$55 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 3, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

3 stars
1330 E Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
81 reviews
End of summer vacation

We have been coming here for many years. When we walked in, staff immediately recognized us.We come... See full review

  • Judy Ruth Grand mother
  • Sep 10, 2014
Great beach hotel

Great experience. Stayed for a night to visit a college with my son & was impressed with the... See full review

  • Ronnie and Son
  • Mar 30, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites! Colonial Williamsburg and fishing are two big reasons many guests stay at our Norfolk hotel, and there are endless possibilities to make the dream vacation a reality. Are you looking for the perfect oceanfront room? At our Norfolk hotel, a private beach is just steps away. Spend the day sunbathing, playing in the surf, or fishing in the waters. Suites with full kitchens make extended stays simple, and our friendly staff is dedicated to ensuring your stay is as pleasant as possible. The history of the area draws cultural enthusiasts and history buffs to the area, and it is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway. This hotel in Norfolk, VA is also near the Naval Base, and our Norfolk hotel caters to many service men and women. Close proximity to military installations and bases make commutes easy so that guests can squeeze in plenty of leisure time, too. The Virginia Arts Festival International Tattoo event is a particular favorite. Our Norfolk hotel also offers close proximity to universities and colleges in the area. If you are a visiting student, professor or staff member, welcome to your home away from home. Festivals throughout the summer from May to October make those long summer months a little more enjoyable, and big college events like graduation and move-in weekend are simple to get to when staying with us. We are centrally located between all naval installations, including Naval Station Norfolk, Little Creek Expeditionary Base, and Norfolk Naval Air Station. Business travelers with Norfolk Portsmouth Shipyard, Norfolk Southern and Langley and Newport News Shipyard also depend on our Norfolk hotel to provide clean, comfortable accommodations. Our hotel offers many spacious rooms with kitchens, giving guests everything they need for a longer stay. Book a kitchen suite at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites today and save!

Hotel Map

36.9436 -76.2347
Area served
Hampton, Chesapeake, Williamsburg, Yorktown, Suffolk, Newport News, Portsmouth, Virginia Beach
Nearby airports
(ORF), 5.00, MI, W;
Area description
Resort

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,2ND BD SOFA,MICRO,FRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,APTMNT,FULKT,DININGRM,2BDRMS,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVW,OVRSZD,SOFABD,KITCHN,BALCNY,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SOFABED,SEP BEDRM,FULLKITT,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNVW,BALCON,MICRFG,37INCH,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBACC,WALKSH,OCNVW,1STFLR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 5.5 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 6.5 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • Norfolk Scope: 6.9 mi

Dining

Degollado
1 mile(s) from Degollado, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Gualdalajara
8 mile(s) from Gualdalajara, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Apple Bee's
8 mile(s) from Apple Bee's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Chilies
8 mile(s) from Chilies, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Surf Rider
2 mile(s) from Surf Rider, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Mick's Pancake House
0.3 mile(s) from Mick's Pancake House, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast,
Outback Steakhouse
8 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner,
China Sea Buffett
8 mile(s) from China Sea Buffett, Buffet, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Max & Ermas
8 mile(s) from Max & Ermas, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Julians
8 mile(s) from Julians, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (81)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JaneMa
Indianapolis
Feb 25, 2013

Quick get-away

Needed a room close to family in the area. Staff was very friendly and helpful, also available 24 hours. Room was extremely clean. And location right on the ocean, well, that couldn't be better either. Would highly recommend a stay here. We will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Right up the street in the Farm Fresh strip mall was an amazing Italian place. Very cheap and the food was amazing. Can't remember the name, but it is a small hole in the wall that has amazing food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kouklo
Business
new york
Jan 10, 2014

Nice location

Loved the location on the beach. The staff is amazing, always smiling and willing to help :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC Jeremy
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 27, 2013

Get what you pay for

Not bad for the price. Had a mini-suite, separate bedroom from living room. There was no door between the two rooms though. The breakfast was OK, on par with the lower room rates. We stay at this hotel at least twice a year because of the short distance from family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ReddyRed
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Dec 6, 2013

Great place for a clean affordable stay

Room was very clean. They have breakfast in the morning and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Out West
Business
East coast
Oct 2, 2013

Family getaway

we were checked in by a most pleasant and friendly receptionist, she was most helpful, especially when we requested a fan for our stay. when we asked for a dinner spot, she recommended Captain Groovy which was only a few minutes down the road. the beach is right out back, can't get any better. I believe the rooms on our section might be going through a bit of a renovation, but since we were only staying for two nights, the room was good enough. Great bath towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

9 to 5, it is small eatery about a ten minute walk from the hotel just hang a right at the parking lot, you can't miss it. we had breakfast, and it was really good, especially their cranberry raisin bread French toast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Butterfly Mom
Business
Norfolk, VA
Sep 16, 2013

Great place to stay!

I stayed this past weekend, and the location was perfect, the amenities (pool, room, breakfast) were all top notch. I actually live in the area and have driven by many times and decided to stay for the weekend to see if it's a good place to put out of town visitors. It's terrific...great staff also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for a nice place to eat, Franco's Italian next to the Farm Fresh down the street in a strip mall. Don't be concerned, the area can be a little dicey but the restaurant is also top notch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newly engadged
Business
pleasantville,nj
Jul 24, 2013

memorable anniversary trip

we loved the hotel, the staff was friendly, rooms were clean and spacious. the only bad thing I could say would be parking! every night after a night out doing tourist stuff, all parking spots would be taken and you would end up having to park in the next parking lot/across the street... needles to say it made you not want to take your car out a lot! besides that the bay was RIGHT in your back yard and such easy access to the pool and beach. we would stay there again anytime!!!! for both family and just couples vaca!!! very much recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

FREE MASON ABBEY, a lovely fresh restaurant! steaks, seafood, drinks! and lovely service! romantic atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EASshing
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 15, 2013

Memorable

The room was very comfortable with the complimentary breakfast perfect for an early start. The pool and beach were refreshing and special. The staff was very helpful and nice especially David. Overall the stay was good stuff. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CrevilB
Business
Winchester, Virginia
Jun 6, 2013

Fantastic!

Without a doubt this is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. All the staff was cheerful, helpful and happy. You were greeted by all staff with a "Good Morning" or "Good Afternoon" and a smile. I can't say enough about the cleanliness or the hospitality. From the front desk clerk who checked us in to the ladies serving breakfast to the cleaning crew everyone was pleasant and ready to assist. They truly appeared to want to make sure you enjoyed your stay. Well, we did. Thank you! The private beach is a nice touch as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Groovy's is not what it appears. They are high priced and the food is prepped by a Chef. Not a shrimp and crab shack.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MckeyMaint.
Business
NY
May 29, 2013

Navy Fam Visit

The hotel is very clean and the hotel staff is friendly. This the 2nd time we have stayed here and both times have been great. We went to the beach there it was nice and private, not crowded. We didn't get to use the pool but it looked nice and clean. The breakfast is ample and the staff there is also great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GFer26
Business
Jersey City, New Jersey
May 27, 2013

Ok for the price

If you want to be away from the craziness this hotel is located 18 miles from the action, they give you what they promise. A little expensive for a motel but the staff is very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast was good

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top