$64 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 9, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

Candlewood Suites HARRISONBURG

3 stars
View map of 1560 Country Club Road, Harrisonburg, VA 22801

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
79 reviews
Reliable and friendly

I discovered this hotel about a year ago and have never been disappointed with their service,... See full review

  • Lynda L.
  • Jun 24, 2015
GREAT PLACE TO STAY

Great hotel.Staff was very good and made the stay enjoyable. See full review

  • howard m.
  • Jan 26, 2015
Guests Prefer Harrisonburg, VA Hotel's Location If you are looking to stay close to downtown Harrisonburg and James Madison University, our hotel's location is perfect for you. Just one mile from downtown and less than 2.5 miles from JMU, the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel is ideal for guests' needs. Business travelers enjoy our central location and short distance to major businesses like Cargill, Coors, Merck, Sysco and Tyson. The Business Center is open 24 hours a day should you need to work late, and all printing and fax services are complimentary. If you're a pet owner who's relocating for a project, consider that we're one of the area's few pet friendly hotels. Harrisonburg, VA is full of fun attractions for the leisure traveler, too. You can tour one of the area's caverns or see a Saturday show at John C. Wells Planetarium at James Madison University. Our hotel's location is also near several of the city's beautiful parks, so your entire family can enjoy a day out before settling in for a restful night in our pet friendly hotel's suites. Harrisonburg, VA is filled with history and surrounded by natural beauty, and this hotel keeps our guests near it all! Free high-speed Internet access throughout the hotel keeps you connected, and a 24-hour Fitness Center keeps you in your routine. If you are looking for hotels in Harrisonburg, VA, call today to book your suite at the Candlewood Suites® Harrisonburg hotel.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Candlewood Suites HARRISONBURG also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
General
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Kitchen
Desk with lamp
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • Bridgeforth Stadium: 1.6 mi

Dining

Clementine Cafe
Our Menu Changes Regularly We like the flexibility of keeping things new and fresh.
Boston Beanery Restaurant & Tavern
Catch the Spirit of Old Boston
Capital Ale House
Let no one thirst for the taste of a fine ale
L'Talia Restaurant
Serving Homemade since 1985 Casual Dining

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Candlewood Suites HARRISONBURG

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
79 out of 79
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Candlewood Suites HARRISONBURG

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KarenSM
Business
Reading PA
Mar 17, 2014

Wont stay there again

Room was dirty and the entire third floor had an odor, not smoke, but musty. Definitely not for families.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites HARRISONBURG

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kirsteen
Business
Spotsylvania, VA
Apr 15, 2014

Not a Smoker

The hotel overall was good and worth the money. The only problem was that we had selected a non-smoking room online but were told that they only reserved a small block of rooms for prepaid deals and they only had smoking available. So we were stuck in a smoking room. Fortunately, the room was spotless and didn't have a putrid smell but we were not pleased.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites HARRISONBURG

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ST in Philly
Business
Philadelphia
Nov 8, 2013

Candlewood in VA

Was totally fine for what I needed. Easy to get to, good value, clean and roomy. Basic but totally acceptable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites HARRISONBURG

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Arlington, VA
Apr 22, 2011

Felt like a boarding house

This hotel caters to extended stay guests. No morning breakfast like at all the other chains, but the room did have a kitchenette (which we didn't need). Also, had to wait extremely long periods of time at the front desk to get assistance a couple of times,first when the attendant was on the telephone, and second when she was assisting another guest who simply wanted to chat with her. I won't be staying there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Vito's Italian Kitchen, on Port Republic Road in a strip mall. It was delicious, and fantastic service.

Review of Candlewood Suites HARRISONBURG

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tired HolidayTravelers
Business
Harrisonburg, VA
Jan 1, 2014

Quiet place to spend the night

When we first arrived the staff was no where to be found to check us in and we had to wait about 10 minutes. The room while not new, was clean and had nice features. Would be a great place for an extended stay. This hotel has a convenient location near the interstate but was off the main road less than a mile which created a quiet atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites HARRISONBURG

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SkipL
Business
Herndon, VA, USA
Apr 30, 2012

Comfortable and clean

Right off interstate near everything you need and 1 mile to JMU.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites HARRISONBURG

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MsRSX
Business
Alexandria, VA
Sep 17, 2012

Basic Hotel - Awful Bed

The good: - Hotel was in a good location, not far to drive to the "downtown area" - Price was good. - Free Wifi - Fridge with ice maker in the room. The bad: - The Bed was small. It was listed as a Queen bed, but if that is true it is the smallest queen I have ever seen. I believe it was a full. For 2 adults, it was a bid tight. - The bed was so unsupportive and uncomfortable, we awoke multiple times in the night to change positions because you couldnt sleep in one place too long. - The bedding - if you can bring you own comforter. - The AC unit is extremely noisy, this was really only an issue at night. Bottom line: I wont stay again because of the beds....otherwise it was a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites HARRISONBURG

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Claffer
Business
Wildwood Crest, NJ
Apr 5, 2013

Good quality for a very reasonable price!

We were satisfied with the accommodations! Surprised to learn that "suite" in this case did not mean a separate bedroom but, rather, a kitchen as the qualifier in this instance. However, room was neat and clean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites HARRISONBURG

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On down the road
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Nov 19, 2013

The hotel was nice!

We enjoyed our stay but were disappointed that they did not offer a complimentary breakfast, a nice amenity for travelers. The hotel staff were OK. The room was very clean and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Candlewood Suites HARRISONBURG

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sugar Magnolia
Business
Annapolis, MD
Nov 25, 2013

Overall a good value

We needed 2 rooms adjacent, to accommodate my 90 year old mother. They originally assigned us rooms on different floors, but when we asked, they reassigned us happily. Room was clean, location was perfect for our needs. But.....I have rarely slept on such an uncomfortable mattress! I moved to the chair in the middle of the night so I could get some sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top