BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

3 stars
1330 E Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
77 reviews
Great beach hotel

Great experience. Stayed for a night to visit a college with my son & was impressed with the... See full review

  • Ronnie and Son
  • Mar 30, 2014
Nice hotel, great location

The room was very clean, although the kitchen was a little bit outdated it was still very nice and... See full review

  • Tony the Mechanic
  • Feb 16, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites! Colonial Williamsburg and fishing are two big reasons many guests stay at our Norfolk hotel, and there are endless possibilities to make the dream vacation a reality. Are you looking for the perfect oceanfront room? At our Norfolk hotel, a private beach is just steps away. Spend the day sunbathing, playing in the surf, or fishing in the waters. Suites with full kitchens make extended stays simple, and our friendly staff is dedicated to ensuring your stay is as pleasant as possible. The history of the area draws cultural enthusiasts and history buffs to the area, and it is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway. This hotel in Norfolk, VA is also near the Naval Base, and our Norfolk hotel caters to many service men and women. Close proximity to military installations and bases make commutes easy so that guests can squeeze in plenty of leisure time, too. The Virginia Arts Festival International Tattoo event is a particular favorite. Our Norfolk hotel also offers close proximity to universities and colleges in the area. If you are a visiting student, professor or staff member, welcome to your home away from home. Festivals throughout the summer from May to October make those long summer months a little more enjoyable, and big college events like graduation and move-in weekend are simple to get to when staying with us. We are centrally located between all naval installations, including Naval Station Norfolk, Little Creek Expeditionary Base, and Norfolk Naval Air Station. Business travelers with Norfolk Portsmouth Shipyard, Norfolk Southern and Langley and Newport News Shipyard also depend on our Norfolk hotel to provide clean, comfortable accommodations. Our hotel offers many spacious rooms with kitchens, giving guests everything they need for a longer stay. Book a kitchen suite at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites today and save!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,2ND BD SOFA,MICRO,FRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,APTMNT,FULKT,DININGRM,2BDRMS,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVW,OVRSZD,SOFABD,KITCHN,BALCNY,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SOFABED,SEP BEDRM,FULLKITT,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNVW,BALCON,MICRFG,37INCH,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBACC,WALKSH,OCNVW,1STFLR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Hotel Map

36.9436 -76.2347
Area served
Chesapeake, Hampton, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Williamsburg, Yorktown, Newport News, Portsmouth
Nearby airports
(ORF), 5.00, MI, W;
Area description
Resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 5.5 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 6.5 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • Norfolk Scope: 6.9 mi

Dining

Surf Rider
2 mile(s) from Surf Rider, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Outback Steakhouse
8 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner,
AJ Gators
8 mile(s) from AJ Gators, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Gualdalajara
8 mile(s) from Gualdalajara, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Granby North
0.5 mile(s) from Granby North, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Degollado
1 mile(s) from Degollado, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Blue Crab
2 mile(s) from Blue Crab, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Olive Garden
8 mile(s) from Olive Garden, Full Service, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
China Sea Buffett
8 mile(s) from China Sea Buffett, Buffet, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Uno's
8 mile(s) from Uno's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Varity
Max & Ermas
8 mile(s) from Max & Ermas, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Apple Bee's
8 mile(s) from Apple Bee's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Uncle Louies
3 mile(s) from Uncle Louies, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Mick's Pancake House
0.3 mile(s) from Mick's Pancake House, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast,
Chilies
8 mile(s) from Chilies, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Julians
8 mile(s) from Julians, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jen jen
Redkey, IN
May 12, 2012

Never Slept So Good

The room was wonderful it was set up just like an apartment, with living/kitchen area and then the bedroom. I would just like to comment on the bed we slept in. It was the most confortable bed, we want one at home now. The room needed to have ocean view though, however would most definately stay again. The only thing we were not happy with was that there was not many sit down family dining places, mostly bar and grills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take a map with you, we found several ways to get back to the hotel without having to back track.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Norfolknative
Roanoke, VA
Apr 7, 2012

What a pleasant surprise

I grew up in Norfolk and this hotel is located in what used to be a bad part of town. This area is now filled with million dollar homes on the water. The hotel is nice enough and well worth what I paid. Its right on the water and has a pool, though not open when I was there. The room was small but would be perfect for 1 or 2 people. It was clean and well taken care of. There are rooms with balconies that seem like they would be very nice. The staff was courteous and pleasant. There is free breakfast both hot and cold items. The eating area was tight so I might suggest loading up and returning to your room. The hotel lived up to a nice, clean, pleasant hotel that is well located on the water. Luxury, no. Comfortable, yes. If you want a room with a balcony, make sure you reserve the right type of room as I did not and the reservation could not be changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On the Road Jack
Business
Salem, VA
Apr 2, 2012

Half a room for half the price

The room shown on the website is not the room that I stayed. NO window to see anything other than the parking lot. The website clearly showed the bay. Think a 1950's room when making this reservation. Great staff and room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tsphere18
Quantico, VA 22134, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Blood on Sheet

There was blood on our bedsheets! The staff was not very friendly. In fact, the guest services was horrible. No compensation or even a sorry for the bedsheets. Will not recommend this hotel for anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I.L.A.
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Good Value, Cramped Room

Friendly staff welcomed me. The room itself was one of the smallest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. It was clean but just cramped. My room faced the parking lot so I couls hear the street. The location was a +, especially as it is directly on the beach. Also a + for having a gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Born to be wild
Piedmont Triad, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Beach Getaway

This was a pleasure trip and the hotel made it. The staff was very knowledgeable and friendly. It IS a beach hotel, so the weather has given it some wear and tear. The beds were alittle hard. There was no meat or catsup at the hot breakfast bar. That was minor since the rest of the food was delicious. Grounds and room were very clean. Beautiful landscaping. Coffee, hot choclate and internet 24 hr "easy" access.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mojo Bones if you like ribs and Jazz!!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
It's just me
Harrisburg, PA
Dec 6, 2011

NICE, but BAD BED:(

GREAT beautiful beach location, GREAT friendly staff, really nice breakfast in the morning. The beds are NOT comfortable. If I had not paid ahead, I would have checked out after the first night. Some people can sleep anywhere. If you like a really firm bed, you will probably be fine:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Addie'sMommy88
Norfolk, VA, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Great stay!

Great stay and value for the money! SUPER friendly staff. GREAT location!!! RIGHT on the beach! BEACHFRONT... walk out to the sand! Great location on Ocean View to get anywhere you need to go... base, shopping, 64, the tunnel........ You can even have lots of food deliveries to your room if you get hungry and want to order something

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Free hot breakfast EVERY morning in hotel. Saved me a ton of money because its a lot of food options plus you can take some of it with you!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phantom404
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Great Stay

When I got there, they did not have my room available. This was because I booked online after midnight, so they were expecting me for the following day. Still, they found me a room and did not even charge me for the first day. The location is really great, right on the Chesapeake Bay beach and not difficult to get to. Parking is ample and easy. The standard room I got for my first two nights was very small, but cozy and had everything I needed. The TV could be newer and beds could be a bit more comfortable, but it was a very nice hotel for the price. Staff was very nice and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
phantom404
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 12, 2011

Great Hotel

This hotel's location was great, right on the Chesapeake Bay beach, my room was an oceanfront suite and included a microwave, fridge, and full stove and kitchenette with a desk. TVs could be newer. The staff was accomodating and breakfast is nice. Not right off a highway, but the beach location and easy access made it worth it. Very reasonably priced. The booked rates were much less than if I booked it directly at the desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top