$99 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 7, 2015

Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

3 stars
View map of 1901 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
55 reviews
personal trip

Hotel resold my room after cancelling first day due to FAA shut down. Hotel is very clean and would... See full review

  • Hello Mom
  • Oct 3, 2014
Great business stay

Extremely comfortable pillows and bed. Very clean facility. Very cost effective See full review

  • Tricia DFG
  • Oct 29, 2014
The Comfort of Home at the Gateway of all Charlottesville has to Offer Welcome to Holiday Inn® University Area , the perfect location for leisure stays, social occasions, corporate meetings, and conferences. We are conveniently located on Route 29 near the University of Virginia. We offer complimentary shuttle service to/from nearby Charlottesville-Albemarle Airport (CHO). Our spacious guest rooms include free Wi-Fi , a refrigerator, microwave, and 37in HDTV. Take in the rich history of Cville at Thomas Jefferson's Monticello , James Madison's Montpelier, James Monroe's Ashland, and lunch at Michie Tavern. Taste and tour at an area winery or visit one of the many seasonal family-friendly festivals. The hotel is near many corporate and government offices including Northrop Grumman, NGIC, State Farm, Lexis Nexis, JAG, CFA Institute, Siemens, GE, Federal Executive Institute, and UVA Research Park. Enjoy great shopping and restaurants at Barracks Road or the city's newest upscale center, The Shops at Stonefield, which is adjacent to the hotel. Stroll the Downtown Pedestrian Mall or take in a show or sporting event at John Paul Jones Arena. The hotel offers casual dining at Emmet's Restaurant and Lounge , open for breakfast and dinner or room service in the comfort of your room. Take a dip in our heated indoor pool or workout in our Fitness Center. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.3 mi
  • University Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.3 mi

Dining

Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge
Causal dining with American fare open for Breakfast and Dinner. Room Service also available. Local favorites include the Blueberry pancakes, Best4 Breakfast Egg, Made to order omlette, or your choice a la carte opitons. Local favorites for dinner sugge
Emmet's Lounge & Bar Located onsite
Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge is located onsite at the hotel and offers a relaxing-causal atmosphere with American Fare. Offering daily Chef's Specials and a variety of delcious entrees, salads, sandwiches, appetizers and desserts! The restaurant is open
Tastings
This Restaurant and Bar is located on the Historical Downtown Mall. Parking is available in the public parking garage as well as street parking when available.
Rapture
Charlotteville's largest indoor/outdoor patio cafe. 6 brunswick pool tables, featuring Central Virginia's premier dance club, live music open until 2AM. This restaurant is located on the historical downtown mall. Parking is available in the public pa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
5 out of 55
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

60% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hello Mom
Business
Illinois
Oct 3, 2014

personal trip

Hotel resold my room after cancelling first day due to FAA shut down. Hotel is very clean and would stay there again if back in that area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Good for history buffs.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SW Virgina
Jul 4, 2011

Fair

I had reserved a nonsmoking room, adding a message that I have asthma and a smoke allergy. I was given a smoking room, or anyway one that smelled like an ashtray. The desk clerk moved me to another room, one that smelled only slightly smoky. This is typical treatment for a female traveling alone. The hotel is attractive, overpriced, not altogether clean, with uncomfortable beds and acceptable food. I won't stay here again if I can help it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cuisine of India, one door down. Very good.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dollopes
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Mar 15, 2010

Great offer and location

Visiting the UVA Campus. The breakfast was very simple.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
SW North Carolina
Jun 25, 2009

Under Contruction

The hotel was obviously under construction. The manager, while very friendly and sympathetic, could not correct many of the problems - no wi-fi in entire wing of hotel, etc. The expected renovations sounded wonderful but at the present time the place showed many signs of deferred maintenance. Advice: Wait until 2010 to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hudson
Dec 7, 2008

Great location!!

The room was comfortable and the staff was very friendly. I stayed for 3 days and don't have any complaints. Its definitely worth the money and what you could expect out of a Holiday Inn.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The corner area has a ton of cute resturants and good places to get a beer. The downtown mall is also a good place to go. Both are about a $10 cab ride from the hotel

Back to menu Return to top