$59 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center

3 stars
1809 W Mercury Blvd Building A, Hampton, VA 23666
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
9 reviews
Great Business trip

I had a great stay at this hotel. It was close to everything, and there really wasn't much driving... See full review

  • jnathan416
  • Nov 20, 2014
in for tennis tornament

I was in for a tennis tournament at ODU and also in Hampton/Newport News. This hotel was convenient... See full review

  • Brian Seminole Dad
  • Oct 11, 2013
Budget rooms plus free Wi-Fi and breakfast
Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center offers a combination of affordable rooms, free breakfast and a convenient location near Hampton Coliseum, Hampton University and area malls. Guests at this Hampton, Va., hotel enjoy the indoor heated pool and fitness center. Kids under 12 stay free with a paying adult. Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton has conference facilities that attract executive travelers.

Highlights
  • Close to the Hampton Coliseum, Hampton University and Fort Monroe
  • Free breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Indoor heated pool
  • Kids 12 and under stay free with a paying adult

Rooms
Golden-yellow comforters cover pillow top mattresses and accent espresso wood furniture at this homey Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center. Brass wall sconces softly light the room, and floral prints add a touch of classical decor. Guests have access to free Wi-Fi and satellite TV in both double standard and king rooms. Refrigerators and microwaves are bonuses at the Clarion Inn By Hampton Convention Center.

Dining

Visitors begin their day at the Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center with the free continental breakfast. On weekends, sports fans and business types stop for happy hour at the on-site bar for frothy beers, billiards and the jukebox.

Recreation

Travelers who want to stick to a regular workout routine can use the strength and cardio machines in the on-site fitness center. The room boasts two stair stepper machines with computer tracking, stationery bikes with computer monitoring, treadmills and a weight machine with an upper body and lower body weight pulley system. The fitness center is open from 6 a.m. to 10 p.m. A heated indoor pool is available from 10 a.m. to 10 p.m.

Transportation
  • Newport News Williamsburg International Airport (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Norfolk International Airport (14.1 mi/22.7 km)
Attractions
  • Peninsula Town Center (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Hampton Roads Convention Center (0.5 mi/0.7 km)
  • Hampton Coliseum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Coliseum Mall (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Hampton University (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Fort Monroe (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Buckroe Beach (5.3 mi/8.5 km)
  • Chrysler Museum of Art (13.8 mi/22.2 km)
  • The Ghent District (13.4 mi/21.6 km)
  • MacArthur Center (14.4 mi/23.2 km)
  • Nauticus  (14.4 mi/23.1 km)
  • Colonial Williamsburg (23.2 mi/37.3 km)
  • Jamestown Settlement and Yorktown Victory Center (24 mi/38.7 km)
  • Busch Gardens (19.4 mi/31.3 km)
  • Water Country USA  (20.5 mi/33 km)
  • Virginia Beach Oceanfront (26 mi/41.8 km)
  • Virginia Aquarium & Marine Science Museum (27.1 mi/43.7 km)
  • Williamsburg Premium Outlets (27.3 mi/43.9 km)
Business
  • Event space for up to 270 guests
  • Copying and faxing services (fees apply)
  • Catering

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Disco
Game room
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (9)

Ratings and reviews for Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
2.4
Room cleanliness:
2.8
Hotel staff:
2.8
Room comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

44% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Amonymous
Business
Hampton, Va
Dec 3, 2014

Slow front desk but excellent service

It literally took over 30minutes to check in on multiple trips to the hotel. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast was ok, and the beds were very comfy. It is an ok deal if you want a step up from other $50 hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jnathan416
Business
lynchburg, VA
Nov 20, 2014

Great Business trip

I had a great stay at this hotel. It was close to everything, and there really wasn't much driving to do for food or the coliseum. The one issue I did have was that the internet was a little sketchy. But that did clear up as the time went on. Otherwise a great place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
inspiration
Business
Newark
Nov 15, 2014

Will not stay there again

When I arrived to register, it was 3:00 and me and another customer was waiting because they didnot have our rooms ready. They said the housekeeping needed to put towels in them. I waited almost a half hour. Then when I came back to the desk to see if it was time, the room still was not ready and the front desk personnel said to me "If you are in such a hurry, here is the towels (handing me about 4 towels) you can put them in there yourself".! I was already appaulled by the appearance of the hotels lobby. The next day, when I went to Breakfast me and my daughter had a room on the first floor near the place you have breakfast, and went very early, about 8:30. When we came back in about 25 minutes, we noticed the maid was in our room cleaning. I thought that was kind of early and we did not secure our items. Needless to say, the first thing I did, when I came in after she left, was check my wallet. Yes, there was 40.00 stolen out of it! I did not complain because it was my fault that I left my wallet in the room. Even though it was in a drawer, I could not confirm she actually took it, but I know she did. Anyway, this was not a good hotel, and I will NEVER use it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Conference Expert Woman
Business
Chicago
Apr 1, 2014

Great Location

The room was average and I had to request that the housekeeper vacuum the floor. However the location was great for restaurants, shopping, and the interstate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Brian Seminole Dad
Business
Rockville, Maryland
Oct 11, 2013

in for tennis tornament

I was in for a tennis tournament at ODU and also in Hampton/Newport News. This hotel was convenient to both locations (i.e. close to 64) and only 10 minutes away from the Hampton tournament site. I'd stay again - it was comfortable; suitable for my purposes and relatively inexpensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TheJonJ
Business
Kansas
Sep 3, 2013

Not like the other one!

Over the weekend I stayed at two different Clarion Inn's, the first one was in Richmond, VA and the second was in Hampton, VA. My initial expectation low for the Richmond Clarion, the area was slightly rundown but once I was situated I found the stay to be rather enjoyable. On the other hand, the Hampton Clarion was located in a better area but it certainly did not measure up to the first. The bathroom had an unpleasant bug problem, the ice machine was not functioning and the water faucet in the shower did not shut off completely. Hard to believe they are both owned by the same organization.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
accolvin
Business
pennsylvania
Jul 8, 2013

2.75 out of 5 star experience

very good experience, lobby was a bit stuffy room was good. bed clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed 2013
Business
Norfolk va
May 30, 2013

Book at another place

The place is infested with bedbugs, they are bankrupt and they are in trouble with the Fire Marshal and the Health Department

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mwestmoreland
Business
Blacksburg, VA
May 21, 2013

Not a good hotel

Lobby smelled funny, pool was muggy and dirty (we didn't even bother getting in). The hotel was overbooked with teenagers so it was loud and obnoxious. People were slamming doors and running through the halls throughout the night. Breakfast was a mess. OUr smoke detector kept going off for no reason. I would NEVER stay here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites By Hampton Convention Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Doctyphoon
Business
Richmond, VA
Dec 10, 2012

Needs some TLC...

We stayed here while attending an athletic event @ Boo Williams, so the location and price were excellent. Trying to locate the place was our first frustration, as it was identified and booked as another hotel brand on a travel site. So we eventually stumbled on it after driving around for 15 minutes, noticing the old logo underneath the new sign. When we checked in and told the front desk person of this difficulty, she became defensive & didn't believe us until we showed her the Prepare for Your Trip email. Even then she failed to take responsibility, blaming it on the travel site (so much for the customer is always right!). We stopped and got the complimentary decaff coffee from the vacuum coffee urns on the way up to our room. It was so old and bitter it was undrinkable. The room was only barely satifactory. It looked and was time-worn. The fiberglas bathtub had several cracks in it that had been inexpertly "repaired" with yellowish epoxy. The bath seemed to lack any ventilation. There was no channel guide for the TV, so we had to call the front desk to learn the location of the HBO channel. The coffee maker and fridge were nice. Regarding the beds, the one bottom sheet had a noticeable blood stain on it. We put a towel over it, as it was late & we wanted to just make do. The continental breakfast was good, with the DIY waffles always a nice touch, but the cereals tasted like off-brands. This place has potential, it just needs a makeover of the physical plant and the work ethic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top