$84 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

3 stars
1901 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
57 reviews
personal trip

Hotel resold my room after cancelling first day due to FAA shut down. Hotel is very clean and would... See full review

  • Hello Mom
  • Oct 3, 2014
Great business stay

Extremely comfortable pillows and bed. Very clean facility. Very cost effective See full review

  • Tricia DFG
  • Oct 29, 2014
Welcome to Charlottesville Holiday Inn® University Area We are the perfect location for business or social occasions. The Charlottesville-Albemarle Airport CHO offers international and domestic destinations. Plan a Visit to the University of Virginia nearby, or take in the rich history that surrounds us, such as: Monticello, the homes of Thomas Jefferson, James Madison and James Monroe. Along with Montpelier and Ash-lawn Highland. The hotel is adjacent to The Shops at Stonefield, the city's newest upscale shopping center featuring an IMAX Regal Movie Theater, Burton's Grill, Travinia Italian Restaurant, Trader Joe's, Pottery Barn, Vineyard Vines, Williams-Sonoma, L'occitane, Brooks Brothers and much more right here at your door. Stroll the Charlottesville Historic Downtown Pedestrian Mall and enjoy lunch at the nearby Michie Tavern a real treat for everyone. Take in a show at the Paramount Theatre, John Paul Jones Arena or visit our local calendar of events web page for a complete listing of local festivals and area events. We invite you to come by Emmets's Restaurant & Lounge for Breakfast, Dinner or just relax and enjoy room service at your door. The hotel offers a delicious array of dining options in a casual comfortable atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you soon!

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.3 mi
  • University Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.3 mi

Dining

Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge
Causal dining with American fare open for Breakfast and Dinner. Room Service also available. Local favorites include the Blueberry pancakes, Best4 Breakfast Egg, Made to order omlette, or your choice a la carte opitons. Local favorites for dinner sugge
Emmet's Lounge & Bar Located onsite
Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge is located onsite at the hotel and offers a relaxing-causal atmosphere with American Fare. Offering daily Chef's Specials and a variety of delcious entrees, salads, sandwiches, appetizers and desserts! The restaurant is open
Tastings
This Restaurant and Bar is located on the Historical Downtown Mall. Parking is available in the public parking garage as well as street parking when available.
Rapture
Charlotteville's largest indoor/outdoor patio cafe. 6 brunswick pool tables, featuring Central Virginia's premier dance club, live music open until 2AM. This restaurant is located on the historical downtown mall. Parking is available in the public pa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (57)

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 57
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.2

72% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
UVa mama
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 23, 2013

Horrible pillows, "wobbly" bed

Pillows were half the size of regular pillows, bed was so wobbly, i was afraid it might collapse! Rooms seemed somewhat clean, lobby was decent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
APLMom
Business
NJ
Sep 7, 2013

Sufficient for our needs - Issues quickly addressed

The hotel has been renovated. The double beds are now queen size beds. The rooms have a mini-fridge and a microwave. We noticed water on the carpet in our room which we first thought was from the air conditioner. We notified the staff and a repair person arrived in 1/2 hour. He though the problem was a leak in the patio door (which only opens a crack). But regardless -- they were able to move us to a new room very quickly -- it was great service by the staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mark42
Business
Pacific Northwest
Mar 29, 2013

Reasonable Accomodations

Staff was attentive and the facilities were nice. The pool was COLD and CLOUDY (and had been for several days.. I checked the pool checklist); it didn't look like they were doing anything about it... just marking it on the check sheet. It was nice to have a washer/dryer available during our stay; but we didn't appreciate the creepy guy that was hanging out down there... staff should check the area more often (CCTV?)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Chinese Delivery was BETTER than the hotel restaurant offerings... fast, free delivery... menus in the elevator lobby (why not put it in the rooms?)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Family Organizer
Business
Atlanta
Jun 5, 2012

Last Minute

Because it was a last minute booking under different names, we were placed on different floors. Immedaitely the receptionist relocated us so we were only a couple of door apart. It would have been helpful to have a breakfast coupon to use for a 'take with you' breakfast rather than the dining room only. The cleanliness was great. Neither the pool nor exercise room was used - too busy - and they looked rather plain. If I'd had time, I would have visited them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The location of the hotel on Rte 29 made it easy to reach the historic area and malls for shopping. With this combination we found unique gifts and the every day items we needed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travel much
Business
Fl.
Feb 7, 2012

great value!

wonderful experience..staff helpful..room excellent. location perfect for UVA functions we attended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Monticello, of course, but the wine tour..amazing! must do!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Asbestos Inspector
Business
Lewisburg, WV
Dec 11, 2011

Hospital Stay @ UVA

Hotel was very understanding and adaptable to our needs while family was hospitalized. Also has discounted rate for UVA patients/family with documentation from hospital. Close to hospital & very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

If UVA patient/family, hotel does offer discount rate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UVA family
Business
Virginia Beach, VA
May 29, 2011

[...]

[...] The hotel lobby was beautiful and upgraded restuarant...our room for my son's graduation from UVA was in a disgusting hallway on the first floor in the back of the hotel that was so heavy laden with smoke in the hallway that I could not have my family stay there overnite...then when we opened the door to our room again, heavy smoke smell and the patio door was open two feet and my sons could not close it. I complained of course and was offered a maintenance call [...]. A trip back to the lobby with my familiy in tow resulted in a beautful room which just happened to be available. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

[...]

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tappan
Business
Boise, ID
Nov 29, 2010

Nothing Special

An older Holiday Inn that has been spruced up a bit. Very clean. Nothing extraordinary either in the positive or negative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
buffalo, NY
Nov 28, 2010

Cold Stay

The pool was cold. They gave us a discount, but not enough to make up for what I spent getting a hotel with an indoor pool. No breakfast not even danish. Not a good value. The Restaurant is expensive and food tasteless and cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
damndqueen
Business
Fincastle, Va
Nov 13, 2010

Holiday Inn, Charlottesville, VA

Decent stay, nice staff. Had a little trouble with the phone in the room, also the toilet was a bit slow to flush. That's just nit-picky though....would stay again. Pool was warm and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top