$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: May 1, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

3 stars
View map of 1330 E Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JaneMa
Indianapolis
Feb 25, 2013

Quick get-away

Needed a room close to family in the area. Staff was very friendly and helpful, also available 24 hours. Room was extremely clean. And location right on the ocean, well, that couldn't be better either. Would highly recommend a stay here. We will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Right up the street in the Farm Fresh strip mall was an amazing Italian place. Very cheap and the food was amazing. Can't remember the name, but it is a small hole in the wall that has amazing food!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tony the Mechanic
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 16, 2014

Nice hotel, great location

The room was very clean, although the kitchen was a little bit outdated it was still very nice and did have a newer fridge and microwave, but it could have used a few more kitchen utensills. The bathroom was modern, clean and had plenty of towels and washcloths. The staff was just outstanding and the free breakfast was excellent. Our room overlooked the Chesapeake bay, it was a gorgeous view and the hotel has its own private beach. The hotel is less than 10 minutes from the Norfolk Naval Station, which was perfect because we were there to visit our son who is in the Navy. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Norfolk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Nauticus maritime Museum and the battleship USS Wisconsin in downtown Norfolk we had a great day there you will not regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Shen2000
Business
Basye, VA
Jan 18, 2014

Home away from home, by the Bay!

Superb motel, great Staff, Luscious pleasant breakfast!! We always try to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't miss Greenies for some great shrimp, superb bar and lots of music and dancing in the evening, all on the deck beside the bay. Also, Thirsty Camel restaurant is also awesome, beside pier, just a short distance away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
kouklo
Business
new york
Jan 10, 2014

Nice location

Loved the location on the beach. The staff is amazing, always smiling and willing to help :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC Jeremy
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 27, 2013

Get what you pay for

Not bad for the price. Had a mini-suite, separate bedroom from living room. There was no door between the two rooms though. The breakfast was OK, on par with the lower room rates. We stay at this hotel at least twice a year because of the short distance from family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ReddyRed
Business
Chesapeake, VA
Dec 6, 2013

Great place for a clean affordable stay

Room was very clean. They have breakfast in the morning and the staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Out West
Business
East coast
Oct 2, 2013

Family getaway

we were checked in by a most pleasant and friendly receptionist, she was most helpful, especially when we requested a fan for our stay. when we asked for a dinner spot, she recommended Captain Groovy which was only a few minutes down the road. the beach is right out back, can't get any better. I believe the rooms on our section might be going through a bit of a renovation, but since we were only staying for two nights, the room was good enough. Great bath towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

9 to 5, it is small eatery about a ten minute walk from the hotel just hang a right at the parking lot, you can't miss it. we had breakfast, and it was really good, especially their cranberry raisin bread French toast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Butterfly Mom
Business
Norfolk, VA
Sep 16, 2013

Great place to stay!

I stayed this past weekend, and the location was perfect, the amenities (pool, room, breakfast) were all top notch. I actually live in the area and have driven by many times and decided to stay for the weekend to see if it's a good place to put out of town visitors. It's terrific...great staff also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are looking for a nice place to eat, Franco's Italian next to the Farm Fresh down the street in a strip mall. Don't be concerned, the area can be a little dicey but the restaurant is also top notch.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newly engadged
Business
pleasantville,nj
Jul 24, 2013

memorable anniversary trip

we loved the hotel, the staff was friendly, rooms were clean and spacious. the only bad thing I could say would be parking! every night after a night out doing tourist stuff, all parking spots would be taken and you would end up having to park in the next parking lot/across the street... needles to say it made you not want to take your car out a lot! besides that the bay was RIGHT in your back yard and such easy access to the pool and beach. we would stay there again anytime!!!! for both family and just couples vaca!!! very much recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

FREE MASON ABBEY, a lovely fresh restaurant! steaks, seafood, drinks! and lovely service! romantic atmosphere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EASshing
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 15, 2013

Memorable

The room was very comfortable with the complimentary breakfast perfect for an early start. The pool and beach were refreshing and special. The staff was very helpful and nice especially David. Overall the stay was good stuff. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CrevilB
Business
Winchester, Virginia
Jun 6, 2013

Fantastic!

Without a doubt this is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. All the staff was cheerful, helpful and happy. You were greeted by all staff with a "Good Morning" or "Good Afternoon" and a smile. I can't say enough about the cleanliness or the hospitality. From the front desk clerk who checked us in to the ladies serving breakfast to the cleaning crew everyone was pleasant and ready to assist. They truly appeared to want to make sure you enjoyed your stay. Well, we did. Thank you! The private beach is a nice touch as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Groovy's is not what it appears. They are high priced and the food is prepped by a Chef. Not a shrimp and crab shack.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top