$49 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 14, 2014 Check-out: Jul 15, 2014

Super 8 Charlottesville

2 stars
390 Greenbrier Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1619
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
158 reviews
Comfort

We have had to travel a lot to Charlottesville for doctors appointments due to my fathers illness.... See full review

  • Amomforthree
  • May 9, 2014
good place to stay

Considering the price, I think it is a good place to stay. See full review

  • Tom Quin
  • Apr 20, 2014
Always fresh, always clean - our guest rooms are full of thoughtful amenities, including Free High Speed Wireless Internet, coffee maker, a remote controlled TV with cable. We will get you started each day with a complimentary Super Start Breakfast that includes hot, freshly brewed coffee, tea, and juice. The Super 8 is conveniently located on the North Side of Charlottesville on 29 North, across from Golden Corral Restaurant. We are within minutes from local business districts, Historic downtown and UVA. New smart bedding and 27 Flat Screen TVs in all rooms. Please note - Pets are only allowed in our 2 Queen smoking bed rooms located on the 2nd floor and our 2 Queen non smoking rooms located on the 1st floor.

Hotel Map

38.0713 -78.4851
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Charlottesville also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 2.1 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • University Hall: 552.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Charlottesville

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chris Scott Photographer
Business
Pensacola, FL
Jun 18, 2012

Perfect spartan room

OK, so my standards are low. When I am travelling for business on my own dime, I just want a bed, a shower, a toilet, and air conditioning. For the amount that I paid, this is a great room for the money. It's right off the main drag in Cville, so everything is a 15 minute drive. The staff was very friendly and the service was swift and efficient. I even arrived 4 hours early from the designated check-in time, and they accomodated me with only a 5 minute wait. This is no Wyndam Luxe, but it's perfect when you just need the basics.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HaroldJ
Atlanta Ga
May 28, 2012

Room very dirty

In lobby ceiling lights full of bugs that had not been cleaned. Checkin took 25 minutes as there was a line with one employee. Lights in hallway leading to room out and very dark. The light switches in the room were extremely dirty with built up grime. Had to take first 45 minutes in room disinfecting. Noticed side of bed in morning was very dirty as sheets had pulled away. Some towels were gray.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lucky Luciano
Syracuse NY
May 26, 2012

More than expected

I was aprehensive about the hotel after readig rerviews. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was clean and nicely appointed. There was a desk and small coffe maker. No frig or microwave but I did not expect one at this price. The breakfast was in a crowed area and on the old traditional side - toaster waffles. Again for the price it was a great bargin and I recomment it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Gradalahara is across the street and very good.

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mama Medic
Business
Virginia
May 22, 2012

Good enough

I was staying at this hotel just for one night so it was good enough. I had to stack my pillows for a more comfy sleep and the headboard wasn't attached to the wall but this seems to be on par for other hotels in this area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Inez87
DC
May 15, 2012

Had really basic expectations that were not fulfilled

I don't need a ritzy hotel; obviously going to a Motel 8 is not going to be "an experience" and I didn't expect it to be. However, I expected a clean room for the night and was sadly disappointed. First of all, our party booked two non-smoking rooms, and both were initially smoking (the staff changed one of our rooms to the last non-smoking room available). However, even that non-smoking room smelled of rotting fish, and the smoking one obviously smelled of stale smoke. The sheets did not look particularly clean, and neither did the bathroom. Just a generally gross experience that I would not repeat, especially for $85 including fees. That's too much to pay to be grossed out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
George the Spy
Business
Charlotesville, VA
May 8, 2012

Nice Try

Overall it was a nice facility. There Internet service was intermitent, sometimes inaccessible for days at a time. When it was available, the setup sometimes interfered with productivity. I felt as though I had to log back into it every 2-3 hours, although its a free wifi service. The floor in my room sagged, between the TV and bed, the desk chair tilted to the left. The hallway had that wierd smell of disinfectant and tobacco.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

About a half mile North from the hotel, on 29 is the least expensive gas in the Charlottesville area, across the street from the mall.

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JJtravelers
Greene
May 7, 2012

overnight stay

hotel was clean and staff friendly. I had booked a room with microwave and refrg. But when I got to the room it didn't have ever one. Hotel told me only 1/3rd of their room have them and I shouldn't have been able to book one. They had no vacancies, but they did switch my room. Which I was very thankfully for being I had items that needed to be keep cold. Breakfast was more than just donuts, which was also nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
C'ville visitor
St Paul, MN, USA
May 1, 2012

Get what you pay for....

Terrible hotel but all we could get for the weekend. Very poor lighting in the halls and rooms. Dated furniture and TV. The worst part was the bedding: awful pillows and mattress but the most disturbing was the cigarette burn holes in the blankets and sheets!!! Did not eat breakfast, why would you risk it? Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Greg Smyth
Northern, VA, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Overpriced and Not Clean

Expected for the price to be clean, but was disappointed in a dirty and somewhat dingy atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vicks
Business
Smithfield, VA, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Business/Family Trip

The hotel was nice and the room was nice and clean. The only drawback was that the room was crowded and the room kind of smelled like stinky feet (probably from the carpet). Otherwise, it was a nice room for the price which was cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top