$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Super 8 Charlottesville

2 stars
390 Greenbrier Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1619
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
108 reviews
$ Low Price-***Great Beds and Soft Pillows***

It's not Marriott, but is clean and beds were extremely comfortable and pillows very soft. Nice... See full review

  • Grace Baby
  • Aug 30, 2014
Great - Super 8

I stayed at this motel 3 times while visiting family in the U.S. There's no "glitz and glamour" in... See full review

  • Expat in Uruguay
  • Aug 22, 2014
Always fresh, always clean - our guest rooms are full of thoughtful amenities, including Free High Speed Wireless Internet, coffee maker, a remote controlled TV with cable. We will get you started each day with a complimentary Super Start Breakfast that includes hot, freshly brewed coffee, tea, and juice. The Super 8 is conveniently located on the North Side of Charlottesville on 29 North, across from Golden Corral Restaurant. We are within minutes from local business districts, Historic downtown and UVA. New smart bedding and 27 Flat Screen TVs in all rooms. Please note - Pets are only allowed in our 2 Queen smoking bed rooms located on the 2nd floor and our 2 Queen non smoking rooms located on the 1st floor.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Charlottesville also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 2.1 mi
  • University Hall: 2.2 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 3.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Charlottesville

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newport News
Oct 10, 2010

Got what I paid for

The room was what we paid for. It was a place to stay for the night. The beds weren't great but pleasant enough. The room wasn't huge but not tiny either. The bathroom was what we needed it to be. My main critiques are: 1) It was a bit noisy. We could hear the people upstairs big time. We could also hear the people next to us. Not a dealbreaker. 2) The parking lot is set up so that the cars park only a few feet from the windows, with no real kind of seperation, and no kind of security on the outside of the windows. 3) The breakfast was kind've a joke. They had donuts, cereal, english muffins and juices and coffee, but almost everything was gone by 9am. 4) Most of the TV channels either did not work or had no sound. I was tired and ready for bed so it didn't matter a lot, but if I was staying there for an extended amount of time, I'd have been outraged. All in all, it was a good stay, and for the money, I'd probably stay there again. If I could afford a bit more though, it would be my preference to stay elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Do NOT go to any of the nearby restaurants. There is a drastic difference b/t the places near the restauraunt and the ones near UVA. Do yourself a favor. Pay the few bucks to park at a garage and stroll the nightlife on "The Corner" near the school.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NC
Oct 6, 2010

Clean & Pet Friendly

Hotel was clean but definitely needs updating. Staff was not knowledgeable about local attractions and directions. Staff was friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Go to downtown mall. Great shopping, great restaurants and pet friendly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FamilyCEO
Business
Salisbury, NC
Oct 4, 2010

Less than "super" 8

My family and I had spent two nights in Williamsburg in a much nicer hotel which had cost significantly less. Our night in this Charlottesville Super 8 was disappointing considering the price. We chose Super 8 because generally these hotels are a good value. I realize it was a football weekend, but this hotel was miles from the University on a noisy road. In this case, we definitely did not get our money's worth.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
PA
Aug 29, 2010

It was good

It was a good place to sleep, got in at 11PM and headed out at 9AM so most of my time there was with my eyes shut. :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's only about 11 miles from Monticello the home of Thomas Jefferson

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Llama Lady
Business
Ridgeway, Va.
Aug 9, 2010

Would not recommend!!!!

We have never stayed at a Super 8 before and I NEVER will again. Our group had looked up and booked the hotel online and read a few reviews and thought we would give it a try b/c had 4 families that were competing at the Albemarle County Fair and we were going to have to stay 3 night and this was all out of pocket so we had to be thrifty. Upon arrival to the hotel we got checked in and then went through the door to an awful smell that continued worse in the elevator. We got off on the 3rd floor and walked down a smelly, gloomy, dimly lit hall. It reminded you of a horror film. Our room thankfully smelled better after we turned the air on. The smoke detector wires were hanging from the ceiling with nothing attached. we discovered that Refrig did not work the next morning after we turned it on to get cool and it was still hot. Someone had cut the plug off and the desk said they didn't have any more so we never got one. The towels were old and stained and the mat in the tub ahd been glued to the bottom of the tub and was peeling up around the edges. Apparently there was some type of fumigation going on b/c we saw rooms down from us that the mattresses were propped up and towels sealing around the bottoms of doors that said do not enter. The CARD SECURITY entrance door stayed open, never closed all the way and there was an entrance through the lobby that led inside and was never locked. So anyone could come in whenever.We had already paid up front b/c we wouldn't arrive until late. I won't do this again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Llama Lady
Business
Martinsville VA
Aug 8, 2010

Use caution! Budget price, budget all.

[...] Hotel parking & location were good. Our room was okay, our friend's room, refrig didn't work & smoke detector was missing. They were fumigating some of the rooms (bed bugs), we both have "mystery" bites all over.....Towels were paper thin. Breakfast was included; 2 types of cereal, english muffins or packaged donuts. Staff wasn't very helpful or friendly. Okay place to crash if they continue to exterminate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Cheeseburger in Paradise: great fun place to eat nearby

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yonkers Dad
Business
Yonkers NY
Aug 5, 2010

good location for us to do business

As the hrs were great and long 4pm check in until 11am the next day check out. The free breakfast was enough to get us off on a good start back to NYC . There must have been 20 different choices of restaurants within 1/4 mile . Very comfortable beds ,clean rooms and bath etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The 20 - 25 different choices to eat. Some open 24hrs . All within a 5 minute walk .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bryanjozef2108
Business
harborcreek, pa
Jul 20, 2010

job interview

just your average hotel...needed a cheap place to stay for 2 nights while i was in town for my job interview.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ishma
Business
wisconsin
May 17, 2010

nothing to recommend it

the pillows were to small, a frequent customer was complaining of bug bites during his stay the previous week, he believed they were spiders and requested a different room. The staff stopped replacing the in room coffee and tera after the second day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gramma Willis
Business
Toledo, OH
Apr 23, 2010

Better than expected

It was better than I expected for the price, although the plastic over the very firm matresses made for a noisy sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top