$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

Super 8 Charlottesville

2 stars
View map of 390 Greenbrier Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1619

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Charlottesville

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
112 out of 112
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HaroldJ
Business
Atlanta Ga
May 28, 2012

Room very dirty

In lobby ceiling lights full of bugs that had not been cleaned. Checkin took 25 minutes as there was a line with one employee. Lights in hallway leading to room out and very dark. The light switches in the room were extremely dirty with built up grime. Had to take first 45 minutes in room disinfecting. Noticed side of bed in morning was very dirty as sheets had pulled away. Some towels were gray.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lucky Luciano
Business
Syracuse NY
May 26, 2012

More than expected

I was aprehensive about the hotel after readig rerviews. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and nicely appointed. There was a desk and small coffe maker. No frig or microwave but I did not expect one at this price. The breakfast was in a crowed area and on the old traditional side - toaster waffles. Again for the price it was a great bargin and I recomment it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gradalahara is across the street and very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama Medic
Business
Virginia
May 22, 2012

Good enough

I was staying at this hotel just for one night so it was good enough. I had to stack my pillows for a more comfy sleep and the headboard wasn't attached to the wall but this seems to be on par for other hotels in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Inez87
Business
DC
May 15, 2012

Had really basic expectations that were not fulfilled

I don't need a ritzy hotel; obviously going to a Motel 8 is not going to be "an experience" and I didn't expect it to be. However, I expected a clean room for the night and was sadly disappointed. First of all, our party booked two non-smoking rooms, and both were initially smoking (the staff changed one of our rooms to the last non-smoking room available). However, even that non-smoking room smelled of rotting fish, and the smoking one obviously smelled of stale smoke. The sheets did not look particularly clean, and neither did the bathroom. Just a generally gross experience that I would not repeat, especially for $85 including fees. That's too much to pay to be grossed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
George the Spy
Business
Charlotesville, VA
May 8, 2012

Nice Try

Overall it was a nice facility. There Internet service was intermitent, sometimes inaccessible for days at a time. When it was available, the setup sometimes interfered with productivity. I felt as though I had to log back into it every 2-3 hours, although its a free wifi service. The floor in my room sagged, between the TV and bed, the desk chair tilted to the left. The hallway had that wierd smell of disinfectant and tobacco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

About a half mile North from the hotel, on 29 is the least expensive gas in the Charlottesville area, across the street from the mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJtravelers
Business
Greene
May 7, 2012

overnight stay

hotel was clean and staff friendly. I had booked a room with microwave and refrg. But when I got to the room it didn't have ever one. Hotel told me only 1/3rd of their room have them and I shouldn't have been able to book one. They had no vacancies, but they did switch my room. Which I was very thankfully for being I had items that needed to be keep cold. Breakfast was more than just donuts, which was also nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C'ville visitor
Business
St Paul, MN, USA
May 1, 2012

Get what you pay for....

Terrible hotel but all we could get for the weekend. Very poor lighting in the halls and rooms. Dated furniture and TV. The worst part was the bedding: awful pillows and mattress but the most disturbing was the cigarette burn holes in the blankets and sheets!!! Did not eat breakfast, why would you risk it? Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Greg Smyth
Business
Northern, VA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Overpriced and Not Clean

Expected for the price to be clean, but was disappointed in a dirty and somewhat dingy atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vicks
Business
Smithfield, VA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Business/Family Trip

The hotel was nice and the room was nice and clean. The only drawback was that the room was crowded and the room kind of smelled like stinky feet (probably from the carpet). Otherwise, it was a nice room for the price which was cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sulaxfan
Business
Maryland
Mar 6, 2012

SU-UVa Getaway

Exceeded my expectation. Hotel easy to get to, clean, quiet bed was comfortable. Only thing room fridge was out of order. No big thing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top