Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

3 stars
View map of 11787 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway, 11787 LEE JACKSON MEM HWY, Fairfax, VA 22033

Hotel Overview

4.1/5

Overall score

95%

Would recommend

Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3
The newly-renovated Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks combines modern amenities with a prime location in the heart of the city, only 20 miles from Washington, DC. This Fairfax hotel is situated off Lee Jackson Memorial Hwy at the intersection of I-66, and offers spacious guest rooms that are highlighted by stylish décor, 42 flat-screen TVs, and high-speed WiFi access. Transportation is easy, as we're just 20 minutes from Dulles International Airport, 25 minutes from Reagan International Airport, and within a mile of the Fair Lakes Parkway Business Park which houses General Dynamics and CGI Federal. Next door is the Fair Oaks Mall, and were just minutes away from Fairfax Corner and George Mason University. This Fairfax hotel provides guests with free parking, an onsite restaurant, and an indoor pool. With nearly 9,000 sq. ft. of flexible event space, this hotel is also an ideal venue for hosting meetings or wedding receptions. Come relax and unwind at the newly-renovated Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Elevators
Executive level
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Tennis
Horseback riding
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Continental breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Coffee shop
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Maid service
Laundry service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Express checkout
Laundry/Valet services
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Car rental desk
Barber shop
Barber/Beauty shop
FAX
Currency exchange
Drugstore
Florist
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
Cordless phone
Phone with speaker
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Outlet adapters
Turndown service
Bathroom telephone
Cribs available
Sofa bed
Temperature control
Shower
Iron
Ironing board
Bath tub

Hotel Map

38.8635 -77.3536
Area served
Dulles Expo & Conference Center
Nearby airports
Washington Dulles International Airport, (IAD), 11.80, MI, SE; Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, (DCA), 23.10, MI, W;
Area description
Suburban, Location Type: Suburban

Nearby points of interest

  • National Firearms Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Patriot Center: 3.5 mi

Dining

703 bar + kitchen
The onsite 703 bar + kitchen offers a NoVa inspired + locally sourced menu.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
medford, ny
May 15, 2010

Close to shopping and GMU

Location close to George Mason University and large shopping mall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Cross the parking lot and you're in the Fair Oaks mall with many stores.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusetts
Mar 9, 2010

Clean Hotel

This is a very nice hotel with clean rooms and a nice staff. My room was located at the end of an aisle where a school group had just checked in. When I asked at the front desk if I could move my room because of the noise, they accomodated me immediately and put me on the Concierge level.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bugs 1
Business
Calabash, NC
Nov 29, 2009

Service substantially below standards

We have stayed at this Inn several times in the past with very good experiences. In contrast, this stay was abysmmal. Two out of the four days we stayed, we did not have any maid service. When we asked about this on the first occasion, the housekeeping supervisor told us that we had kept the "do not disturb" sign on the door too long even though we had taken the sign off and left the room by 10:45 a.m. The second occurence went without explanation by housekeeping (since we had vacated the room by 8:30 a.m.), but, without explanation or apology, they begrudgingly gave us fresh towels and wash linens. We were also supposed to have complimentary breakfasts, but food service personnel initially refused to honor the tickets on two mornings, but finally relented after we approached management. We have never experienced this kind of slovenly service at any Marriott facility in the past, and this was a very disappointing experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Inn is immediately adjacent to a large, comprehensive shopping mall with about 160 stores and several excellent restaurants which are very reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WeeklyBusinessTraveler
Business
Charlotte, NC
Nov 13, 2009

Unfriendly night manager at check in

As I checked in the staff could not find my reservation. After waiting for 15 minutes at the desk a manager was called and she never spoke a word to me, never gave me eye contact nor apologized for their mistake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wilmington, Delaware
Nov 2, 2009

Extremely expensive!!

My son and I were in VA at a baseball showcase/college visit. We stayed at the Fair Oaks Marriott. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

[...] Don't chose the breakfast bar at the hotel. It cost me $34.00 for myself and my son.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, Pa
Oct 19, 2009

Fantastic hotel

This is a great hotel and can't be beat for the price. We only stayed one night and were not able to take avantage of any extras but the parts I saw were very impressive and clean. The mall is just a short walk across the parking lot and has just about everything else you could want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

FYI, there was an extra cost for internet access.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minersville PA
Oct 19, 2009

The Most comfortable beds!!!

The staff was most gracious, very inviting. The rooms were very clean neat and most of all the beds were so comfortable I was alseep within minutes of laying down. Highly Recommend... will stay again. The Bath and Body lotions and shampoos were an added bonus too !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Super location
Business
La Quinta CA
Sep 21, 2009

Great location for shopping, dinning

Very close to shopping and dinning, with quick access to the highway that takes you to Washington DC. Very clean and has soft pillows.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to a Mall with everything

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Work to Live
Business
Mobile Alabama
Jul 20, 2009

Great Price for Location

The hotel appointments are impecable....the staff could learn to be more friendly and less bossy. Worth the rate and the rooms are wonderful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Just a short walk to the Fair Oaks Mall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, NY
Jul 14, 2008

My review of Fairfax Marriott at Fair Oaks

The Fairfax Marriott is a great place to stay. The rooms are comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. The only down side is you need to guarantee your choice of beds otherwise you will not be given a choice. A mall is within walking distance of the hotel which is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

A mall is nearby with wonderful stores and great restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top