$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 18, 2014 Check-out: Nov 21, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

3 stars
1330 E Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
79 reviews
End of summer vacation

We have been coming here for many years. When we walked in, staff immediately recognized us.We come... See full review

  • Judy Ruth Grand mother
  • Sep 10, 2014
Great beach hotel

Great experience. Stayed for a night to visit a college with my son & was impressed with the... See full review

  • Ronnie and Son
  • Mar 30, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites! Colonial Williamsburg and fishing are two big reasons many guests stay at our Norfolk hotel, and there are endless possibilities to make the dream vacation a reality. Are you looking for the perfect oceanfront room? At our Norfolk hotel, a private beach is just steps away. Spend the day sunbathing, playing in the surf, or fishing in the waters. Suites with full kitchens make extended stays simple, and our friendly staff is dedicated to ensuring your stay is as pleasant as possible. The history of the area draws cultural enthusiasts and history buffs to the area, and it is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway. This hotel in Norfolk, VA is also near the Naval Base, and our Norfolk hotel caters to many service men and women. Close proximity to military installations and bases make commutes easy so that guests can squeeze in plenty of leisure time, too. The Virginia Arts Festival International Tattoo event is a particular favorite. Our Norfolk hotel also offers close proximity to universities and colleges in the area. If you are a visiting student, professor or staff member, welcome to your home away from home. Festivals throughout the summer from May to October make those long summer months a little more enjoyable, and big college events like graduation and move-in weekend are simple to get to when staying with us. We are centrally located between all naval installations, including Naval Station Norfolk, Little Creek Expeditionary Base, and Norfolk Naval Air Station. Business travelers with Norfolk Portsmouth Shipyard, Norfolk Southern and Langley and Newport News Shipyard also depend on our Norfolk hotel to provide clean, comfortable accommodations. Our hotel offers many spacious rooms with kitchens, giving guests everything they need for a longer stay. Book a kitchen suite at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites today and save!

Hotel Map

36.9436 -76.2347
Area served
Hampton, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, Yorktown, Newport News, Chesapeake, Williamsburg, Portsmouth
Nearby airports
(ORF), 5.00, MI, W;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,2ND BD SOFA,MICRO,FRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,APTMNT,FULKT,DININGRM,2BDRMS,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVW,OVRSZD,SOFABD,KITCHN,BALCNY,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SOFABED,SEP BEDRM,FULLKITT,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNVW,BALCON,MICRFG,37INCH,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBACC,WALKSH,OCNVW,1STFLR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 5.5 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 6.5 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • Norfolk Scope: 6.9 mi

Dining

Max & Ermas
8 mile(s) from Max & Ermas, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Olive Garden
8 mile(s) from Olive Garden, Full Service, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Granby North
0.5 mile(s) from Granby North, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Mick's Pancake House
0.3 mile(s) from Mick's Pancake House, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast,
Gualdalajara
8 mile(s) from Gualdalajara, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Apple Bee's
8 mile(s) from Apple Bee's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Uncle Louies
3 mile(s) from Uncle Louies, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Julians
8 mile(s) from Julians, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
AJ Gators
8 mile(s) from AJ Gators, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Degollado
1 mile(s) from Degollado, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (79)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
14thelord
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 26, 2013

A very good place to stay!

The room was welcoming and well decorated, beds were very comfortable, and bathroom was nicely upgraded with granite surfaces. Hotel staff was very pleasant and accomodating. I would recommend their upgrade for $30 to a full ocean view with a balcony!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to the beach

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
navy visitor
Business
New Castle, Pa
Mar 18, 2013

did not start out well

When we booked the ad said oversized rooms. The room we got was so small it was claustrophobic, It was an end room and you could hardly move. We went and ask if they could move us. They gave us a suite for a $50 upgrade,. That room was great but we did not need a two be room suite. They said all the single quenns were small like our first room. After my sister arrived who also had a single queen I discovered that there single quenn was twice as big as ours. I was not happy. Seems that some of the staff did not know what they were talking about. Very disappointing. Will find another place to stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Original Philly Chessesteak.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JaneMa
Business
Indianapolis
Feb 25, 2013

Quick get-away

Needed a room close to family in the area. Staff was very friendly and helpful, also available 24 hours. Room was extremely clean. And location right on the ocean, well, that couldn't be better either. Would highly recommend a stay here. We will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Right up the street in the Farm Fresh strip mall was an amazing Italian place. Very cheap and the food was amazing. Can't remember the name, but it is a small hole in the wall that has amazing food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chole'
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Feb 3, 2013

Clean and worth the value

This is my 3rd stay at this hotel and I've been very pleased. I have a room that I like the best and they have been good about assigning it to me. The breakfast is not bad and it saves me time in the morning. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The location is also quite. I don't hear traffic or people outside either. Love the towels, their nice, thick and soft. Pillows are comfortable too! I'm picky about these things, so I think they do a good job. The most important thing for me is cleanliness and a good smell. They get a 5 star from me on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
enj82
Business
St. Marys, GA
Dec 3, 2012

Wish we could have stayed longer!

We stayed in a suite because with a family of 5, two queen beds just isn't enough. The room was very clean, had plenty of room, was easy to find, and the full kitchen meant we could cook meals in the kitchen. The only negative was that the room was hot. In order to cool the back room, we had to turn the A/C on, which made the front room freezing. We ended up going to a different hotel the 2nd night because the price was $30 higher, and we are PCS orders and a very tight budget. I wish we had stayed- it was well worth the extra $30!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EJKG
Business
north carolina
Oct 19, 2012

great stay

hotel was absolutely great the staff was super friendly, some things in the room could have been a little better but all in all defenitely a great stay would go there again and recommend it to my friends and family, everything is exactly as you see it on the pictures on the internet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kgmome3
Business
Virginia
Oct 17, 2012

Pleasantly surprised for the cost

This was a great value. The room was very comfortable, clean and a decent size. The pool was very big along with a very nice patio. The location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mr. DQD
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 18, 2012

Family Reunion

The Staff was friendly. Not a clean place to stay. I appreciated the Manager's assistance and their open mind for suggestions for it is needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
loves his family
Business
kings county
Jul 17, 2012

the truth

Before I get into my stay at this hotel I would like to say thank you to Mr Chad Milburn. Chad is the general manager their, aswell a true asset to the Best Western name. He is responsible efficient and more than capable of solving and resolving any of his guest concerns and needs. As he is the definate star and only reason I will return to this hotel, the staff during the day were also a pleasure to deal with. My experience their began as a nightmare with me leaving as soon as i arrived if not for a thunderstorm and my family being exhausted from a long drive. Mr milburn quickley resolved ALL!!!, and any issues me an my famliy had. My advice to anyone planning to stay at this hotel would be to arrive during the day, the overnight staff are not as willing or capable of standard that Mr Milburn and the Best western has displayed to me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

hotel rooms with oceanviews are alot smaller than advertised... also local pizzaria stays open until 3am and may be the best i have ever had. and the price was rite!!!!! must have garlic knots

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JoeML
Business
Westchester, NY
Jul 13, 2012

Convenient, comfortable, good value

Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean, not spectacular. Location on the beach is nice for a walk (pool also available, did not use). Have been returning for the past few years, and likely will continue to visit. Best value I have found in Norfolk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

There are shopping and dining locations down E Ocean View Avenue for most anything you need to run out and find. But for good dining, do a little research and travel a bit farther around town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top