$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

3 stars
1330 E Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
81 reviews
End of summer vacation

We have been coming here for many years. When we walked in, staff immediately recognized us.We come... See full review

  • Judy Ruth Grand mother
  • Sep 10, 2014
Great beach hotel

Great experience. Stayed for a night to visit a college with my son & was impressed with the... See full review

  • Ronnie and Son
  • Mar 30, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites! Colonial Williamsburg and fishing are two big reasons many guests stay at our Norfolk hotel, and there are endless possibilities to make the dream vacation a reality. Are you looking for the perfect oceanfront room? At our Norfolk hotel, a private beach is just steps away. Spend the day sunbathing, playing in the surf, or fishing in the waters. Suites with full kitchens make extended stays simple, and our friendly staff is dedicated to ensuring your stay is as pleasant as possible. The history of the area draws cultural enthusiasts and history buffs to the area, and it is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway. This hotel in Norfolk, VA is also near the Naval Base, and our Norfolk hotel caters to many service men and women. Close proximity to military installations and bases make commutes easy so that guests can squeeze in plenty of leisure time, too. The Virginia Arts Festival International Tattoo event is a particular favorite. Our Norfolk hotel also offers close proximity to universities and colleges in the area. If you are a visiting student, professor or staff member, welcome to your home away from home. Festivals throughout the summer from May to October make those long summer months a little more enjoyable, and big college events like graduation and move-in weekend are simple to get to when staying with us. We are centrally located between all naval installations, including Naval Station Norfolk, Little Creek Expeditionary Base, and Norfolk Naval Air Station. Business travelers with Norfolk Portsmouth Shipyard, Norfolk Southern and Langley and Newport News Shipyard also depend on our Norfolk hotel to provide clean, comfortable accommodations. Our hotel offers many spacious rooms with kitchens, giving guests everything they need for a longer stay. Book a kitchen suite at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites today and save!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,2ND BD SOFA,MICRO,FRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,APTMNT,FULKT,DININGRM,2BDRMS,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVW,OVRSZD,SOFABD,KITCHN,BALCNY,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SOFABED,SEP BEDRM,FULLKITT,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNVW,BALCON,MICRFG,37INCH,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBACC,WALKSH,OCNVW,1STFLR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 5.5 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 6.5 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • Norfolk Scope: 6.9 mi

Dining

Degollado
1 mile(s) from Degollado, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Gualdalajara
8 mile(s) from Gualdalajara, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Apple Bee's
8 mile(s) from Apple Bee's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chilies
8 mile(s) from Chilies, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Surf Rider
2 mile(s) from Surf Rider, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Mick's Pancake House
0.3 mile(s) from Mick's Pancake House, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast,
Outback Steakhouse
8 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner,
China Sea Buffett
8 mile(s) from China Sea Buffett, Buffet, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Max & Ermas
8 mile(s) from Max & Ermas, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Julians
8 mile(s) from Julians, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 81
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.4
Value:
4.1

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Caroline 5
Business
Louisville, KY
Sep 25, 2014

Inexpensive option

I did not like the neighborhood, but the hotel was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Caroline 5
Business
Louisville, KY
Sep 24, 2014

The area was a bit seedy

The room was fine, but there were some shady looking charactors hanging around. Even the laundry room was on lockdown. As a woman travleing alone, I did not feel safe at night. Breakfast was good with the exception of the fake egg omelets that contained some awful, squishy, stuff inside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
April Rain
Business
Tacoma, Washington
Apr 18, 2013

Very Good Value!

We wanted to do an early check in as we arrived on a red eye flight very early from the West Coast. At first we were met with a little push back, but immediately another staff member checked what was available and said that she could upgrade us for a minimal one time charge. We agreed and were allowed to check in right away. The rooms are clearly dated, but well stocked. The bathrooms have had a decent upgrade, but the thing that completely sold us was our ocean view from all windows in the room as well as the less than 60 second walk to the beach! When considering that you're not going to be spending your time at the beach, in your room, you simply can not beat the deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out a couple of local spots, 905 Cafe has PERFECTED the fish taco! Then just a little way further down Ocean View Drive is a fantastic BBQ Blues house called Mojo Jones! Both places appear to be a little "divey" but it's usually been our experience that these are the best spots for outstanding service and killer food!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chole'
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Feb 3, 2013

Clean and worth the value

This is my 3rd stay at this hotel and I've been very pleased. I have a room that I like the best and they have been good about assigning it to me. The breakfast is not bad and it saves me time in the morning. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is also quite. I don't hear traffic or people outside either. Love the towels, their nice, thick and soft. Pillows are comfortable too! I'm picky about these things, so I think they do a good job. The most important thing for me is cleanliness and a good smell. They get a 5 star from me on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business couple
Business
knoxville TN
Jun 3, 2012

Great hotel but not good location

My husband and I stayed there one night for business and it's a great hotel for the price but not a good location. Location is right on the beach but had suspicious people in the neighborhood. We never had a security issue but did not feel safe. The room itself was above average and we had a nice kitchette. Bath towels were solf and the shower pressure was nice with hot water. You have to drive a distance for decent food. overall average but would not recommend for a long stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On the Road Jack
Business
Salem, VA
Apr 2, 2012

Half a room for half the price

The room shown on the website is not the room that I stayed. NO window to see anything other than the parking lot. The website clearly showed the bay. Think a 1950's room when making this reservation. Great staff and room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I.L.A.
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Good Value, Cramped Room

Friendly staff welcomed me. The room itself was one of the smallest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. It was clean but just cramped. My room faced the parking lot so I couls hear the street. The location was a +, especially as it is directly on the beach. Also a + for having a gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phantom404
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Great Stay

When I got there, they did not have my room available. This was because I booked online after midnight, so they were expecting me for the following day. Still, they found me a room and did not even charge me for the first day. The location is really great, right on the Chesapeake Bay beach and not difficult to get to. Parking is ample and easy. The standard room I got for my first two nights was very small, but cozy and had everything I needed. The TV could be newer and beds could be a bit more comfortable, but it was a very nice hotel for the price. Staff was very nice and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phantom404
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Great Hotel

This hotel's location was great, right on the Chesapeake Bay beach, my room was an oceanfront suite and included a microwave, fridge, and full stove and kitchenette with a desk. TVs could be newer. The staff was accomodating and breakfast is nice. Not right off a highway, but the beach location and easy access made it worth it. Very reasonably priced. The booked rates were much less than if I booked it directly at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern VA
Apr 17, 2011

Important Things Were Good

Was here for one night primarily to sleep. It was a long day for me having gotten up at 4 a.m., driven for four hours to Norfolk, set up for a trade show, did the trade show for seven hours, cleaned up briefly afterwards, then drove to the motel/hotel. No breaks anywhere. 14 hours later, ... as you can imagine, all I wanted to do was check in and lie down. ______________________________ Check in was fine, friendly, expedient. [...]_________________________ As always, I went to the room to check it out first and noticed that the bathroom light didn't work. I called the desk, ... long story short, about 10-15 later the light was fixed. Staff was great. _____ Room was clean, bed and pillows were comfortable, little fridge was clean although I didn't use it, microwave on top that I also didn't use. Bathroom was very clean and towels were nice. Hot breakfast was decent but not fantastic. Breakfast attendant, as with rest of staff was A+! Check out was smooth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top