$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 28, 2015

Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA

3 stars
View map of 5327 Jefferson Davis Highway, Fredericksburg, VA 22408

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
72 reviews
One Night After The Game

The beds were comfortable, the staff extremely friendly, the cookies wonderful and the breakfast... See full review

  • Harley Bruce
  • Mar 16, 2014
Overnight stay

We stayed here overnight while visiting friends in the area. The room was very comfortable, and... See full review

  • Jerri-Lynn W.
  • Dec 30, 2014
Clean rooms, convenient locale in Fredericksburg, VA

Amenities at Country Inn & Suites Fredericksburg, off I-95 between Richmond and Washington D.C., range from free high-speed Internet access, fitness center, and a free full breakfast to an indoor pool, Read It and Return It lending library, and free Did You Forget personal items. Fully equipped suites provide space and amenities for extended stays. The hotel is central to many local attractions, including the James Monroe Museum, Kings Dominion theme park, and George Washington's Ferry Farm.

Highlights
  • Pet-friendly
  • Each access off I-95
  • Extended stay suites
  • Children 18 and under stay free with adult
Rooms

Guest rooms boast one king or two queen beds, private shower and tub, free high-speed, wireless Internet access, a microwave, mini-refrigerator, hair dryer, coffee maker, and cable television. Suites provide additional space and extended-stay suites include either a wet bar or a kitchen with full refrigerator and stove top.

Features

Guests enjoy a free breakfast, featuring biscuits and gravy, eggs, waffles, cereals, fresh fruit, and pastries. Relax with a cup of freshly brewed coffee and a free newspaper before heading out for the day. Numerous nearby restaurants, including Vita Felice, Ruby Tuesday's, and Old Towne Steak and Seafood, provide ample choices for lunch and dinner.

 

The fitness center provides plenty of cardio equipment, an indoor pool, and indoor hot tub. Visit the lobby for freshly baked cookies and coffee or the unique Read it and Return lending library. Guests who forget items from toothpaste to diapers take advantage of the Did You Forget? service, that provides personal items for free.

 

The hotel welcomes pets.

Transportation
  • Richmond International Airport (59.2 mi/95 km)
Nearby attractions
  • Richmond (50.7 mi/81.6 km)
Business
  • Meeting space for up to 177 guests
  • A professional staff to assist with planning and setup
  • Free high-speed Internet access throughout hotel

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • High-speed internet
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Elevators
Ice machine
FEMA approved
Phone service
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Jacuzzi
Golf
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Express checkout
Security
Wake-up service
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible rooms
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
Room
Television with cable
Kitchen
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors
Sprinklers in rooms

Nearby points of interest

  • Confederate Cemetery: 3.7 mi
  • Doggett House: 4.4 mi
  • George Washington Masonic Museum: 4.6 mi

Dining

Denny's
Enclosed walkway from the hotel to Denny's
Ruby Tuesday's
1/2 mile from hotel
Golden Corral
Reservations required for large groups. Located directly across from the hotel. Hotel can arrange res. & billing
Old Town Steak and Seafood
5 miles from hotel. US - 1N, merge onto William St/VA-3E. Left onto William St., left on Caroline St. 540-371-8020.
Longhorn Steakhouse
10012 Southpoint Pkwy - (540)710-1600 Approx. 1 Mile away
Breakfast Room
Located near lobby
Bavarian Chef
Located at 200 Lafayette Blvd in the old train station. (540)656-2101
Mimi's Cafe
10001 Jeff Davis Hwy

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mandy198201
Business
Fredericksburg, VA, USA
May 7, 2013

never again

This hotel needs to be renovated. It looks very run down and smells weird. The air condition felt like heat. I sweated all night. The price was way too high for the quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bobmichael
Business
Port Richey, Florida
Jul 28, 2013

DO NOT BOOK IF YOU VALUE YOUR SLEEP

be advanced warned. If you value quietness and want a good night sleep find another hotel. This hotel permits dogs in the room and 4 seperate barking ones kept us up most of the night. When we complained to the desk we were told that they permit dogs in the rooms and there was nothing they could do about it. They were very unsupportive to the problem. Again if you want a good nights sleep there are many other hotels within eyeview of this one. We suggest you book at one of them

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Still Sleepy,,,,Still Angry
Business
NJ
Sep 1, 2009

Don't waste your time, money or SLEEP!

The last time that I stayed in this area, I was forced to stay in a less than stellar motel, and this time is was going to be different. Well, I would have given ANYTHING to have been back in that little tiny motel than this HORRIBLE place. First, there was a soccer tournament in the area and 160 little teenage kids were in the hotel. BUT WE WERE ASSURED THAT THEY WERE NOT ON OUR FLOOR, THAT THEY WERE "MOSTLY" ON THE FIRST FLOOR. THEY WERE NOT. Secondly, we had some sort of a MANS PARTY in the adjoining room to ours. At 12:30 I called down, and again at 2:30AM, I called down to shut them up. The next day when I talked to the front desk, I was told that I was going to be given a 15% discount off of my stay, well, that did not take place because I had booked online. The staff was HORRIBLE, in dealing with unruly guests. The hotel was FILTHY, including "hair" in the bathroom, that did not belong to me. The walkway from the hotel to Denny's was LITTERED with dirt, and had not been cleaned even after I had told them how dirty it was. All in all,,,,,,,,NEVER AGAIN!!!! THEY TOOK MY MONEY AND DID NOT CARE IF I WAS SATISFIED. I WAS HAPPIER AT THE Econolodge during my first trip. I know that I will NEVER step foot into this OVERPRICED Horrible hotel ever again. Nor will I recommend it to any friends. Horrible,,,,simply Horrible,,,,,,,,,and not an apology in sight.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jamatha76
Business
Falling Waters, WV
Mar 1, 2010

No rest for the weiry

Slamming doors all night long. We didn't get any sleep. When you walk out of the room the temp was very hot. Our key cards didn't work the next day and one vending machine on each floor was broken. The rooms didn't look exactly the way they did online when I was researching hotels. I probably won't stay at another Country Inn and Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ga
Apr 22, 2011

The good, the bad, and the ugly

Family wedding. The room was cold and we had no control over the system to turn on the heat. We are SENIORS, it was raining and cold outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lebanon, PA
May 8, 2011

Could do better

OK but bed was uncomfortable for wife -- sank toward middle. Also top cover kept sliding off and other covers were tucked in too tight. It was also a bit small given there were three adults staying in room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the Denny's that is attached to the hotel. Food very indifferently prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. A.
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Two rooms

Our stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson in the Fredericksburg area was a pleasant stay with no problems that could possibly occur when staying away from home. I would recommend it to others and would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Denny's restaurant attached to the hotel which gives a 10% discount when you show the wait staff your room key. Also, the cookies and coffee in the hotel's lobby were quite good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L. A.
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Feb 2, 2012

Family business

A nice place to stay with easy check in and out using online reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are not familiar with the area use your GPS to locate shopping and dining within a short drive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MSCPP
Business
North Carolina
Dec 31, 2012

Nothing special

The hotel was older, seemed like it needed updating. We were there in December and the room was very warm. We could not get it cooler, so sleeping was uncomfortable. The tub drain was plugged so the tub filled with water when showering. Cookies were free and yummy. Room was clean. Hotel was close to highway, so noisy, but easy to get to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's nearby was not so good. Sometimes Denny's restaurants can be ok, but this one was not!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Fredericksburg South (I-95), VA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
golfn
Business
nh
Sep 6, 2013

Pet friendly

We arrived late and only stayed the night. It was easy to find off the highway, breakfast was good and was pet friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top