$63 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 13, 2015

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton, VA

2 stars
View map of 1551 Hardy Cash Drive, Hampton, VA 23666

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
36 reviews
college football game

Everything about this place was wonderful!!! The greatest continental breakfast you could imagine!!... See full review

  • Mason Dixon
  • Oct 13, 2014
Surprise Getaway for Two!!!

The hotel staff was very accommodating. We checked in super late and the staff was very helpful.... See full review

  • Travel Summer 2014
  • Aug 15, 2014
The hotel is just minutes from Newport News/Williamsburg International Airport. Conveniently located off of Interstate 64. Minutes away from NASA Langley, Hampton Convention Center, Hampton University, Fort Monroe, Hampton business parks, Hampton Coliseum, Coliseum Mall and Sentara Medical Facility. Colonial Williamsburg is 26 miles and the Jamestown Museum is 45 miles from the hotel. For jazz, pop, rhythm and blues, the Hampton Jazz Festival features some of the finest acts in the business. A variety of restaurants and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding areas. Complimentary Hot Breakfast offered with all rates per person & includes several hot items.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton, VA also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Tennis
Outdoor tennis
Indoor tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Gift shop
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Mini bar
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Fire alarm with light
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Dining

Joe's Crab Shack
2.03 miles 5 minutes away. Average entree $12-$17. Wheelchair accessible.
Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
.9 mile approx 2 min away
Chili's
2.7 miles approx 5 min away. Average entree $9-$15. Wheelchair accessible.
El Azteca Mexican
1.2 miles approx 3 min away. Average entree $6-$12
Schlotzsky's Deli
1.1 miles approx 3 min away. Average entree $4-$7. Wheelchair accessible.
Soya Japanese Cuisine
1.1 mile approx 3 min away. Average entree $9-$15. Wheelchair accessible.
Outback Steakhouse
1.5 miles approx 4 min away. Average entree $15-$21. Wheelchair accessible.
Breakfast Room
.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton, VA

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton, VA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
cpcp14
Business
Philly
Dec 2, 2014

this stay could have been better

The staff was very nice the first day of my stay (well dressed looked professional spoke professional) but the guy who checked us out (who was dressed unprofessional) was very rude and disrespectful. There hot tub was out of order when I called the day I booked this room because we looked forward to using that. The indoor pool water was a green color and didn't seem to be cleaned (so we didn't use that either) it was a place to sleep n hold our bags. I would not recommend this hotel or stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton, VA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
aud wife
Business
Chattanooga, Tn
Feb 10, 2013

birthday visit

The room was very comfortable! Breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A variety of food options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton, VA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nacaj
Business
Hampton
Feb 18, 2014

Pay cheap, you get cheap

We had stayed at this hotel chain in Sanford, FL last year for a trip to Tampa so when my husband and I wanted to have a Valentine's getaway stay-cation I didn't hesitate to book this hotel in town. It was a great price and we had a very awesome experience in Florida. I would say this location served its basic purpose. The room was mediocre, right by the elevator. The water never got warm...forget being hot. Our doors card reader's battery went dead and after 3 times of going to the front desk to figure this out. Breakfast was good. I probably wouldn't book there again. I would spend the extra $30 to go to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Coliseum Central is close by with shopping and variety of restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton, VA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hampton, Va
Mar 14, 2010

Okay Stay

This stay did not compare to the excellent rooms I have had in the past at this hotel. The frontdesk staff had to switch my room because of the smokey smell. They did not transfer my 1pm check-out time to the new room number. As a result, Housekeeping came at the wrong time the next day and cleaned the room as if I had already left. The housekeeper threw out all of my food for lunch and banged on the door saying "I've cleaned this room" when I came in at 11:30am to eat. It was a comedy of errors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Follow up with staff if there is a change of any sort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton, VA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murfreesboro, Tenn
Jul 18, 2009

Could have been better

visit family had to ask to get my room cleaned/shouldn't have to get up early to have it cleaned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton, VA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bossier City, La.
Mar 29, 2010

Hampton, Va.

The location was perfectly for my business trip. It was located to the main highways and as a bonus a new shopping plaza was a very short 5 minute drive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton, VA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mishy Wishy
Business
Cleveland OH
Jul 24, 2014

10 Things

1. Disappointed in the hot tub not in working condition 2. The breakfast was actually very good, wished it was a bit longer. 3. Rooms were average. 4. The fan in the bathroom didn't work. 5. Called the front desk for washcloths which were not in our room on our first night, no one ever came. 6. It was quiet. 7. Liked that there was controlled access at night. 9. Housekeeping was very nice. (The staff). 10. Convenient to some stores, gas station & highway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton, VA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Yorktown
Jun 19, 2009

I couldn't have asked for anything more.

I encounter friendly staff, and do not have any bad words for Country inn & Suites, Hampton, VA. Customer Service at it's best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Hampton offers year-round bay boat tours, and the Air and Space center is fun for everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton, VA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ReggieP
Business
Georgia, USA
Nov 28, 2011

Pleasantly surprised

This was a great experience. The manager was on duty when we checked in the night before Thanksgiving and he was very courteous and helpful. The room was very clean and the breakfast was very good. No complaints, we will stay there on our next trip to Hampton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Great shopping nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hampton, VA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
c cook
Business
Petersburg, VA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

very nice!!

Nice quiet and convenient...I will stay again l love the whirlpool and it was close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top