$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 1330 E Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JaneMa
Couples
Indianapolis
Feb 25, 2013

Quick get-away

Needed a room close to family in the area. Staff was very friendly and helpful, also available 24 hours. Room was extremely clean. And location right on the ocean, well, that couldn't be better either. Would highly recommend a stay here. We will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Right up the street in the Farm Fresh strip mall was an amazing Italian place. Very cheap and the food was amazing. Can't remember the name, but it is a small hole in the wall that has amazing food!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EJKG
Couples
north carolina
Oct 19, 2012

great stay

hotel was absolutely great the staff was super friendly, some things in the room could have been a little better but all in all defenitely a great stay would go there again and recommend it to my friends and family, everything is exactly as you see it on the pictures on the internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kgmome3
Family
Virginia
Oct 17, 2012

Pleasantly surprised for the cost

This was a great value. The room was very comfortable, clean and a decent size. The pool was very big along with a very nice patio. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. DQD
Family
Washington, DC
Jul 18, 2012

Family Reunion

The Staff was friendly. Not a clean place to stay. I appreciated the Manager's assistance and their open mind for suggestions for it is needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
loves his family
Family
kings county
Jul 17, 2012

the truth

Before I get into my stay at this hotel I would like to say thank you to Mr Chad Milburn. Chad is the general manager their, aswell a true asset to the Best Western name. He is responsible efficient and more than capable of solving and resolving any of his guest concerns and needs. As he is the definate star and only reason I will return to this hotel, the staff during the day were also a pleasure to deal with. My experience their began as a nightmare with me leaving as soon as i arrived if not for a thunderstorm and my family being exhausted from a long drive. Mr milburn quickley resolved ALL!!!, and any issues me an my famliy had. My advice to anyone planning to stay at this hotel would be to arrive during the day, the overnight staff are not as willing or capable of standard that Mr Milburn and the Best western has displayed to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

hotel rooms with oceanviews are alot smaller than advertised... also local pizzaria stays open until 3am and may be the best i have ever had. and the price was rite!!!!! must have garlic knots

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeML
Couples
Westchester, NY
Jul 13, 2012

Convenient, comfortable, good value

Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean, not spectacular. Location on the beach is nice for a walk (pool also available, did not use). Have been returning for the past few years, and likely will continue to visit. Best value I have found in Norfolk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are shopping and dining locations down E Ocean View Avenue for most anything you need to run out and find. But for good dining, do a little research and travel a bit farther around town.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
westward1
Couples
Evansville, IN
Jun 24, 2012

A good clean place, but needs updating

This was a good hotel. The room was clean, but the shower had mildew in the corners. The bed was fairly comfortable--king size. The mini kitchen was cute, but had hardly any utensils and definteily needed upating. The fan in the bathroom did nothing to get the steam out....so really it did not work at all. The pool was not heated so it was quite uncomfortable to get into and there really wasn't enough lounge chairs for people to sit on. The breakfast was decent each morning and the staff was friendly. Overall it's a good value for what it is, but some cleaning up around the place, updating and such would do it some good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business couple
Business
knoxville TN
Jun 3, 2012

Great hotel but not good location

My husband and I stayed there one night for business and it's a great hotel for the price but not a good location. Location is right on the beach but had suspicious people in the neighborhood. We never had a security issue but did not feel safe. The room itself was above average and we had a nice kitchette. Bath towels were solf and the shower pressure was nice with hot water. You have to drive a distance for decent food. overall average but would not recommend for a long stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wonderful Wayne
Couples
Niagara Falls, NY
May 26, 2012

Good Stay

Staff was very pleasant and friendly, The breakfast was real good. Location was close to anywhere I wanted to go. Quick access to beach. No complaints!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a GPS...........

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jen jen
Couples
Redkey, IN
May 12, 2012

Never Slept So Good

The room was wonderful it was set up just like an apartment, with living/kitchen area and then the bedroom. I would just like to comment on the bed we slept in. It was the most confortable bed, we want one at home now. The room needed to have ocean view though, however would most definately stay again. The only thing we were not happy with was that there was not many sit down family dining places, mostly bar and grills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take a map with you, we found several ways to get back to the hotel without having to back track.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Norfolknative
Roanoke, VA
Apr 7, 2012

What a pleasant surprise

I grew up in Norfolk and this hotel is located in what used to be a bad part of town. This area is now filled with million dollar homes on the water. The hotel is nice enough and well worth what I paid. Its right on the water and has a pool, though not open when I was there. The room was small but would be perfect for 1 or 2 people. It was clean and well taken care of. There are rooms with balconies that seem like they would be very nice. The staff was courteous and pleasant. There is free breakfast both hot and cold items. The eating area was tight so I might suggest loading up and returning to your room. The hotel lived up to a nice, clean, pleasant hotel that is well located on the water. Luxury, no. Comfortable, yes. If you want a room with a balcony, make sure you reserve the right type of room as I did not and the reservation could not be changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Back to menu Return to top