$63 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Nov 26, 2014 Check-out: Nov 28, 2014

Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

2 stars
1185 5th St. SW, Charlottesville, VA 22902
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
16 reviews
Ski Wintergreen!

Stayed overnight to ski at Wintergreen. Reasonable price, quiet, clean, included breakfast,... See full review

  • Wintergreen skier
  • Jan 29, 2013
Wonderful Stay

We have stayed in this establishment many times over the past year and have found it to be very... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Oct 14, 2008
Close to Monticello, Michie Tavern, Historic Downtown and UVA. FREE Full Hot Breakfast, DSL dataports, guest laundry, indoor pool. Pets are not accepted.

Hotel Map

38.0127 -78.5025
Nearby airports
Charlttesvlle-Albemarle Arpt, (CHO), 15.00, MI, N; Richmond Int'l. Airport, (RIC), 75.00, MI, E; Dulles Int'l Airport, (IAD), 120.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I-64 @ Exit 120

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Scott Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • University Hall: 2.2 mi
  • John Paul Jones Arena: 2.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manasquan
Oct 19, 2008

Adequate.

The Sleep Inn is in a desirable location, as it is just off of Interstate 64 and you can get around Charlottesville quite easily. The complementary breakfast is nice, as is the wifi service and the amenities. But the actual room layout was crowded. (Hint, make the bathroom smaller to gain more space in the room.) Also, the walls were very thin. You hear everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Monticello, Michie TAvern. Short drive to UVA campus.

Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Windsor
Aug 29, 2008

Dog friendly

We have stayed here many times since we travel with our golden. Until this isit, we have always been happy here. This time we were not. They had a power surge prior to our arival, which I know isn't thier fault, but the TV had to be reset, the phone in the room didn't work, the a/c had been on for who knows how long in the room and had frozen up, and the carpet was disgusting it was so dirty. However, the manager on duty couldn't have been nicer and tried his best to make things work, Not his fault that they didn't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
horseshow mom
Business
virginia
May 22, 2012

good for what was needed

fine, unexpectedly booked into a king smoking room instead of double non-smoking room which was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Review101
Business
Silver Spring, MD
Sep 21, 2012

Average overnight stay

We spent one night at the hotel. Two kids and two adults...We found the room a bit cramped. The bathroom was quite big, space that could have been better utilised if part of the bedroom. The air conditioner was very loud...TOO loud! We had to switch it off in order to sleep. It was early August and we ended up being hot and stuffy and not sleeping too well. The room, although looking quite clean, had a distinct musty smell. We experienced the staff as extremely friendly and helpful. However, we would not have enjoyed staying longer than one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunflowersue
Business
new jersey
Oct 1, 2012

not impressed

unpleasant odor in lobby~musty/chlorine from pool? room was clean but a little dusty. bedding is very dated & sad looking. do not feel i got the value for the price i paid. fitness room- treadmill is awful. the treadmill was so narrow ( i actually fell off at one point!) & the belt was worn to shreds in some areas. also the control panel vibrates as you run making an annoying ruckus. cigarette butt on the floor near elevator-yuck. although they claim to have wireless internet i was never able to log on. think system was overloaded or something. all in all not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TJ32
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 18, 2012

Mediocre Hotel

This hotel was a little too expensive for the quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dpchristianson
Business
Abilene, Texas
Jun 8, 2013

It's okay.

We like Sleep Inns Because you really get what you pay for. There are not a lot of amenities, because the focus is sleeping. There were a lot of noisy neighbors that disturbed our experience this time. Otherwise, it was a standard stay at a Sleep Inn. We were able to sleep, and go about and do our business in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
week travelor
Business
Boston, MA
Nov 30, 2009

great location to Monticello

perfect location to Monticello etc.. Did not have good directions for resturants and arrived in the evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Next exit was Monticello

Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob SML
Business
Smith Mountain Lake VA
Apr 5, 2011

UVA Hospital

Room was clean and staff super friendly. Wish room had microwave. Close to UVA hospital when I had to do tests and couldn't drive home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Boathouse Restuarant

Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Libri
Business
Potomac, Maryland
Aug 12, 2014

Bit dated

The Sleep Inn is clean but a bit dated. The carpets in the rooms are stained, so are some of the bedcover; toilet seat was very loose and tricky to sit on. Front desk service friendly & helpful. Pool area very nice and clean. Breakfast area good with enough tables; TV annoyingly loud: "Divorce Court" for breakfast - honestly?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top