$53 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 24, 2015 Check-out: Jun 25, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 1330 E Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208

Hotel Overview

BEST-WESTERN-PLUS-Holiday-Sands-Inn-&-Suites-Hotel-Exterior
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
88 reviews
End of summer vacation

We have been coming here for many years. When we walked in, staff immediately recognized us.We come... See full review

  • Judy Ruth Grand mother
  • Sep 10, 2014
Great beach hotel

Great experience. Stayed for a night to visit a college with my son & was impressed with the... See full review

  • Ronnie and Son
  • Mar 30, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites! Colonial Williamsburg and fishing are two big reasons many guests stay at our Norfolk hotel, and there are endless possibilities to make the dream vacation a reality. Are you looking for the perfect oceanfront room? At our Norfolk hotel, a private beach is just steps away. Spend the day sunbathing, playing in the surf, or fishing in the waters. Suites with full kitchens make extended stays simple, and our friendly staff is dedicated to ensuring your stay is as pleasant as possible. The history of the area draws cultural enthusiasts and history buffs to the area, and it is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway. This hotel in Norfolk, VA is also near the Naval Base, and our Norfolk hotel caters to many service men and women. Close proximity to military installations and bases make commutes easy so that guests can squeeze in plenty of leisure time, too. The Virginia Arts Festival International Tattoo event is a particular favorite. Our Norfolk hotel also offers close proximity to universities and colleges in the area. If you are a visiting student, professor or staff member, welcome to your home away from home. Festivals throughout the summer from May to October make those long summer months a little more enjoyable, and big college events like graduation and move-in weekend are simple to get to when staying with us. We are centrally located between all naval installations, including Naval Station Norfolk, Little Creek Expeditionary Base, and Norfolk Naval Air Station. Business travelers with Norfolk Portsmouth Shipyard, Norfolk Southern and Langley and Newport News Shipyard also depend on our Norfolk hotel to provide clean, comfortable accommodations. Our hotel offers many spacious rooms with kitchens, giving guests everything they need for a longer stay. Book a kitchen suite at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites today and save! Enjoy your stay.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,2ND BD SOFA,MICRO,FRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,APTMNT,FULKT,DININGRM,2BDRMS,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVW,OVRSZD,SOFABD,KITCHN,BALCNY,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SOFABED,SEP BEDRM,FULLKITT,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNVW,BALCON,MICRFG,37INCH,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBACC,WALKSH,OCNVW,1STFLR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 5.5 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 6.5 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • Norfolk Scope: 6.9 mi

Dining

Chilies
8 mile(s) from Chilies, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
China Sea Buffett
8 mile(s) from China Sea Buffett, Buffet, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Olive Garden
8 mile(s) from Olive Garden, Full Service, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Gualdalajara
8 mile(s) from Gualdalajara, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Granby North
0.5 mile(s) from Granby North, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Blue Crab
2 mile(s) from Blue Crab, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Apple Bee's
8 mile(s) from Apple Bee's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Mick's Pancake House
0.3 mile(s) from Mick's Pancake House, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast,
Outback Steakhouse
8 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Uncle Louies
3 mile(s) from Uncle Louies, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
88 out of 88
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Preacher-man Wood
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 28, 2010

Not all its cracked up to be

We gave this hotel a try as we thought it would have been competitive being on the "ocean front" which was more like the "Bay front". The suite had a very small bathroom, outdated TVs, and did not have a door seperating the living area from the bedroom. Also, the rooms were so close together that you could hear every sound known to man. There were guests yelling from the balcony to other people in their party, children running out of control, and sounds in between the walls that were unpleasant. Also, you could vividly hear police and ambulance sirens during the night which was irritating. I think we paid too much for the experience we received. I would not suggest this hotel to anyone I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tsphere18
Business
Quantico, VA 22134, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Blood on Sheet

There was blood on our bedsheets! The staff was not very friendly. In fact, the guest services was horrible. No compensation or even a sorry for the bedsheets. Will not recommend this hotel for anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Garden City, Michigan
May 23, 2011

Not impressed....at all

The room was average to small, which was ok. [...] We dropped our bags in the room and went to eat locally. The room smelled every time we entered it. The pillows were hard as rocks, the shower was like a sandblaster even on nonsunburned skin, couldn't open the window to hear and smell the ocean. Remind me again why I booked a room on the ocean where we can't hear it? When I called to inquire about the room in advance of my reservation, I was told there is a balcony to the ocean, and there is a semi private beach. We did not get what we wanted or paid for. [...].At least one thing was right, it was on the beach.Make it better? It seems like a no brainer to us to put windows in that you can open at least. There has to be some kind of safe window you can put in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Preacher-man Wood
Business
Charlotte, NC
Jun 28, 2010

Not all its cracked up to be

We gave this hotel a try as we thought it would have been competitive being on the "ocean front" which was more like the "Bay front". The suite had a very small bathroom, outdated TVs, and did not have a door seperating the living area from the bedroom. Also, the rooms were so close together that you could hear every sound known to man. There were guests yelling from the balcony to other people in their party, children running out of control, and sounds in between the walls that were unpleasant. Also, you could vividly hear police and ambulance sirens during the night which was irritating. I think we paid too much for the experience we received. I would not suggest this hotel to anyone I know.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. DQD
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 18, 2012

Family Reunion

The Staff was friendly. Not a clean place to stay. I appreciated the Manager's assistance and their open mind for suggestions for it is needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
navy visitor
Business
New Castle, Pa
Mar 18, 2013

did not start out well

When we booked the ad said oversized rooms. The room we got was so small it was claustrophobic, It was an end room and you could hardly move. We went and ask if they could move us. They gave us a suite for a $50 upgrade,. That room was great but we did not need a two be room suite. They said all the single quenns were small like our first room. After my sister arrived who also had a single queen I discovered that there single quenn was twice as big as ours. I was not happy. Seems that some of the staff did not know what they were talking about. Very disappointing. Will find another place to stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Original Philly Chessesteak.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kouklo
Business
new york
Jan 10, 2014

Nice location

Loved the location on the beach. The staff is amazing, always smiling and willing to help :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brandy.
Business
Virginia
Mar 25, 2014

Good stay

Staff was friendly, check in and check out were both easy, but room was smaller than i expected. Okay to stay in this queen room if not much time will be spent in it. Next time I'd go to a king size.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Addie'sMommy88
Business
Norfolk, VA, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Great stay!

Great stay and value for the money! SUPER friendly staff. GREAT location!!! RIGHT on the beach! BEACHFRONT... walk out to the sand! Great location on Ocean View to get anywhere you need to go... base, shopping, 64, the tunnel........ You can even have lots of food deliveries to your room if you get hungry and want to order something

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free hot breakfast EVERY morning in hotel. Saved me a ton of money because its a lot of food options plus you can take some of it with you!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
It's just me
Business
Harrisburg, PA
Dec 6, 2011

NICE, but BAD BED:(

GREAT beautiful beach location, GREAT friendly staff, really nice breakfast in the morning. The beds are NOT comfortable. If I had not paid ahead, I would have checked out after the first night. Some people can sleep anywhere. If you like a really firm bed, you will probably be fine:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top