$97 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

3 stars
View map of 1901 Emmet Street, Charlottesville, VA 22901

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
61 reviews
personal trip

Hotel resold my room after cancelling first day due to FAA shut down. Hotel is very clean and would... See full review

  • Hello Mom
  • Oct 3, 2014
Great business stay

Extremely comfortable pillows and bed. Very clean facility. Very cost effective See full review

  • Tricia DFG
  • Oct 29, 2014
The Comfort of Home at the Gateway of all Charlottesville has to Offer Welcome to Holiday Inn® University Area , the perfect location for leisure stays, social occasions, corporate meetings, and conferences. We are conveniently located on Route 29 near the University of Virginia. We offer complimentary shuttle service to/from nearby Charlottesville-Albemarle Airport (CHO). Our spacious guest rooms include free Wi-Fi , a refrigerator, microwave, and 37in HDTV. Take in the rich history of Cville at Thomas Jefferson's Monticello , James Madison's Montpelier, James Monroe's Ashland, and lunch at Michie Tavern. Taste and tour at an area winery or visit one of the many seasonal family-friendly festivals. The hotel is near many corporate and government offices including Northrop Grumman, NGIC, State Farm, Lexis Nexis, JAG, CFA Institute, Siemens, GE, Federal Executive Institute, and UVA Research Park. Enjoy great shopping and restaurants at Barracks Road or the city's newest upscale center, The Shops at Stonefield, which is adjacent to the hotel. Stroll the Downtown Pedestrian Mall or take in a show or sporting event at John Paul Jones Arena. The hotel offers casual dining at Emmet's Restaurant and Lounge , open for breakfast and dinner or room service in the comfort of your room. Take a dip in our heated indoor pool or workout in our Fitness Center. We look forward to welcoming you soon.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Indoor pool
General
Ice machine
Activities
Indoor pool
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Lounge
Room service
Services
Business center
Maid service
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Car rental desk
Porters
FAX
Overhead projector
White board
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Satellite TV
DVD player
Phone with speaker
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
In room movies
Temperature control
Ironing board
Bath tub

Nearby points of interest

  • John Paul Jones Arena: 1.3 mi
  • University Hall: 1.4 mi
  • Scott Stadium: 2.3 mi

Dining

Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge
Causal dining with American fare open for Breakfast and Dinner. Room Service also available. Local favorites include the Blueberry pancakes, Best4 Breakfast Egg, Made to order omlette, or your choice a la carte opitons. Local favorites for dinner sugge
Emmet's Lounge & Bar Located onsite
Emmet's Restaurant & Lounge is located onsite at the hotel and offers a relaxing-causal atmosphere with American Fare. Offering daily Chef's Specials and a variety of delcious entrees, salads, sandwiches, appetizers and desserts! The restaurant is open
Tastings
This Restaurant and Bar is located on the Historical Downtown Mall. Parking is available in the public parking garage as well as street parking when available.
Rapture
Charlotteville's largest indoor/outdoor patio cafe. 6 brunswick pool tables, featuring Central Virginia's premier dance club, live music open until 2AM. This restaurant is located on the historical downtown mall. Parking is available in the public pa

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 61
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.3

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
josephindesmoines
Business
Charolettsville
Jul 31, 2014

Family vacation

The waiter knowingly served me the wrong dressing on my salad. I guess he was waiting to see if I remembered what dressing I had ordered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfest was very good, do NOT eat their evening meals.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Debbie musician
Business
Sykesville Maryland
Aug 2, 2013

Great time visiting historic sites!

We'd never been to Charlottesville, and were not familiar with the area or the hotels. We were very pleased with the Holiday Inn on Emmet St. Everyone was very nice, we had everything we needed, and if anything ran out, they provided it immediately. The restaurant in the hotel was nice--we had two meals there--and the staff there was very accommodating, as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For some of the best pizza you ever ate, try a small shop called Slice. The staff was very hard-working--and kept everything spotless! We found this place by accident, while shopping at the Barracks Road Shopping Center.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Erinluvsbags
Business
Charlottesville,Va
Jun 10, 2013

convienient city stay

Staff was super friendly, room was clean and comfortable, only complaint was a housekeeper was knocking on doors early yelling,"HOUSEKEEPING!"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walking distance to Stonefield commons, amazing restaraunts,shopping and dining,very convienient!!

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sugarshorts
Business
Durham, NC
Nov 18, 2012

Great Hotel

Great location, unusually nice rooms. Very clean and enjoyable. Staff was excellent in all areas. One Lady at the front desk who waited on us was most helpful and friendly. Also, the food prices were reasonable also. Couldn't have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Went there for Football game. Transportation in the City is not desirable for this type activity. Need to prearrange transportation service of some kind. We were to go to the John P. Jones building and pick up a shuttle to the Football stadium. This doesn't exist anymore. We had to walk from the JPJ Center for 1-1/ 2 miles there and back where we parked. Hotel was not aware of this change.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bill the Movie Buff
Business
Greensboro, NC
Nov 7, 2012

Great weekend getaway!

Room was comfortable! I especially liked the free unlimited computer access. The in-hotel restaurant where we had the breakfast buffet was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Best bagel in the world is at Bodo's just down the road toward Barracks Road.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Jul 18, 2011

Not worth the $$

Spent $185 for a night in this hotel. PROS: bar/lounge area, and very friendly bar tender. CONS: as another reviewer posted, we thought there were no black out drapes to block out light. We called front desk and after 10 minutes of ringing the desk, he finally answered.He came to our room (on the first floor with only sheers on the windows so anyone walking by could see in) and he looked at the drapes and told us "I guess this room doesn't have the drapes". The next morning, after sleeping with a parking lot light glaring through the sheer curtains, we found the black out curtains in front of the sheers pushed all the way to the sides. Our first floor view was of a dumpster with a toilet sitting along side of it. The room had an antiquated tv with a broken power button and there were stains all over the carpet. I would have tolerated these little things if 1) I wasn't so grumpy from lack of sleep and b) I had paid only $79.99 for the room. Not worth the price!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If trying to get to the hotel from Route 29, go to the light and make a u-turn instead of trying to turn left into the parking lot. We sat forever waiting for a break in traffic!

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maine
Jun 2, 2011

Very friendly staff

The front desk was very helpful and so was the van driver. We explored the downtown walking mall and drove out to Monticello. The weather was mild and pleasant. The people were friendly and helpful. The Boat House restaurant is only a short walk from the hotel and the food was delicious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely would recommend visiting Monticello. Beautiful location, part of American history.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Barboursville, VA
Jun 7, 2010

Not satisfied

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Good dining choices very close by.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Charlottesville Traveler
Business
OKC, OK
May 9, 2010

Wonderful Hotel!!

We went to visit UVA and the hotel was the perfect location for us to stay. Everything in Charlottesville was easily accessible from the hotel. The staff was professional and kind. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Make sure to visit the Downtown Mall in Charlottesville for fantastic dining, entertainment, shopping and nightlife. You can't miss it.

Review of Holiday Inn CHARLOTTESVILLE-UNIV AREA

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 9, 2010

Good trip with one exception

I mistakenly selected the wrong Holiday Inn on my Charlottesville, VA trip.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top