BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

3 stars
1330 E Ocean View Avenue, Norfolk, VA 23503-2208
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
77 reviews
Great beach hotel

Great experience. Stayed for a night to visit a college with my son & was impressed with the... See full review

  • Ronnie and Son
  • Mar 30, 2014
Nice hotel, great location

The room was very clean, although the kitchen was a little bit outdated it was still very nice and... See full review

  • Tony the Mechanic
  • Feb 16, 2014
Welcome to BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites! Colonial Williamsburg and fishing are two big reasons many guests stay at our Norfolk hotel, and there are endless possibilities to make the dream vacation a reality. Are you looking for the perfect oceanfront room? At our Norfolk hotel, a private beach is just steps away. Spend the day sunbathing, playing in the surf, or fishing in the waters. Suites with full kitchens make extended stays simple, and our friendly staff is dedicated to ensuring your stay is as pleasant as possible. The history of the area draws cultural enthusiasts and history buffs to the area, and it is the perfect destination for a romantic getaway. This hotel in Norfolk, VA is also near the Naval Base, and our Norfolk hotel caters to many service men and women. Close proximity to military installations and bases make commutes easy so that guests can squeeze in plenty of leisure time, too. The Virginia Arts Festival International Tattoo event is a particular favorite. Our Norfolk hotel also offers close proximity to universities and colleges in the area. If you are a visiting student, professor or staff member, welcome to your home away from home. Festivals throughout the summer from May to October make those long summer months a little more enjoyable, and big college events like graduation and move-in weekend are simple to get to when staying with us. We are centrally located between all naval installations, including Naval Station Norfolk, Little Creek Expeditionary Base, and Norfolk Naval Air Station. Business travelers with Norfolk Portsmouth Shipyard, Norfolk Southern and Langley and Newport News Shipyard also depend on our Norfolk hotel to provide clean, comfortable accommodations. Our hotel offers many spacious rooms with kitchens, giving guests everything they need for a longer stay. Book a kitchen suite at BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites today and save!

BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites Rooms

SUITE-1 KING BED
SUITE-1 KING BED,NSMK,HI SPEED NET,2ND BD SOFA,MICRO,FRIG,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,APTMNT,FULKT,DININGRM,2BDRMS,SOFABD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 KING BED
1 KING BED,NSMK,OCEANVW,OVRSZD,SOFABD,KITCHN,BALCNY,FULL BREAKFAST
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS
SUITE-2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,SOFABED,SEP BEDRM,FULLKITT,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,OCNVW,BALCON,MICRFG,37INCH,HISPD,FULL BREAKFAST
1 QUEEN BED
1 QUEEN BED,MOBACC,WALKSH,OCNVW,1STFLR,SOFBD,NSMK,FULL BREAKFAST
2 QUEEN BEDS
2 QUEEN BEDS,NSMK,MICRFG,37INCH,IRON,HISPD,HAIRD,FULL BREAKFAST

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Fishing
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Over sized rooms
Sofa bed
Ironing board

Hotel Map

36.9436 -76.2347
Area served
Chesapeake, Hampton, Virginia Beach, Suffolk, Williamsburg, Yorktown, Newport News, Portsmouth
Nearby airports
(ORF), 5.00, MI, W;
Area description
Resort

Nearby points of interest

  • Ted Constant Convocation Center: 5.5 mi
  • Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center: 6.5 mi
  • William (Dick) Price Stadium: 6.8 mi
  • Norfolk Scope: 6.9 mi

Dining

Surf Rider
2 mile(s) from Surf Rider, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Outback Steakhouse
8 mile(s) from Outback Steakhouse, Full Service, Steak House, Open for: lunch, dinner,
AJ Gators
8 mile(s) from AJ Gators, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Gualdalajara
8 mile(s) from Gualdalajara, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Granby North
0.5 mile(s) from Granby North, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Degollado
1 mile(s) from Degollado, Full Service, Mexican, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Blue Crab
2 mile(s) from Blue Crab, Full Service, Seafood, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Olive Garden
8 mile(s) from Olive Garden, Full Service, Italian, Open for: lunch, dinner,
China Sea Buffett
8 mile(s) from China Sea Buffett, Buffet, Chinese, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Uno's
8 mile(s) from Uno's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Varity
Max & Ermas
8 mile(s) from Max & Ermas, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Apple Bee's
8 mile(s) from Apple Bee's, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Uncle Louies
3 mile(s) from Uncle Louies, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,
Mick's Pancake House
0.3 mile(s) from Mick's Pancake House, Full Service, American, Open for: breakfast,
Chilies
8 mile(s) from Chilies, Full Service, American, Open for: lunch, dinner, Variety
Julians
8 mile(s) from Julians, Bar/Lounge, American, Open for: lunch, dinner,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (77)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
77 out of 77
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
newly engadged
pleasantville,nj
Jul 24, 2013

memorable anniversary trip

we loved the hotel, the staff was friendly, rooms were clean and spacious. the only bad thing I could say would be parking! every night after a night out doing tourist stuff, all parking spots would be taken and you would end up having to park in the next parking lot/across the street... needles to say it made you not want to take your car out a lot! besides that the bay was RIGHT in your back yard and such easy access to the pool and beach. we would stay there again anytime!!!! for both family and just couples vaca!!! very much recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

FREE MASON ABBEY, a lovely fresh restaurant! steaks, seafood, drinks! and lovely service! romantic atmosphere.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EASshing
Las Vegas
Jul 15, 2013

Memorable

The room was very comfortable with the complimentary breakfast perfect for an early start. The pool and beach were refreshing and special. The staff was very helpful and nice especially David. Overall the stay was good stuff. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CrevilB
Winchester, Virginia
Jun 6, 2013

Fantastic!

Without a doubt this is the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. All the staff was cheerful, helpful and happy. You were greeted by all staff with a "Good Morning" or "Good Afternoon" and a smile. I can't say enough about the cleanliness or the hospitality. From the front desk clerk who checked us in to the ladies serving breakfast to the cleaning crew everyone was pleasant and ready to assist. They truly appeared to want to make sure you enjoyed your stay. Well, we did. Thank you! The private beach is a nice touch as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Captain Groovy's is not what it appears. They are high priced and the food is prepped by a Chef. Not a shrimp and crab shack.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MckeyMaint.
NY
May 29, 2013

Navy Fam Visit

The hotel is very clean and the hotel staff is friendly. This the 2nd time we have stayed here and both times have been great. We went to the beach there it was nice and private, not crowded. We didn't get to use the pool but it looked nice and clean. The breakfast is ample and the staff there is also great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
GFer26
Jersey City, New Jersey
May 27, 2013

Ok for the price

If you want to be away from the craziness this hotel is located 18 miles from the action, they give you what they promise. A little expensive for a motel but the staff is very helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast was good

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
April Rain
Business
Tacoma, Washington
Apr 18, 2013

Very Good Value!

We wanted to do an early check in as we arrived on a red eye flight very early from the West Coast. At first we were met with a little push back, but immediately another staff member checked what was available and said that she could upgrade us for a minimal one time charge. We agreed and were allowed to check in right away. The rooms are clearly dated, but well stocked. The bathrooms have had a decent upgrade, but the thing that completely sold us was our ocean view from all windows in the room as well as the less than 60 second walk to the beach! When considering that you're not going to be spending your time at the beach, in your room, you simply can not beat the deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out a couple of local spots, 905 Cafe has PERFECTED the fish taco! Then just a little way further down Ocean View Drive is a fantastic BBQ Blues house called Mojo Jones! Both places appear to be a little "divey" but it's usually been our experience that these are the best spots for outstanding service and killer food!!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Emmasmommy
Hastings, MI
Apr 8, 2013

Wonderful view

We had a wonderful view of the beach. The beach access was very nice and easy to get to. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't shop at the 7-11 down the street, go a little further down the street to the shopping center on the right hand side

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
14thelord
San Diego, CA
Mar 26, 2013

A very good place to stay!

The room was welcoming and well decorated, beds were very comfortable, and bathroom was nicely upgraded with granite surfaces. Hotel staff was very pleasant and accomodating. I would recommend their upgrade for $30 to a full ocean view with a balcony!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

to the beach

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
navy visitor
New Castle, Pa
Mar 18, 2013

did not start out well

When we booked the ad said oversized rooms. The room we got was so small it was claustrophobic, It was an end room and you could hardly move. We went and ask if they could move us. They gave us a suite for a $50 upgrade,. That room was great but we did not need a two be room suite. They said all the single quenns were small like our first room. After my sister arrived who also had a single queen I discovered that there single quenn was twice as big as ours. I was not happy. Seems that some of the staff did not know what they were talking about. Very disappointing. Will find another place to stay next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Original Philly Chessesteak.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Holiday Sands Inn & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JaneMa
Indianapolis
Feb 25, 2013

Quick get-away

Needed a room close to family in the area. Staff was very friendly and helpful, also available 24 hours. Room was extremely clean. And location right on the ocean, well, that couldn't be better either. Would highly recommend a stay here. We will definitely be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Right up the street in the Farm Fresh strip mall was an amazing Italian place. Very cheap and the food was amazing. Can't remember the name, but it is a small hole in the wall that has amazing food!

Back to menu Return to top