$47 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

Super 8 Charlottesville

2 stars
View map of 390 Greenbrier Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1619

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
112 reviews
Good work accomadations staff helpful at a later hour arrival

Breif stay from airport overnight for short period staff was helpful See full review

  • Wyatt earpiy
  • Feb 21, 2015
Good value, nice location

The Mexican restaurant across the street was good. The room was larger and a little more... See full review

  • David T.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Always fresh, always clean - our guest rooms are full of thoughtful amenities, including Free High Speed Wireless Internet, coffee maker, a remote controlled TV with cable. We will get you started each day with a complimentary Super Start Breakfast that includes hot, freshly brewed coffee, tea, and juice. The Super 8 is conveniently located on the North Side of Charlottesville on 29 North, across from Golden Corral Restaurant. We are within minutes from local business districts, Historic downtown and UVA. New smart bedding and 27 Flat Screen TVs in all rooms. Please note - Pets are only allowed in our 2 Queen smoking bed rooms located on the 2nd floor and our 2 Queen non smoking rooms located on the 1st floor.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Charlottesville also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 2.1 mi
  • University Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 3.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Charlottesville

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 112
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2.8
Comfort:
2.2
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.9

40% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointment Man
Business
Virginia
Apr 7, 2014

Worst Stay Ever

I reserved my room back in January (4 months ago) asking for a nonsmoking room and extra towels, as there were going to be 4 people in our room. Not only was I given a smoking room, the towels were not provided. Furthermore, on Saturday the maids left our door unlock and open so that anyone could just walk right in while we were not present.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
goergeandsid
Business
virginia
Mar 4, 2013

sidandgeorge

Most of the problem might reside with the description that was on the web and my confirmation. I was told I would have a refrig and micro in the room which wasn't available when I arrived. Also the coffee maker didn't work, there was no iron and the pillows were complete flat and smelled bad. I was attending a conference and I didn't stay in the room except to sleep. The bed was satisfactory as was the continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
on the go Bob
Business
Erwin TN
Sep 17, 2012

just a place to sleep

If you need a comfortable place to rest your head, this will fit the bill. Nice staff. Breakfast is bare bones, but better than some I have had elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Inez87
Business
DC
May 15, 2012

Had really basic expectations that were not fulfilled

I don't need a ritzy hotel; obviously going to a Motel 8 is not going to be "an experience" and I didn't expect it to be. However, I expected a clean room for the night and was sadly disappointed. First of all, our party booked two non-smoking rooms, and both were initially smoking (the staff changed one of our rooms to the last non-smoking room available). However, even that non-smoking room smelled of rotting fish, and the smoking one obviously smelled of stale smoke. The sheets did not look particularly clean, and neither did the bathroom. Just a generally gross experience that I would not repeat, especially for $85 including fees. That's too much to pay to be grossed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan Angie
Business
Winchester, VA
Sep 30, 2011

Sept 28 2011 UVA trip

Good place tp stay for the price. Excellant location, easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Llama Lady
Business
Ridgeway, Va.
Aug 9, 2010

Would not recommend!!!!

We have never stayed at a Super 8 before and I NEVER will again. Our group had looked up and booked the hotel online and read a few reviews and thought we would give it a try b/c had 4 families that were competing at the Albemarle County Fair and we were going to have to stay 3 night and this was all out of pocket so we had to be thrifty. Upon arrival to the hotel we got checked in and then went through the door to an awful smell that continued worse in the elevator. We got off on the 3rd floor and walked down a smelly, gloomy, dimly lit hall. It reminded you of a horror film. Our room thankfully smelled better after we turned the air on. The smoke detector wires were hanging from the ceiling with nothing attached. we discovered that Refrig did not work the next morning after we turned it on to get cool and it was still hot. Someone had cut the plug off and the desk said they didn't have any more so we never got one. The towels were old and stained and the mat in the tub ahd been glued to the bottom of the tub and was peeling up around the edges. Apparently there was some type of fumigation going on b/c we saw rooms down from us that the mattresses were propped up and towels sealing around the bottoms of doors that said do not enter. The CARD SECURITY entrance door stayed open, never closed all the way and there was an entrance through the lobby that led inside and was never locked. So anyone could come in whenever.We had already paid up front b/c we wouldn't arrive until late. I won't do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Nov 16, 2009

Inexpensive Place To Sleep

I was just looking for an inexpensive place to sleep in Charlottesville and this hotel fit the bill. The hotel is nothing fancy, but I didn't expect that. It also is just a quick cab ride from the campus of UVA. The front desk clerk was very helpful when I accidentally left my car lights on and drained my battery. She offered a set of jumper cables to assist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stafford, VA
Aug 31, 2009

Always Fresh & Clean is far from true!

Hotel had no ice for the entire stay. Rooms had a terrible musty smell. We had to go out to purchase a candle just to spend the night! Breakfast was a complete joke....sugar doughnuts, English muffins & cereal. What about those of us that try to eat healthy? Possibly yogurt or maybe a piece of fruit??????

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 8, 2009

As Expected

The hotel is convenient to UVa (just a couple of miles north). The only issue my friend and I had was the fact that one of the blankets on the bed has burn holes despite the fact that the room was non-smoking. It is in no way a fancy place but the water was hot and the price was right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CvilleGoer
Business
Cambridge, MA
May 26, 2009

Stay here if you have no other options

The staff was fine. Even though I was in the non-smoking area, the room smelled of smoke. It didn't look like any of the surfaces had been cleaned, and there were clothes from previous guests behind some of the furniture that I saw when I went to plug in my cell phone charger. The towels were stained, and, didn't even get replenished when the room came to be cleaned. I had made reservations for the same place in two weeks, and immediately made other reservations when I got home. This is the cheapest room in town from my searches, and unless you have any other options, you'll regret not having shelled out a few more bucks for a cleaner room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top