in this queen room if not much time will be spent in it. Next time I'd go to a king size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony the Mechanic
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 16, 2014

Nice hotel, great location

The room was very clean, although the kitchen was a little bit outdated it was still very nice and did have a newer fridge and microwave, but it could have used a few more kitchen utensills. The bathroom was modern, clean and had plenty of towels and washcloths. The staff was just outstanding and the free breakfast was excellent. Our room overlooked the Chesapeake bay, it was a gorgeous view and the hotel has its own private beach. The hotel is less than 10 minutes from the Norfolk Naval Station, which was perfect because we were there to visit our son who is in the Navy. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Norfolk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Nauticus maritime Museum and the battleship USS Wisconsin in downtown Norfolk we had a great day there you will not regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shen2000
Business
Basye, VA
Jan 18, 2014

Home away from home, by the Bay!

Superb motel, great Staff, Luscious pleasant breakfast!! We always try to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Greenies for some great shrimp, superb bar and lots of music and dancing in the evening, all on the deck beside the bay. Also, Thirsty Camel restaurant is also awesome, beside pier, just a short distance away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC Jeremy
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 27, 2013

Get what you pay for

Not bad for the price. Had a mini-suite, separate bedroom from living room. There was no door between the two rooms though. The breakfast was OK, on par with the lower room rates. We stay at this hotel at least twice a year because of the short distance from family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ReddyRed
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Dec 6, 2013

Great place for a clean affordable stay

Room was very clean. They have breakfast in the morning and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Butterfly Mom
Business
Norfolk, VA
Sep 16, 2013

Great place to stay!

I stayed this past weekend, and the location was perfect, the amenities (pool, room, breakfast) were all top notch. I actually live in the area and have driven by many times and decided to stay for the weekend to see if it's a good place to put out of town visitors. It's terrific...great staff also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for a nice place to eat, Franco's Italian next to the Farm Fresh down the street in a strip mall. Don't be concerned, the area can be a little dicey but the restaurant is also top notch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newly engadged
Business
pleasantville,nj
Jul 24, 2013

memorable anniversary trip

we loved the hotel, the staff was friendly, rooms were clean and spacious. the only bad thing I could say would be parking! every night after a night out doing tourist stuff, all parking spots would be taken and you would end up having to park in the next parking lot/across the street... needles to say it made you not want to take your car out a lot! besides that the bay was RIGHT in your back yard and such easy access to the pool and beach. we would stay there again anytime!!!! for both family and just couples vaca!!! very much recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

FREE MASON ABBEY, a lovely fresh restaurant! steaks, seafood, drinks! and lovely service! romantic atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EASshing
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 15, 2013

Memorable

The room was very comfortable with the complimentary breakfast perfect for an early start. The pool and beach were refreshing and special. The staff was very helpful and nice especially David. Overall the stay was good stuff. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CrevilB
Business
Winchester, Virginia
Jun 6, 2013

Fantastic!

Without a doubt this is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. All the staff was cheerful, helpful and happy. You were greeted by all staff with a "Good Morning" or "Good Afternoon" and a smile. I can't say enough about the cleanliness or the hospitality. From the front desk clerk who checked us in to the ladies serving breakfast to the cleaning crew everyone was pleasant and ready to assist. They truly appeared to want to make sure you enjoyed your stay. Well, we did. Thank you! The private beach is a nice touch as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Groovy's is not what it appears. They are high priced and the food is prepped by a Chef. Not a shrimp and crab shack.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
navy visitor
Business
New Castle, Pa
Mar 18, 2013

did not start out well

When we booked the ad said oversized rooms. The room we got was so small it was claustrophobic, It was an end room and you could hardly move. We went and ask if they could move us. They gave us a suite for a $50 upgrade,. That room was great but we did not need a two be room suite. They said all the single quenns were small like our first room. After my sister arrived who also had a single queen I discovered that there single quenn was twice as big as ours. I was not happy. Seems that some of the staff did not know what they were talking about. Very disappointing. Will find another place to stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Original Philly Chessesteak.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top