$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

3 stars
1330 E Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
81 reviews
End of summer vacation

We have been coming here for many years. When we walked in, staff immediately recognized us.We come... See full review

  • Judy Ruth Grand mother
  • Sep 10, 2014
Great beach hotel

Great experience. Stayed for a night to visit a college with my son & was impressed with the... See full review

  • Ronnie and Son
  • Mar 30, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites! Colonial Williamsburg and fishing are two big reasons many guests stay at our Norfolk hotel, and there are endless possibilities to make the dream vacation a reality. Are you looking for the perfect oceanfront room? At our Norfolk hotel, a private beach is just steps away. Spend the day sunbathing, playing in the surf, or fishing in the waters. Suites with full kitchens make extended stays simple, and our friendly staff is dedicated to ensuring your stay is as pleasant as possible. The history of the area draws cultural enthusiasts and history buffs to the area, and it is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway. This hotel in Norfolk, VA is also near the Naval Base, and our Norfolk hotel caters to many service men and women. Close proximity to military installations and bases make commutes easy so that guests can squeeze in plenty of leisure time, too. The Virginia Arts Festival International Tattoo event is a particular favorite. Our Norfolk hotel also offers close proximity to universities and colleges in the area. If you are a visiting student, professor or staff member, welcome to your home away from home. Festivals throughout the summer from May to October make those long summer months a little more enjoyable, and big college events like graduation and move-in weekend are simple to get to when staying with us. We are centrally located between all naval installations, including Naval Station Norfolk, Little Creek Expeditionary Base, and Norfolk Naval Air Station. Business travelers with Norfolk Portsmouth Shipyard, Norfolk Southern and Langley and Newport News Shipyard also depend on our Norfolk hotel to provide clean, comfortable accommodations. Our hotel offers many spacious rooms with kitchens, giving guests everything they need for a longer stay. Book a kitchen suite at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites today and save!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,2ND BD SOFA,MICRO,FRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,APTMNT,FULKT,DININGRM,2BDRMS,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVW,OVRSZD,SOFABD,KITCHN,BALCNY,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SOFABED,SEP BEDRM,FULLKITT,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNVW,BALCON,MICRFG,37INCH,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBACC,WALKSH,OCNVW,1STFLR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 5.5 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 6.5 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • Norfolk Scope: 6.9 mi

Dining

Degollado
1 mile(s) from Degollado, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Gualdalajara
8 mile(s) from Gualdalajara, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Apple Bee's
8 mile(s) from Apple Bee's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chilies
8 mile(s) from Chilies, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Surf Rider
2 mile(s) from Surf Rider, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Mick's Pancake House
0.3 mile(s) from Mick's Pancake House, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast,
Outback Steakhouse
8 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner,
China Sea Buffett
8 mile(s) from China Sea Buffett, Buffet, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Max & Ermas
8 mile(s) from Max & Ermas, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Julians
8 mile(s) from Julians, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
loves his family
Business
kings county
Jul 17, 2012

the truth

Before I get into my stay at this hotel I would like to say thank you to Mr Chad Milburn. Chad is the general manager their, aswell a true asset to the Best Western name. He is responsible efficient and more than capable of solving and resolving any of his guest concerns and needs. As he is the definate star and only reason I will return to this hotel, the staff during the day were also a pleasure to deal with. My experience their began as a nightmare with me leaving as soon as i arrived if not for a thunderstorm and my family being exhausted from a long drive. Mr milburn quickley resolved ALL!!!, and any issues me an my famliy had. My advice to anyone planning to stay at this hotel would be to arrive during the day, the overnight staff are not as willing or capable of standard that Mr Milburn and the Best western has displayed to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

hotel rooms with oceanviews are alot smaller than advertised... also local pizzaria stays open until 3am and may be the best i have ever had. and the price was rite!!!!! must have garlic knots

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeML
Business
Westchester, NY
Jul 13, 2012

Convenient, comfortable, good value

Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean, not spectacular. Location on the beach is nice for a walk (pool also available, did not use). Have been returning for the past few years, and likely will continue to visit. Best value I have found in Norfolk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are shopping and dining locations down E Ocean View Avenue for most anything you need to run out and find. But for good dining, do a little research and travel a bit farther around town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
westward1
Business
Evansville, IN
Jun 24, 2012

A good clean place, but needs updating

This was a good hotel. The room was clean, but the shower had mildew in the corners. The bed was fairly comfortable--king size. The mini kitchen was cute, but had hardly any utensils and definteily needed upating. The fan in the bathroom did nothing to get the steam out....so really it did not work at all. The pool was not heated so it was quite uncomfortable to get into and there really wasn't enough lounge chairs for people to sit on. The breakfast was decent each morning and the staff was friendly. Overall it's a good value for what it is, but some cleaning up around the place, updating and such would do it some good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Business couple
Business
knoxville TN
Jun 3, 2012

Great hotel but not good location

My husband and I stayed there one night for business and it's a great hotel for the price but not a good location. Location is right on the beach but had suspicious people in the neighborhood. We never had a security issue but did not feel safe. The room itself was above average and we had a nice kitchette. Bath towels were solf and the shower pressure was nice with hot water. You have to drive a distance for decent food. overall average but would not recommend for a long stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wonderful Wayne
Business
Niagara Falls, NY
May 26, 2012

Good Stay

Staff was very pleasant and friendly, The breakfast was real good. Location was close to anywhere I wanted to go. Quick access to beach. No complaints!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take a GPS...........

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jen jen
Business
Redkey, IN
May 12, 2012

Never Slept So Good

The room was wonderful it was set up just like an apartment, with living/kitchen area and then the bedroom. I would just like to comment on the bed we slept in. It was the most confortable bed, we want one at home now. The room needed to have ocean view though, however would most definately stay again. The only thing we were not happy with was that there was not many sit down family dining places, mostly bar and grills.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

take a map with you, we found several ways to get back to the hotel without having to back track.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Norfolknative
Business
Roanoke, VA
Apr 7, 2012

What a pleasant surprise

I grew up in Norfolk and this hotel is located in what used to be a bad part of town. This area is now filled with million dollar homes on the water. The hotel is nice enough and well worth what I paid. Its right on the water and has a pool, though not open when I was there. The room was small but would be perfect for 1 or 2 people. It was clean and well taken care of. There are rooms with balconies that seem like they would be very nice. The staff was courteous and pleasant. There is free breakfast both hot and cold items. The eating area was tight so I might suggest loading up and returning to your room. The hotel lived up to a nice, clean, pleasant hotel that is well located on the water. Luxury, no. Comfortable, yes. If you want a room with a balcony, make sure you reserve the right type of room as I did not and the reservation could not be changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On the Road Jack
Business
Salem, VA
Apr 2, 2012

Half a room for half the price

The room shown on the website is not the room that I stayed. NO window to see anything other than the parking lot. The website clearly showed the bay. Think a 1950's room when making this reservation. Great staff and room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tsphere18
Business
Quantico, VA 22134, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Blood on Sheet

There was blood on our bedsheets! The staff was not very friendly. In fact, the guest services was horrible. No compensation or even a sorry for the bedsheets. Will not recommend this hotel for anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
I.L.A.
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Jan 10, 2012

Good Value, Cramped Room

Friendly staff welcomed me. The room itself was one of the smallest hotel rooms I have ever stayed in. It was clean but just cramped. My room faced the parking lot so I couls hear the street. The location was a +, especially as it is directly on the beach. Also a + for having a gym.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top