$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

3 stars
View map of 20 Sanford Drive, Fredericksburg, VA 22406

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
115 reviews
Family trip

This is a great place to stay andreally worth your money very clean confortable and Good customer... See full review

  • Medalit G.
  • Feb 24, 2015
stay here each timewe go to SAvannah

Room was the same one!! It was as clean and comfortable as before See full review

  • traveller to army base
  • Jan 25, 2015
Experience rich history at this Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg, conveniently located off Interstate 95 near wineries, historic battlefields, top rated golf courses, and many local restaurants. Ideal for both work and play, this smoke-free lodging offers complimentary hot continental breakfast, complimentary internet, heated indoor pool, fitness center, hot tub, guest laundry services, banquet hall, conference and meeting rooms, business center, and a happy hour Monday through Thursday from 6 p.m. to 7 p.m. Guest room amenities include microwave, refrigerator, safe, desk, ergonomic chair, TV and newspaper. Suites and handicapped accessible rooms are also available.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Heated pool
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Doggett House: 3.4 mi
  • Confederate Cemetery: 3.8 mi
  • George Washington Masonic Museum: 3.8 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
115 out of 115
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Feb 23, 2011

Disappointed

Upon making our reservation the week before, we confirmed that the hotel did have a pool and hot tub for guests. When we checked in, we were informed that the pool area was closed. Because the pool was one of primary factors for staying at this hotel, we were very disappointed. Besides the unfortunate situation with the pool, the front desk staff was rude to our party and to the couple checking in front of us. Check-in took over thirty minutes and then we had to return to have our room keys fixed. With the number of other hotels in the area, I won't be staying at the Wingate again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chesapeake VA
Mar 21, 2010

Very rude staff

I booked for a room with two double beds. Just one double bed in the room....my son, a teenager who is rather tall and I am rather large just would not fit. Staff basically could not give a pooh. Ignored request for another room and gave me a pull out bed that would not even fit in the room. Very unpleasant stay to say the least. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
angelwing75
Business
Richmond, VA, USA
Oct 10, 2011

No HBO, No PPV

We stayed overnight at the Wingate after attending a wedding nearby. The hotel is clean and the staff is nice, though they might forget to tell you how to get to your room from the lobby unless you ask. Our room was very clean and spacious, but the bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. It was probably one of the most uncomfortable hotel beds we've ever slept in. We got back from the wedding earlier than expected and thought we might enjoy relaxing and watching a movie. However, the hotel has neither Pay-Per-View nor HBO, and they do not have DVD players available to rent. We forgot the cable for our portable DVD player, so we were stuck with the few channels that were available. The breakfast bar was enjoyable and check out was easy. Overall, our stay was just fine but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Notre Dame Alum
Business
South Bend, In
May 17, 2013

Not as happy as past visits

Returned home from extended visit East and wish to respond to Wingate problem. Stayed 4/28 - 5/2 and have stayed there a number of times. Returned to our room at 9:00 PM on 5/1 after a very stressful day to find our room had not been made up, no bed made, wet towels still in bathroom, garbage full etc. Went to front desk and girl tried to be helpful but we were very unhappy. No drinking cups left the day before either so we went 3 days with only few cups from coffee maker. Filled out comment card & gave to Mgr on duty next morning. They will give up a comp night but could do nothing then since we booked through your org. Needless to say we were not happy campers!! We did NOT have Do Not Disturb sign on door that whole day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Going to OBX
Business
Youngstown, Ohio
Jun 16, 2013

6 people, 2 rooms w/ 1 bed each

When we arrived we discovered that 3 people were expected to share 1 king bed. The staff behaved as though this wasnt strange at all. When I pointed this out , they blamed the problem on the fact that we went through a third party , and when you do that there is no guarantee??? I had to get a cot for each room, and no, they weren't complimentary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delaware
Mar 11, 2010

Poor Experience at this Hotel

I checked in and the woman at the front desk was not very friendly. Okay, maybe she was having a bad day. I went to my room. It was small. The walls are thin; I could sometimes hear the TV in the room next door. When I turned down the covers, there was a pubic hair stuck in the sheet. It seemed like it had been washed, and the hair was stuck through the threads. I went to call the front desk to ask for new sheets. The phone did not work in my room. I went downstairs and waited until no one was around to speak to the gentleman at the desk, who was very nice. He moved us into another room with clean sheets and a working phone... and a broken lamp, and a hole in the wall. He never notified housekeeping that we were occupying the new room and it did not get cleaned the next day. I had family staying on the same floor and we ate all of our meals in my room. Because they never emptied my trash, it was overflowing. I called down at about 5:00 and let them know that our room had not been cleaned and we did not have any clean towels. I asked for someone to come take out the trash. The man at the desk said that there was no one working at the hotel but him, and he could not come. I asked what he suggested I do with my trash and he put me on hold, indefinitely. After four minutes, I hung up and called again. He did not answer. We did not receive any towels and were not able to shower the next morning. Overall, the experience was very poor. The hotel is not very old, but is having maintenance issues which they do not seem eager to correct. The breakfast was just below average for a hotel in this price-range. The bed was uncomfortable and the pillows were so huge that I could not sleep on them. I have not stayed at a Wingate before, and do not plan on doing so again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Delaware
Feb 21, 2011

The good, the bad, and the ugly

This hotel was selected because it had an indoor pool and jacuzzi, hot full breakfast included, and easily located to major highways. When we arrived, they accommodated us right away with rooms; however, the refrigerators in either rooms didn't work, the pool and jacuzzi were out of service, and the hot breakfast was powdered eggs, stale bagels, and little choice. We wouldn't choose to stay at this facility again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hotelfriend
Business
San Antonio, TX, USA
Oct 30, 2011

Was good for the price

the hotel was nice and clean. The staff was ok. The beds were extremely soft. You fell in when you set or laid down. It was to soft for me but some people like that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young Mom Serena
Business
Maryland
Jul 30, 2012

OK Stay

I was expecting a bit more for $100 per night. Many reviews I read on this hotel were very good so my stay was a let down. The room seemed clean, but smelled strongly of cleaner/spray when we arrived. The air conditioner was very loud, ice machine was broken on second floor. Pool and hot tub were nice but nothing spectacular. Breakfast was OK, not many choices. Elevator was very slow and hot. A wedding reception went on while we were staying, and the music was loud and went on into the night. We were on 2nd floor so it didn't bother us too much, but most hotels only allow functions to go on until 9pm. A Target and McDonald's across the street which is convenient. No bars or restaurants off this exit (besides a Mexican place which was not good), you need to go about 3 miles down 95 South for good restaurant choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Fredericksburg

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
little lady 27
Business
Newport new, Va
Aug 20, 2012

Mini weekend getaway

We had everything we provided in the room for a great stay. While we wasn't interested in the free breakfast, the selection was filled with good options. My one and only complaint was the weekend convention that was being held. We was on the third floor, and the music kept us up for the most part of the night. I would stay here again overall!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Exit 130b is about 5 mins away, with shopping and food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top