Super 8 Charlottesville

2 stars
390 Greenbrier Drive, Charlottesville, VA 22901-1619
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
159 reviews
Comfort

We have had to travel a lot to Charlottesville for doctors appointments due to my fathers illness.... See full review

  • Amomforthree
  • May 9, 2014
good place to stay

Considering the price, I think it is a good place to stay. See full review

  • Tom Quin
  • Apr 20, 2014
Always fresh, always clean - our guest rooms are full of thoughtful amenities, including Free High Speed Wireless Internet, coffee maker, a remote controlled TV with cable. We will get you started each day with a complimentary Super Start Breakfast that includes hot, freshly brewed coffee, tea, and juice. The Super 8 is conveniently located on the North Side of Charlottesville on 29 North, across from Golden Corral Restaurant. We are within minutes from local business districts, Historic downtown and UVA. New smart bedding and 27 Flat Screen TVs in all rooms. Please note - Pets are only allowed in our 2 Queen smoking bed rooms located on the 2nd floor and our 2 Queen non smoking rooms located on the 1st floor.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
General
Air conditioned
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Security
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
Room
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control

Hotel Map

38.0713 -78.4851
Area description
Business district

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 2.1 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 3.1 mi
  • University Hall: 552.1 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Charlottesville

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CLAWIII
Business
Houston Tx
Nov 12, 2013

Hotel Review

Good experience during my two day stay. I encountered no problems to include easy transitions for entering and exiting the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler46
Business
Woodstock, VA 22664, USA
Nov 4, 2013

Good enough for a quick overnight

I just needed a bed for the night on a busy football weekend. My room was clean and conveniently located for me and the desk staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MDKINGS
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Nov 4, 2013

Good value

This is an older hotel. It has not been updated in quite a while. We were expecting it to be terrible, but all of the other hotels were booked due to a big football game and since we were only staying one night we booked anyway. We requested a non-smoking room, but were told that they only had smoking rooms available. The front desk clerk was able to arrange for us to use a handicapped room and it did not smell of smoke! We were very pleased. While the rooms are dated and dark, they were clean. You don't get plush towels and turn down service, but it's a Super 8!!! The breakfast was two cereals, juice, milk and toast I think. We didn't eat there but it was provided. Overall, we were expecting a bad room and it was perfectly adequate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Johnny2012
lexington, KY
Oct 5, 2013

Noise hotel!

A location on main street, during early morning, a lot of traffic wake you up. Be ware!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dudak
Baltimore, MD
Jun 24, 2013

Good cheap place to stay

Room was clean, quiet, comfortable, fridge and microwave were helpful. Location was great, easy to find. Staff was friendly and provided great service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mitmac2008
Business
Virginia
Jun 16, 2013

it was a place to sleep

The staff was friendly welcomed me right away! Got to the room the room was dark and dingy, stains on the carpeting. The bed was clean and ok to sleep on, or maybe I was so tired I didn't care. I would say not worth the money. I would not go back. Side note there is a good Mexican place across the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Silkworm25
Aurora, IL
Jun 5, 2013

Did not feel secure...

The room we had was fine. It was clean and bug-free, which is all I can really ask for when I'm only there for 2 nights. The beds were a little uncomfortable and the pillows were flat, but the staff was very accommodating when we asked for more pillows (even though he gave us pillow cases to put over the pillows instead of doing it before he gave them to us). My only real issue with the property is the side door, which is to be used by hotel guests only. While there is a card swiper there that is to be used to unlock the door, it's hardly necessary as it didn't close all the way in the first place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach Boy Rick
Fort Myers Beach FL
May 28, 2013

Just an Idea

All cable company's are different. When staying at Super 8, having the local station channels in the room would make it easier for the guest. The breakfast offered was fine, just enough to get me up & going. coffee , juice, toast, and waffles saves me from making an extra stop on my trip. Peanut Butter would have been a nice touch, but not expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tarakanshchik
Business
DC Suburbs
May 23, 2013

A little bit deceptive

As near as I can tell, the only 27" flat screen tv is in the lobby, and the room had neither a mini fridge nor a microwave, both of which were advetised on the website. That being said, the room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The room has wifi, but the desk sat underneath the clothes rack, which, although a bit awkward,, did not interfere with using the desk. Breakfast is a little anemic, with coffee frozen waffles and cereal . But if you are okay with those choices, there is plenty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The mexican restaurant next door, in the same building as the laundromat, I thought was really quite good. Thought is not as inexpensive as its modest surroundings would sugges.

Review of Super 8 Charlottesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Random Traveler A
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 31, 2013

OK but spend a little extra for a better night

An average hotel with basic everything put together. There were some stinkbugs that had crawled through the bottom of the door so I had to stuff towels in between the door and hallway for peace of mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top