$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

2 stars
1185 5th St. SW, Charlottesville, VA 22902
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
16 reviews
Great stay

The staff is very friendly. It's an old hotel but it is up kept. Rooms are a little tight but... See full review

  • Ilo and David
  • Apr 13, 2013
Ski Wintergreen!

Stayed overnight to ski at Wintergreen. Reasonable price, quiet, clean, included breakfast,... See full review

  • Wintergreen skier
  • Jan 29, 2013
Close to Monticello, Michie Tavern, Historic Downtown and UVA. FREE Full Hot Breakfast, DSL dataports, guest laundry, indoor pool. Pets are not accepted.

Hotel Map

38.0127 -78.5025
Nearby airports
Charlttesvlle-Albemarle Arpt, (CHO), 15.00, MI, N; Richmond Int'l. Airport, (RIC), 75.00, MI, E; Dulles Int'l Airport, (IAD), 120.00, MI, NE;
Area description
City Center, I-64 @ Exit 120

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Free breakfast
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
Guest laundromat
Meeting/Banquet facilities
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Scott Stadium: 1.4 mi
  • University Hall: 2.2 mi
  • John Paul Jones Arena: 2.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (16)

Ratings and reviews for Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 16
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.4

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith Fanning
Kill Devil Hills, NC, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Great Value

I stayed at this hotel just for the night after a full day of snowboarding at Wintergreen Resort. The staff was friendly and and had our room ready as soon as we checked in. The indoor pool/hot tub was amazing for soar muscles after a long day on the mountain. I would recommend staying there if you need a reasonable place to stay for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Libri
Potomac, Maryland
Aug 12, 2014

Bit dated

The Sleep Inn is clean but a bit dated. The carpets in the rooms are stained, so are some of the bedcover; toilet seat was very loose and tricky to sit on. Front desk service friendly & helpful. Pool area very nice and clean. Breakfast area good with enough tables; TV annoyingly loud: "Divorce Court" for breakfast - honestly?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dpchristianson
Abilene, Texas
Jun 8, 2013

It's okay.

We like Sleep Inns Because you really get what you pay for. There are not a lot of amenities, because the focus is sleeping. There were a lot of noisy neighbors that disturbed our experience this time. Otherwise, it was a standard stay at a Sleep Inn. We were able to sleep, and go about and do our business in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ilo and David
Charlottesville
Apr 13, 2013

Great stay

The staff is very friendly. It's an old hotel but it is up kept. Rooms are a little tight but otherwise fine. Beds were a little uncomfortable. We stayed here three nights and were overall satisfied.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wintergreen skier
Far away
Jan 29, 2013

Ski Wintergreen!

Stayed overnight to ski at Wintergreen. Reasonable price, quiet, clean, included breakfast, courteous and professional staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TJ32
Pittsburgh, PA
Dec 18, 2012

Mediocre Hotel

This hotel was a little too expensive for the quality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sunflowersue
new jersey
Oct 1, 2012

not impressed

unpleasant odor in lobby~musty/chlorine from pool? room was clean but a little dusty. bedding is very dated & sad looking. do not feel i got the value for the price i paid. fitness room- treadmill is awful. the treadmill was so narrow ( i actually fell off at one point!) & the belt was worn to shreds in some areas. also the control panel vibrates as you run making an annoying ruckus. cigarette butt on the floor near elevator-yuck. although they claim to have wireless internet i was never able to log on. think system was overloaded or something. all in all not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Review101
Silver Spring, MD
Sep 21, 2012

Average overnight stay

We spent one night at the hotel. Two kids and two adults...We found the room a bit cramped. The bathroom was quite big, space that could have been better utilised if part of the bedroom. The air conditioner was very loud...TOO loud! We had to switch it off in order to sleep. It was early August and we ended up being hot and stuffy and not sleeping too well. The room, although looking quite clean, had a distinct musty smell. We experienced the staff as extremely friendly and helpful. However, we would not have enjoyed staying longer than one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
horseshow mom
virginia
May 22, 2012

good for what was needed

fine, unexpectedly booked into a king smoking room instead of double non-smoking room which was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Keith Fanning
Kill Devil Hills, NC, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Great Value

I stayed at this hotel just for the night after a full day of snowboarding at Wintergreen Resort. The staff was friendly and and had our room ready as soon as we checked in. The indoor pool/hot tub was amazing for soar muscles after a long day on the mountain. I would recommend staying there if you need a reasonable place to stay for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites Monticello

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob SML
Smith Mountain Lake VA
Apr 5, 2011

UVA Hospital

Room was clean and staff super friendly. Wish room had microwave. Close to UVA hospital when I had to do tests and couldn't drive home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Boathouse Restuarant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top