$39 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Super 8 Charlottesville

2 stars
View map of 390 Greenbrier Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1619

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Charlottesville

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
119 out of 119
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Al and Nancy
Business
Woodbridge, VA
Jul 1, 2012

Did Not Stay-Request Not to be Charged

I request that I not be charged for this room. We checked in but although the room was a non-smoking room, someone had smoked in the room and we could not stay. The Hotel staff told me that they could not do anything since it was prepaid but for me to let you know and if you had questions to call them. Thank you. Al DeSantis

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DRADV
Business
VA
Jun 27, 2012

Good Enough

We were just passing by did not see anything special

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris Scott Photographer
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jun 18, 2012

Perfect spartan room

OK, so my standards are low. When I am travelling for business on my own dime, I just want a bed, a shower, a toilet, and air conditioning. For the amount that I paid, this is a great room for the money. It's right off the main drag in Cville, so everything is a 15 minute drive. The staff was very friendly and the service was swift and efficient. I even arrived 4 hours early from the designated check-in time, and they accomodated me with only a 5 minute wait. This is no Wyndam Luxe, but it's perfect when you just need the basics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HaroldJ
Business
Atlanta Ga
May 28, 2012

Room very dirty

In lobby ceiling lights full of bugs that had not been cleaned. Checkin took 25 minutes as there was a line with one employee. Lights in hallway leading to room out and very dark. The light switches in the room were extremely dirty with built up grime. Had to take first 45 minutes in room disinfecting. Noticed side of bed in morning was very dirty as sheets had pulled away. Some towels were gray.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lucky Luciano
Business
Syracuse NY
May 26, 2012

More than expected

I was aprehensive about the hotel after readig rerviews. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and nicely appointed. There was a desk and small coffe maker. No frig or microwave but I did not expect one at this price. The breakfast was in a crowed area and on the old traditional side - toaster waffles. Again for the price it was a great bargin and I recomment it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gradalahara is across the street and very good.

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama Medic
Business
Virginia
May 22, 2012

Good enough

I was staying at this hotel just for one night so it was good enough. I had to stack my pillows for a more comfy sleep and the headboard wasn't attached to the wall but this seems to be on par for other hotels in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Inez87
Business
DC
May 15, 2012

Had really basic expectations that were not fulfilled

I don't need a ritzy hotel; obviously going to a Motel 8 is not going to be "an experience" and I didn't expect it to be. However, I expected a clean room for the night and was sadly disappointed. First of all, our party booked two non-smoking rooms, and both were initially smoking (the staff changed one of our rooms to the last non-smoking room available). However, even that non-smoking room smelled of rotting fish, and the smoking one obviously smelled of stale smoke. The sheets did not look particularly clean, and neither did the bathroom. Just a generally gross experience that I would not repeat, especially for $85 including fees. That's too much to pay to be grossed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
George the Spy
Business
Charlotesville, VA
May 8, 2012

Nice Try

Overall it was a nice facility. There Internet service was intermitent, sometimes inaccessible for days at a time. When it was available, the setup sometimes interfered with productivity. I felt as though I had to log back into it every 2-3 hours, although its a free wifi service. The floor in my room sagged, between the TV and bed, the desk chair tilted to the left. The hallway had that wierd smell of disinfectant and tobacco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

About a half mile North from the hotel, on 29 is the least expensive gas in the Charlottesville area, across the street from the mall.

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJtravelers
Business
Greene
May 7, 2012

overnight stay

hotel was clean and staff friendly. I had booked a room with microwave and refrg. But when I got to the room it didn't have ever one. Hotel told me only 1/3rd of their room have them and I shouldn't have been able to book one. They had no vacancies, but they did switch my room. Which I was very thankfully for being I had items that needed to be keep cold. Breakfast was more than just donuts, which was also nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C'ville visitor
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
May 1, 2012

Get what you pay for....

Terrible hotel but all we could get for the weekend. Very poor lighting in the halls and rooms. Dated furniture and TV. The worst part was the bedding: awful pillows and mattress but the most disturbing was the cigarette burn holes in the blankets and sheets!!! Did not eat breakfast, why would you risk it? Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top